Bottle Cap Clock DIY|| Transforming Trash into Treasure.

in DIYHub4 months ago

Hello Hello Hello!

It is really an honour to be sharing my diy project with all diy lovers here-in. Sometime last year, I made it a point of duty to gather bottle caps for recycling. I had a diy project in mind when I started gathering the caps but due to certain unfortunate circumstances, I couldn't follow through with the project so I gathered my bottle caps in a paper bag and stashed them somewhere.

20240120_202044_0000.png

Edited on canva

Two days ago, I was vigorously searching for a missing item and during the search, I got reunited with the bottle caps that I had totally forgotten about. I brought them to my work table as I tried to decide what I was going to do with them. Thankfully, an idea came to mind and I'm going to be sharing that idea with you.

sep14.png

Materials Used.

  • Plastic bottle caps
  • Old calendar
  • Gum
  • A pair of scissors
  • Pencil
  • Black foam
  • Colour pen

Procedure.

IMG_20240119_172221_372~2.jpg

I began making this project immediately after I got back from lectures because I was already fantasising about it all day. I started by gathering all the materials I was going to be using to prevent any setbacks or time loss.

IMG_20240119_172856_648~2.jpg

Using a pencil and a flat plate, I drew a circle on my old calendar. The first thing I thought when I saw this old calendar was 'who uses calendars in these times'.

IMG_20240119_173219_322~2.jpg

After drawing a circle on the doubled calendar, I went ahead to cut out the circle with a pair of scissors. Carving out circles can be really fun but requires focus. To make the base more firm, I glued both parts of the calendar together.

IMG_20240120_105308_492~2.jpg

After making the base for the project, I went ahead to make a layout. I placed the plastic caps on the base just to see how well they fit. After this little exercise, I went ahead to start glueing the plastic caps to the base.
IMG_20240120_104523_561~2.jpg

I started with the black caps. For a clock, the four parts are always really important. If they are improperly aligned, then the whole clock becomes a mess; whether it tells time or not.

IMG_20240120_104616_857~2.jpg

After placing the black caps, I went ahead to place the orange ones carefully. I left it to dry for a few minutes after which I used my colour pen to write out the numbers on the black caps only. Personally, I think that writing out all the required numbers on each cap would have taken away the beauty.

The last thing I did was place the long and short hands of the decorative clock on top of the black cap at the centre of the project.

IMG_20240120_105332_596~2.jpg

With this, I concluded the project. Because of how fragile the project is when wet, I allowed every part of it to dry up before taking pictures. The photography part is always one of my favourite parts after the completion of a project. This way, I get to capture the beauty of the project from different angles. What do you think of this?

IMG_20240120_104529_887~2.jpg

This is a really lovely way to recycle your plastic bottle caps. We complain about how much plastic we have in the sea but we still go ahead to dump plastics. You could definitely try making this decorative wall hanging if you have waste plastic laying around.



All images used belong to me and were taken with my mobile device except stated otherwise.



Love🤍

Sort:  

It's so nice turning trash to something useful and colourful as this. Nice work dear @wongi .

Thank you very much 🌼

Oh that's a cute idea! I know they sell working clock parts just by themselves if you ever wanted to make it functional. I've thought about making one out of an old record before but I haven't done it. :)

Oh now you've given me an amazing idea. If I could get the working part then I may as well have gotten myself a working wall clock. You're a Genius!🤭

Also, I would absolutely love to see your diy with the old record.

!LUV

phoenixwren, wongi sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

You’re the real deal!
I love it when people promote waste reduction
This is so innovative and inspiring.
I love it!.

Thank you so much babygirl. Moreover, the waste only affects us in the long run.

I love it!!

Aww. Thanks love

Amazing 😍 I loved

Thank you dear.

!BBH

@nery01! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @wongi. (1/5)

A very ingenious way to reuse bottle caps.

I thought so too. Thank you very much 😀

!BBH

@edeyglezsosa! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @wongi. (1/5)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 191 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @wongi, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

 4 months ago  

lol, you must really love your Fanta. Nicely done

Well, these aren't from me actually 😄. And thank you.

Ahhhh Wongi!! Nothing is spared!

😄😄
Not at all

Muy creativo, buen resultado 😉

Muchas Gracias

!LUV

marile21, wongi sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

So it's been 50 minutes past six since then or😂😂😂

Someone can tell the time,🌚😀

😂😂😂

que lindo e ingenioso!


how cute and ingenious!

Muchas Gracias 😊