My Homemade Version of Plant Based Masala Chai. Good-bye to joint pain :)

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

I hope you had a good weekend 😁 Mine is not over, as my Sunday is like my Saturday, and Monday is my real Sunday. I work on Saturdays, so I try to keep my schedule free on Mondays. This way I can maintain an acceptable and even healthy level of stress, as I need some pressure to be able to accomplish everything I have to do.

image.png

image.png

Since I work so much, beside housework, I need the due rest. I work about 50 hours a week, standing or sitting for too long, not good for circulation and joints. One of my jobs is as a teacher, and every semester I have to update my syllabuses and class plans; I change the readings and evaluations so I never get bored, but this also implies that I have to dedicate a lot of time to reading and rereading and on the computer typing and typing; this week, after 15 days of intense study and reading, I'm ready to share with you the relaxing and energizing drink that accompanies me during my hard working days: my homemade version of plant based masala chai, which, as you can see, has orange peel. I do this just for flavor until I get cardamom again.

At first I was a little shy with spices, so the result was quite mild and milky.

image.png

It took me only one try to discover that I like my masala chai well loaded, so now I add more spices and grind them well with a pestle before infusing.

image.png

I add some feline purr and my morning is made.

image.png

image.png

Ah, the ginger in it

I'm relieved to know that there are a number of serious clinical studies that now support the popular wisdom behind ginger as an anti-inflammatory. So it's not just about alternative medicine anymore. If you're interested in the subject but had not read anything about it yet, you can start here (number 7).

image.png

I'd have wished to inherit a summer home on a secluded, exotic island; instead, I inherited osteoarthritis 😒 About twenty years ago, I noticed the first signs, such as pain in my fingers and toes, as well as other symptoms.

image.png

After COVID-19, pain appeared in my knees and lower back. It was not severe, so I ignored it, but it increased month after month until it started to make worry seriously. That's when I knew I had to do something, something more than visiting a traumatologist--which I must do again at some point--. I had to change the way I was eating and start choosing foods that would help reduce inflammation. In this sense, I found a formidable ally in spices, especially ginger and turmeric.

I've incorporated masala chai into my daily morning routine and almost daily, I drink a cold infusion of turmeric and ginger in the early afternoon. It's been less than a month since I've been doing this and today the pain in my joints is almost completely gone; I only experience some discomfort just getting up in the morning, but it all goes away after a few minutes, a few steps really, which is quite normal as far as I've seen.

image.png

INGREDIENTS

As it seems most logical, there is no fixed recipe for preparing masala chai. Below I show you the recipe I chose for myself, after doing some research on the tastes of people much more knowledgeable than me on this subject.

image.png

For 2 cups (300 ml approx)

image.png

  • 3-4 flowers of star anise
  • peel of half a small orange
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons sliced ginger (unpeeled)
  • half a cinnamon stick
  • 7 cloves
  • 2 teaspoons black tea (I use loose leaves)
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1/2 cups coconut milk (I use homemade, like here)

image.png

THE PROCESS

image.png

This process can be divided into 3 easy steps:

1- crush the spices
2- add water and let infuse x 15 minutes
3- add black tea and milk and let infuse x 5 minutes

💞 Let's start with cinnamon and orange peel

Sometimes the most popular measurements are the most inaccurate; this is a problem for the neophytes. That's why I'm showing you what half a cinnamon stick is to me and also what a small orange is.

For me, this is a cinnamon stick 👇

image.png

And this, half a cinnamon stick 👇 I add half a cinnamon stick to make masala chai for my husband and I.

This is what I call a small orange 👇 I scrape half of its peel to make masala chai for two. When I have cardamom, I add half a teaspoon.

image.png

I avoid scraping the white part (the pith); I eat it raw, along with the orange,everyday in fact, but I don't like its bitter flavor in my drinks.

image.png

I must add the black pepper, the same I use for cooking (though I have added Jamaican pepper sometime), cloves, and star anise.

image.png

Now that I have all the spices, it's time to crush/grind them.

image.png

For this, I use the pestle I keep for mojitos, not the same I use for garlic. This has a rather flat end which makes grinding easier.

image.png

I crush all the spices directly in a small stainless steel saucepan.

image.png

image.png

Then I add the water and let it simmer x 15 minutes over low fire.

image.png

When the 15 minutes are done, I add the black tea, let simmer for a minute and add the coconut milk. This is when I must remove the pot from the fire and let the tea infuse for about 5 minutes.

