BDCCONTEST: MY FAVIOURITE CHILDHOOD BOOK(S)

in BDCommunity2 years ago (edited)

Thank you @asherrobert for tagging me to write on this BDC contest. Thank you @bdcommunity for such a lovely contest.

I have loved books right from when I was young, reading is one of my most favorite thing to do in spare time. These days I can't even remember the name of some of the books have read because I can't keep up😂.

images (1).jpeg
Source

My childhood book I would say I love sugar girl the most by kola ondaipe. I read sugar girl a number of times and never got tired of it. The book sugar girl was about a girl called Ralia who had a blind mother and she also had a dog given to her by her Father.she went missing from home when picking firewood in the forest . In her journey she meet people who impacted her from an evil witch to a good hunter. She went through different ordeals but never gave up. From meeting the evil witch to running away and taken in by the hunter thereafter to be taken home by the prince. Ralia was an interesting book that most children read.

images.jpeg
Source

This particular book was also a very good read Without a silver spoon by Eddie Iroh. This book is an inspirational book for everyone but especially those whose parents can't provide for. This book talks about a young boy called Ure who comes from a poor but honest family and works as a house boy for one of his teachers to pay his own school fees and he was later accused of stealing money. He was saved by the trust his parents and teacher had for him. The lesson of this particular story is honest is the best.

images (2).jpeg
Source

There is another interesting book titled Chike and the river written by Chinua Achebe. Chike is an 11 years old boy who the mother sent to live with his uncle in onitsha due to the family poverty, he has never left his home town before but he was excited and nervous about his future. Chike adapted to living in onitsha and he discover his love for playing soccer. He made friends and to fit in with then he lied about coming from a wealthy family.His friends spoke about the great river Niger and taking ferries across it to Asaba. He longed to cross Niger river to the city of Asaba but he did not have money for the ferry ride he tried different attempt to get the money but he failed. Over the course of the novel chike had ups and down in trying to reach his goal of crossing the river Niger.

Our childhood stories had different lessons to be learnt from them. It express our we should be content with what our parents have to give to us, it also teaches us to be good to others, always tell the truth at all times and be observant to things happening in our environment.

I will like to invite @omosefe to join in the contest.

Thank you for reading.😍

Sort:  

Congratulations @aise53! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I enjoyed all these books you listed, all time beat seller as a child. I was so shocked to see the cover again..

I wonder if children of this days still read this books 😂

😂😂😂 they were very interesting

I wonder if children of this days still read this books 😂

I don't think so, all I can say is they're missing o😆

They don't know these stories

I remember without a silver spoonso well, it was quite an interesting story.

Very interesting

Ralia the sugar girl was my favorite at the time!🙂🙂🙂

Thank you for the invite😁

You welcome darling