Wanderlust (ভ্রমণের নেশা): A Journey Of Fear And Death

in BDCommunity4 years ago

PSX_20200708_160639.jpg
I want to say thanks to @bdcomunity for this awesome contest for making this community become the best community in the world. It really gives me opportunities to shared my experiences with other people in the world, so that the world can learn something from it.

Experience can not be bought, you can only experienced it through experiences. Sometimes, we all need that experience that we leave our base to another, so that we can learn life lessons, new things, meet new friends, and enjoy ourselves.

I love to travel, it has been my pleasure to travel for business and meet my old friends. During school vacation, I traveled to Nasarawa to joined my brother in his business and also mingled with my friends.

This incident happened to me while I was traveling back to school after resumption. Though it was a journey of about 6 hours from Adekunle Ajasin University to Nasarawa state.

To get direct bus from Nasarawa state to Ondo state was really hard and it wasn't easy. I decided to boarded a car from my area to Abuja, and from Abuja to Ondo state. After I alighted in Abuja, It took me hours in a pack or carage for the next bus to filled up with passengers. I waited patiently until the bus filled up at the noon. I sat in the second row window side seat, besides me was an old man who was struggling to sit properly and I wasn't comfortable with him. I felt awkward and wanted to sit somewhere else. Just when I was thinking to do, the driver came and the journey started. I sat there holding my mobile phone and enjoying music because I love music.

Before we got out of the city, the driver stopped along the way and passengers bought many things such as bread, food, water, eggs and ate. We journeyed for 2 hours and they whole bus was bombarded with foul smells, passengers were continued polluting the bus which became unbearable to some passengers including me and driver. The driver had to stopped along the way to allowed some passengers to toilet, so that it will ease the situation because it was so terrible.

After 30 minutes, We continued the journey again; rotten odour grievous than the previous erupted, caused some passengers to vomited which provoked the driver to stopped the bus for an hour with annoyance. The driver said, "I have be driven for 7 years in this road, I have never carried passengers like us".

Because of delayed in time, we entered a particular state at 5:43pm unknowingly that there was a curfew in the state. Therefore by 6:00pm, no going out and coming in; The driver stopped the bus exactly at 6:00pm, in a bushy area were there was no hotel but hut and mold houses. We had no place to sleep except the bus and the bus can not contained us for we are 14 in number.

That night was a terrible night I have never experienced in my lifetime. The elderly people slept in the bus while the young men slept outside. I was among the young men, therefore I slept outside. At 12:30am a group of young men about 8 in number came with guns and machetes.

These criminals collected money and phones from us, beating us with sticks and injured some of us with a machetes. One of the old men among us died in the incident, we could not saved him because he lost a lot of blood before gotten to the nearest hospital which was far from us.

The journey of a day turned to three days. We could not leave his body in the hospital, no phone to contact his relative and no money in our hands. Thank God for the carage procedures to provide the next of kin phone number, name and address.

We contacted his family through someone's cellphone, we waited for his families to arrived and the same bus was used to conveyed his body to his home town in the third day with us. That was the only time I sat with Dead body in a bus.

The journey was the most dreadful journey of my life.

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnFt8TS6MjjX7akjG (1).png

JOIN US AT @BDCOMMUNITY