Some simple cocktails for the Eurovision final night

in Amazing Drinks2 months ago

I am a cocktail lover and when I meet with my friends I always try to prepare some. Sometimes I like to find particular recipes, perhaps in theme with the occasion. But when I don't feel like it or I'm short of ingredients I limit myself to the classics.

Yesterday we met to watch the Eurovision song contest finals and I wanted to make some simple drinks. Here they are:

Americano


1 oz sweet vermouth

1 oz Campari

Top with soda

It needs no introduction. A simple mixed cocktail tending towards bitterness but softened by soda. Far too easy to drink 🤭
Obviously the quality of the vermouth used totally changes this drink. Unfortunately I was in a hurry and had to get the first one I found at the store so I opted for Carpano classico (which I prefer compared to Martini).

I know the highball wouldn't be its right glass but I really like watching the ingredients separation in this tall glass, and then giving it a gentle stir.

Mexican mule


2 oz blanco tequila

1 lime - juice

top with ginger beer

I didn't have the vodka to make the moscow mule, so I've opted for tequila, which I prefer far more as neutral base spirit. Here the name mexican mule, don't know if it's its real name but it's appropriate.
Compared to vodka, tequila softens the drink and tone down the mule's typical dryness. Too bad I haven't got some mint to bring some fresh aromatics. Anyway, totally approved 👍

Bees Knees


1.5 oz gin

0.75 oz lemon juice

0.75 oz honey syrup

Shaked and strained

A timeless classic, perfect for those who love honey and struggle to tolerate the acid of sour cocktails. For the gin I only had Bombay Sapphire available, which certainly doesn't bring great flavors to the mix. I would be curious to try a more citrusy or spicy gin.

The honey syrup I've prepared is made with a blend of wildflower and chestnut, so it has a very strong and slightly bitter flavor. Perhaps a little too bold for this delicate cocktail. But now at least I know it will stand out in more complex cocktails.

Strawberry Daiquiri


1.5 oz rum

0.75 oz lime juice

0.75 oz demerara semi-rich syrup (1:1.5 ratio)

1 strawberry

Shake and double strain

Ah one of my absolute favorite! I proceed by cutting the strawberry into four pieces, put it in the shaker tin, add the lime juice and muddle with a pestle or a spoon. Then I add the rest and shake. Be careful to filter well with a fine strainer to avoid strawberry pulp in the glass.

In this case the color is so dark because I used raw demerara sugar and a blend of white and aged rum. A caramelized strawberry flavor with the acidic note of lime to counterbalance everything. Delightful 😋

special guest: Luna

This was my first post about my home bartending experience, I hope you enjoyed it 🙂 I don't often make cocktails because I prefer to drink on special occasions with friends rather than alone. But after these events I usually have some citrus or fruit juice left at home and I take the chance to try out new recipes. So in the next days I'll prepare some other and take notes, then I'll post for you.

Thanks for your attention, next time I'll show you my face too 😛 Ciao

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Hi @harbiter

Welcome to the community.

It's good to see these cocktails here, special to celebrate, in your case the Eurovision final. Of all of them we choose Mexican mule, we love it.

By the way, your cat is beautiful.

We hope to get to know you well in your next post (see your face).

Cheers!

Congratulations @harbiter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

Even though I have not tasted them, they look like great wine, what a swell time you guys had.

Sure we had 😊 even if they are not so much into cocktails, they're always glad to taste what I do, really enthusiastic

That's beautiful. The gift of friends 😊


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail