Watch Me Make 2 Sweatshirts From Scratch! (Fail Included)

in DIYHublast year (edited)

2023-01-26_17-42-58.jpg

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hey y'all! In today's video, I'm going to be showing you how I made a couple of sweatshirts from scratch for two of my friends.
I did have a couple of fails along the way, but overall they came out looking spectacular!

For the first sweatshirt, I came up with the water design because I was inspired by "Avatar: The Last Airbender". I am a water sign and water is also my main element. I have a very deep connection with water, the moon, and space in general, so I decided to make a design out of it.

My friend is heavily into astrology, so he asked me to add the word "Pisces" somewhere along the design. I decided it was best to put it on the brim of the hood. Doesn't it look pretty?

For the second hoodie in pink, it was based off of a typography design I was working on on my iPad. It is actually very difficult to have several fonts pair together and have it look nice.

For this one, I used my Cricut Explore Air 2 die cutting machine to cut out the letters onto Hear Transfer Vinyl.

It was a process because the letters are so small, so you have to pay full attention to details to ensure nothing gets snagged and ripped off.

All in all, I like the way both hoodies came out! I have also since upgraded from a Cricut Press to an ACTUAL heat press, because this machine just wasn't enough to get the job done. That is why the first hoodie failed. Because of this, I had to order a sublimation print of the design from Etsy.

Sublimation means when the design is heated, the inks in the design turn from solid, to gas, and back to a solid when it infuses into the garment. This ensures that the design is permanent and never fades when washing. Heat transfer vinyl on the other hand can be prone to breakage the more it is washed.

If you want to create designs for shirts, keep that in mind!

Anywho, I hope you enjoyed my video!
Thanks for watching! I'll upload more soon. 😊😊😊💜💜💜

Peace.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  
 last year  
Thank you for sharing this post in the DIYHUB Community!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator tibfox & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Congratulations @truemystique! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!