Adding milk is up to you, as well as it is the kind of milk you want to add. In my case, I often use homemade vegetable milks, and for this tea, I think coconut milk is just great, for it feels lighter and so refreshing.

image.png

Today I felt like adding some sugar, so I did.

image.png

I also added a pinch of salt.

image.png

As soon as the black tea has infused, you can serve the tea.

image.png

To serve masala chai, it's passed through a strainer and can be garnished with star anise flowers.

image.png

image.png

I'm in love with this drink. Undoubtedly, it's an #amazingdrink. It has a good deal of benefits for your overall health and, in my case, it's not only healthy but super delicious and soothing. My feet and hands feel light and my joints are no longer swollen and painful. Truly, this has been the best anti-inflammatory maintenance treatment I have ever taken in my life ❤️

How about you?
Any drink that has won your heart lately?

I'd love to know 😄

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

Sin duda una receta para disfrutar!
Me hubiese gustado hacer la leche de coco, pero el coco que venden por estos lados sabe a rancio, así que compré una lechita vegetal comercial que en realidad trae un porcentaje pobre de almendras y coco, pero igual quedó delicioso. Pregúntale a @n4nd0! Jeje 😁😊

Ah, qué delicia 💓 Me encanta la taza también. Entiendo lo que dices de las leches; lo bueno es que sin leche, también es rico.

Ayer te recordé y nuestra amiga @aguamiel también porque me regalaron kefir de agua, que es otra de las bebidas saludables y curativas, junto con la kombucha, que tenía pendiente incorporar a nuestra rutina diaria. Éste es el iniciador. Aún no la pruebo; mi amiga me dice que sabe un poco a sidra, así que le voy a poner manzana para sacar provecho 😁

image.png

Agradecida, querida @zupasteleria 💓 Flecha dice que tu chai es lo máximo!

image.png

@zupasteleria ese chai te quedó delicioso, también lo puedes probar sin leche divino!

@marlyncabrera el sabor a sidra es depende de los días de fermentado, así me gusta... con estos niños puedes elaborar bebidas, hasta tu vinagre de manzana, bienvenida a la alimentación viva!
reciban mi abrazo ❤️❤️

Toda una delicia este maravilloso té chai y viene como anillo al dedo porque ya empezó a hacer mucho frío!🥶 La próxima lo haré sin leche para probarlo! Gracias por el dato, amiga @aguamiel.👍🏻😃

Que emoción cuando nos iniciamos a este mundo de la alimentación viva como lo es la fermentación!

Un abrazo para tí también, amiga!🤗🙏🏻

Que maravilla que te hayan regalado kéfir de agua. Tu iniciador se ve estupendo!😍 Pronto estaras disfrutando de esta bebida sanadora!🙏🏻

Gracias al kéfir de agua fue que empezó mi amor por las bebidas fermentadas, aunque solo he probado el kefir de leche y la kombucha que no dejo de hacer en casa.

Tan bella Flecha! Jeje!😉❤️

Amor ese te chai estaba perfecto, me puso feliz en este día gris 😍😊💪

Hola @marlyncabrera, por aquí estoy comentando esta maravilla, la electricidad no me ha dejado trabajar de forma apropiada este último mes.

Esta bebida además de deliciosa, es evidente que tiene muchas propiedades medicinales, las cuales refrendas con tu experiencia personal. Me parece estupendo el uso de las especias, y el cómo describes a cada una en tu post. Realmente esta es una bebida deliciosa y maravillosa.

Cheers!

La electricidad ha estado terrible por estos lados también y no parece mejorar. El problema es nacional, me imagino.

Está bebida ha sido una sorpresa maravillosa; las limitaciones en la movilidad disminuyen la calidad de vida de maneras que uno ni se imagina hasta que lo vive en carne propia y uno ve las potencialidades.

