Simple And Easy To Make Easel

in DIYHub4 months ago

Hey all and welcome to my DIY Easel post.

So first off, I have recently started to do some art and what better way to paint than to use an Easel. I looked at buying one and for a starting cost of around £50.00+. I decided against this due to the cost.

Off to the workshop it was.

Materials I used:
3 x 3m lengths of wood.
4x40mm screws
A door hinge
A Can Of Spray Point

Tools Used:
Chop Saw
Electric Combi Drill and Bit
Pencil
Tape Measure
Mouse Sander

20231110_133047.jpg

20231110_133037.jpg

The lengths of wood were cut to 3 lengths of 1.8m long. This is of course changeable for each person. The reason I chose 1.8m is that I am 6 foot 2, it gives me a good range for sitting and standing painting.
2 lengths of 500mm were also cut.

20231110_134032.jpg

2 x 1.8m lengths were used for the uprights in the shape of an A frame. 1 x 500mm length used for the brace. This was set about 700mm from the bottom. This was done due to my height again.

20231110_141118.jpg

Then came fixing the rear support leg. The final piece of the 1.8m length was used for this.
The black door hinge was used as it was a fairly large hinge and would give a good amount of support for the leg. I added a small off cut of wood to the back of the easel to mount the bracket on for added support.
The last piece of 500mm length was used to do the shelf for the easel.

Next step was to sand the wood as I forgot to do that before I put it together which was a bit of a mistake but easily rectified. I quick run over with the Mouse Sander made a fairly nice finish on the exposed wood.

Last step was to go over it with some paint. I bought the cheapest can of spray paint I could find. It turned out to be cream and not white but I wasn't too fussed as it is just for me.
I am considering to varnish it but for the time being I am using it as is.

20231202_132337.jpg

20231202_132338.jpg

Overall I am very happy with the finished product. Yes it is a bit rough around the edges, but it was a way to save money and was well worth the hour it took me to build it from scratch.

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

Not only did you make a great easel, you also saved a whopping fifty pounds.
Amazing

Hi @youloseagain,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @youloseagain! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Greetings @youloseagain!

It is with love we wish to inform you this article was featured in our Easy Wood Work Projects You Can DIY - Spotlight Series articles. This initiative was designed to encourage and boost-strap your woof work ideas in an attempt to educate other woodwork designers in the Hive Ecosystem! You will receive 100 $BUIDL tokens as a gesture for this masterpiece you created.