You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Khichuri

in BDCommunity2 years ago

I have learned many life lessons from random people. However, some of the best life lessions I have learned from my wife. Whenever, there is a bad thing that happen, like a disaster, a mass shooting, an accident and we talk about statistics and show that it is perhaps insignificant like 0.000001% and be oblivious. She says, when that event happens to you, it is 100%; and the damage is TOTAL. If you think about it, and let that statement sink in, I promise there will be a chill that will run through your spine.....

I have spent a large amount of my academic life studying and trying to understand and even predict "low probility events"; things that happen at the tail end of a log normal distrubution....I am thankful to her. She opened my eyes regarding misuse of statistics.

Sort:  

Didi is wise, I have no doubt about that. And I will absolutely agree with that statement. I was thinking about it the minute I heard the news. It could be any of us from bdc in that car, and we'd be flattened to the ground instead of those strangers. All the laughs, dreams, plans—naught but memories.