Por suerte, como dices, es una delicia; así que es una suerte 😌

Gracias por pasar y por todo el apoyo, querida @sirenahippie ❤️

Cheers!

One of my fav drink to warm the body in the night 😊

Hey, @anggreklestari 🌻 How much I wish I had started drinking masala chai earlier in my life; it's been truly soothing and healing.

Thank you so much for dropping by. Cheers! ❤️

but for often consume like daily, you can just use ginger, lemon, and some of spices
coconut milk is not good for often 😊

Sure! We've been told about the benefits and risks of coconut milk daily intake, so we're keeping it to a minimum. Thank you for that!

I just realized that it's been a while since I have made Chai tea. I need to make it soon and with your addition of orange zest it would be even better. Yum! Oh and if I had an adorable cat to infuse it with cute overload energy it would be better but that's the way it goes.😌

You know my Mondays are my Sundays too but I don't work 50 hours like you do. I feel like I do, so hats off to you. You are my favourite super hero.

Hope you rest your joints and muscles. I am feeling the pain too so I understand.

Best wishes beauty!

Hey, gorgeous friend! One day a month ago, I felt like crying. I've always been strong and with flexible muscles and joints, but since COVID-19, that started to change progressively, helped by the sedentary lifestyle and weight gain that I'm gradually getting rid of. Recently, I realized that I must learn to ride a motorcycle--long story for another chapter--. The thing is that the motorcycle I'm about to buy weighs almost 100 kg, much more than my bike of course (which should weigh about 15 kilos or less), plus on a motorcycle, you can't control your speed as when riding a bike. All this made me realize that I had physical limitations that I had to take care of urgently or I would end up prostrate in ten years. Yesterday I felt comfortable enough to take my first lessom and I could control the metalic beast, fortunately, and thanks to some changes in my daily habits, which include drinking masala chai every morning (skipping the milk sometimes).

You are thin and look in excellent physical condition, but it doesn't surprise me that you have experienced joint pain, since the post COVID-19 times are weird, and I see how my friends, younger than me and who do much more exercise than I do, complain of joint pain and more; some of them have even developed some heart condition. I'm glad to have found a formidable ally in spices, especially turmeric and ginger because I really like them a lot.

Have a great day, my beautiful friend, and let me know when you have a cup of masala chai. Cheers! ❤️

I actually lost ten pounds since going back to work. Since then I hurt one shoulder that is worse now, and causing me to have other pains. I just keep going and enduring the pain. It is terrible. I know one thing, it's going to be chai for me as soon as I get some black tea. I want to substitute some of the coffee times for chai since it comes with a concoction of tasty medicinal spices.

I am terrified of motor bikes. Actually I'm terrified of bikes too. Here the cyclists are insane and they will run you over if you are in the way. No kidding.

Take care my friend.❤️

I want to substitute some of the coffee times for chai since it comes with a concoction of tasty medicinal spices.

That's what I did 👌🏻

I'm not that skilled or bold as to go fast on my bike 🙈 So you don't have to be afraid of me. I brake at least twice in the same block, haha. My husband is patient with me. Poor thing 🤭

We have no bicycle lanes almost anywhere here. It sometimes happens that cyclists are hit by cars or "inconvenienced" by pedestrians. I lost a good friend, a professional cyclist, a couple of years ago; he was killed when he was hit by a drunk driver (early in the morning!).

I hope your pains go away soon! 🙏🏻

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @indiaunited, @steemflow 😁❤️

promoting your content on x

You're too kind, @tahirmuneer. Thank you so much! 😁❤️

you are kind too

Hola querida Marlyn,

Cuanto me alegra que tu cuerpo se sienta en salud perfecta cada día y de la mano con esta delicia medicinal cargada de aromas, sabor y poder.
Una bebida para disfrutar a ojos cerrados sintiendo en cada sorbo el picor, el amargo, el dulce, como va calentando y relajando el cuerpo. Tu versión con la naranja es estupenda, con o sin leche toda una delicia!
❤️

Hola, querida @aguamiel ❤️

La salud va mejorando a pasos gigantes. La verdad es increible lo que un pequeño ajuste en la rutina puede hacer.

Esta bebida me encanta sin leche también. La he omitido un par de veces y es espectacular, al menos para quienes amamos el té y las especias 😁

¡Gracias por pasar!

