Homemade cheese

in DIYHublast year (edited)

My close friend's mother and our neighbor in the village where our garden is, often makes homemade cheese. I had a great desire to observe the process and one day I had this opportunity.

So today I can show you how Vicheto made homemade cheese.

First, boil the fresh milk on the stove. Then strain it and let it cool to body temperature.

Add cheese yeast while stirring with a wooden spoon.

Let it sit for a while, then break it into pieces with the spoon. Waited about 10 minutes for the whey to separate.

She transferred it to a cheesecloth, which she tied and hung on a high hook to drain.

While the cheese was draining, Vicheto showed me an old cheese container.

It is a rectangular vessel with a chute at one end, in which the cheese is placed with cheesecloth. Tip it to one side and let it drain.

After the cheese was drained, he transferred it to a pan sprinkled with salt, cut it into pieces and salted it on top. Leave it like this for 3 days. The cheese is then stored in a jar of brine. The brine is prepared as follows:

Add 200g to 1 liter of water. salt (Some people add 10 grams of citric acid to the water). The salinity of the solution, Vichetto explained to me, can be checked by dropping a raw egg inside. When the egg floats to the surface and shows above it the size of a coin - then the brine is ready.

It was very interesting for me to watch how homemade cheese is made. This year I am also thinking of making cheese.

Thank you for stopping by!

Sort:  

Very interesting! Love to learn to make cheese one day! This seems quite easy. Do send me one of your home made cheese!🙀

It's very interesting and tasty - you rightly want to taste it @kaminchan 😊

Now I know how the cheese is made. ☺️
Thank you for sharing g this idea. I really don't know these are the process. ☺️

I'm glad you liked it @missleray, it was very interesting for me too 👍.

I do. Thanks. ☺️

Wow this is really beautiful

I'm glad you call the process beautiful @mosesessien - it is 🙂

How long can you keep it then? Few days or longer and eat occasionaly?

Once placed in brine and at the proper storage temperature, it can last up to several months.

Interesting. I have to read more about it and maybe try.

Does it go well with

!BEER

?

Very well 😂. Thank you @manoldonchev 🍻


Hey @vesytz, here is a little bit of BEER from @manoldonchev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It so so good to learn things and get it done yourself, learning is one thing doing it yourself is another. Thanks for sharing @vesytz

I am very glad that I watched live how it is done and I will certainly make my first attempt soon 😊. Have a wonderful Weekend @bimpcy 🌞