Wisdom(tooth) REMOVED!

in BDCommunitylast year

I visited the dentist recently; A kind middle-aged man who resembles a lecturer from my uni. And after he sat me down in that weird-looking “dentist” chair of his and checked out where the problem was, he looked at me grimly - and with a sense of pity, might I add - and said, “You’ll need surgery.”

Although it was my first rodeo with the term and procedure itself, I found myself with a very chilled and mellow attitude. Because, well, it was just dental surgery, right? I’ll go and sit on that chair, the doc will hit me up with some anesthesia, and then proceed with the surgery stuff as I kept staring at the light, thinking about this and that. So I agreed and went with the whole thing, happy that the throbbing pain I had been dealing with for the last few days would finally recede, because it was the only kind of pain that I absolutely cannot endure, and I was happy to go through it.

Ohh, how wrong I terribly was….

So yeah, long story short, I got my wisdom (tooth) removed. And with it, I think a part of my comfort and sanity has also left me. The pain that came after the surgery had rendered me a living, breathing vegetable for the last few weeks, where the only thing I could do without feeling pain was breathing. Eating has become a chore I’d rather avoid now, and most of the time, I find myself slurping down soups that don’t require chewing, convincing myself it’s enough before drowning in pain medicines.

Even smiling has become a pain now, so watching YouTube shorts are now off the table. Because god forbid if anything dares to lift even a minuscule part of my mount in an angle for a single second, I’ll be in gut-wrenching pain right after.

Now let's come to the main part of my anger infused ted-talk.

Has this wisdom tooth removal also removed my wisdom?

I…don’t know, honestly. Why this gigantic tooth is called the wisdom tooth is still a mystery to me, and I frankly don’t have the heart, nor the interest to search it up and find out. All I know is that everything related to this tooth is just pain, pain and more pain. And if wisdom is all about this irrational pain that makes me want to rip out my mouth and throw it into the drain, then I don’t want anything to do with it. I’ll be happy to be rid of the wisdom this tooth might have graced me with, any day.

So yeah, I might have buried my wisdom just a few days back. Maybe, it has stripped me of all my common sense and intellectual thinking. Maybe, I’m destined to stay as a mere mortal from now on.

But it’s cool. As long as I don’t need to relive the pain I felt when the doctor tried to hammer the sodding thing in two before taking it out, I’m completely cool…


image.png
Image source

Sort:  

Yeah, I saw your cool face. -_-

shattaaaappp -,-

Congratulations @drivingindevon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

ah, what a painful procedure :(( need to wait for a few days more..
I've a tooth case too but this fear of pain, delaying the schedule for the last 7 years :3

Don't delay this thing. Because in case of tooth, the more late you are at fixing it, the more painful it will get :3