Este té es una mezcla de poderosos ingredientes y los toques de ronroneo queda perfecto!

Hay que embotellar esos ronroneos y comercializar 😌

Cuando probé por primera vez este té quedé prendada de su deliciosa combinación de sabores y su olor es algo, en mi opinión, súper relajante! 🙏🏻

Me gustó el toque de cáscaras de naranjas que le colocaste. La próxima probaré con esta versión!

Gracias, @marlyncabrera por compartir una bebida que se puede disfrutar en todo momento y nos llena de tranquilidad!❤️

Seguramente @zupasteleria prepara un masala chai fabuloso 😁

Verdad que es lo maximo?! Yo desearía haberlo incorporado a mi rutina antes, de verdad. Desde la pandemia, los dolores articulares han sido una molestia bastante seria para mí que debo hacer mucha actividad física y de fuerza diariamente en la casa. En un punto ves que estás limitado y que va a ser peor. No basta el ejercicio cuando hay condiciones preexistentes; hay que darle medicina al cuerpo y es una maravilla cuando el alimento es medicina y, además, delicioso. Estoy enamorada del masala chai.

Uso naranja porque no encuentro cardamomo. Esta semana debo comprarlo, pero queda muy rico con las conchitas de naranja.

Saludos, querida Zu y gracias por pasar ❤️


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks! Cheers! ❤️😄

This looks like real masala tea. you have done very good job. I am very glad to hear that you solve your health problems with alternative medicine and spices. good selections. a hug :)

I'm thrilled that you liked it. I'm trying to learn, my friend. Your advice will be always welcome. Thank you so much for dropping by and for your good wishes 😁❤️

Saludos.

Amiga muy interesante esta mezcla de especias, yo siempre hago de dos o tres pero realmente esa bebida se ve muy provocativa, además de eso nutritiva y tiene bastante aporte para defender el sistema inmune excelente me pareció un post de excelente calidad y una receta a todo dar.

Gracias por compartir con nosotros esta maravilla para nuestra salud.

Alguna vez pensé que eran muchas especias, pero la combinación es buenísima. Nada sobra. La infusión de jengibre con cúrcuma y limón también es antiinflamatoria y, en mi opinión, sabrosísima y no lleva tantas especias. Yo las alterno y me ha ido muy bien 😁 Gracias por pasar 💓

Cheers 🥂 beautiful. This is definitely healing. Lots of health properties.

Thanks for sharing. Hope you enjoyed.

Hey, gorgeous @sunshine29! It is! And fortunately, both my husband and I love it. Thank you so much for dropping by 💓

Its all a pleasure lovely 🥰. Am happy you guys enjoyed it. Every of our labour we must enjoy.

Cheers 🥂 to good health ❤️

Como dice la canción "aaaay que bonita es la vida" jajaja, tal vez vengo pasando tarde peeeero tenía que comentar en algún momento, ando últimamente full ocupado , perooo acepto invitaciones jajaja

Tu preparas esta y todas las maravillosas creaciones que nos has compartido y yo me porto bien , lo prometo jajaja

Gracias por pasar, querido amigo. También ando full, pero no me olvido de ir a comer pollo más tardecita, a ver esa delicia que preparaste.

Pero si tú siempre te portas bien 😄

Jajaja choy un niñito bueno 🙃🤣😜 , este fin de semana toca día de cocina , para celebrar con las mamis de la casa, aunque quiero que mi esposa me haga algo rico jajaja , me merezco celebrar también 😂🤣

No, señor! Te toca cocinar para las mamás. Así que ningún, ningún, jeje.

No no , no quieyoo jajaja


You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here | Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @plantpoweronhive 💚 Much appreciated!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite, @sirenahippie 💞 Much appreciated!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you so much, @thekittygirl @innerblocks 💓 I'm thrilled 😁

I wish Mondays could actually be a free day for me too. Anyway, your masala chai looks really good

Masala chai is a mixture of pleasure and medicine ❤️

Free Mondays have some good advantages; for example, we can go to the beach and it's almost empty. That's really relaxing.

Thank you for dropping by! 😁

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 7500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List