The Talkers And The Listeners

in BDCommunity3 years ago

0001_3211553210_20210621_180013_0000.png
Source

Communication is one of the traits of every living being, whether plants, animals or humans. We like to communicate and go about it in different ways. The most important aspect of communication is that you are heard and understood. If otherwise, misunderstanding could arise. The best way to ensure that miscommunication does not occur is if the other party listens and listens well.

We have the 'talkers' and we have the 'listeners'. I am more of a listener than a talker though my profession requires that I do more talking. For a fee of course!

But first, how can there be something to talk about if there is no listening? Note there is always someone listening. Even the walls listen in case you love to indulge in monologues.

man_1483479_640.jpg
Source

Have you watched the tv series The Listener? It's a fantasy drama about a paramedic with telepathic powers which he used to listen to the thoughts of victims and criminals and helped resolve the cases that came up.

I believe this series depicts that there is an art to listening in communication which goes beyond just using our physical ears to hear. True listening involves using every part of your being. It involves not only your physical ears but also listening with your head and your heart. How often do you listen with your heart?

From experience I know that there are things your ears would miss in a conversation that your heart would pick up on. For instance, a child could be trying to explain to the parents that he's been bullied in school. Yes, the parents heard but for a perceptive parent, he/she may go further to understand the extent to which the bullying had affected the child or reason for the bullying in the first place.

children_763128_640.jpg
Source

For some individuals, information is power. They have made good money and improved your financial status because of information they gleaned from effective listening. To quote Plutarch, a Greek philosopher,

Know how to listen, and you will profit even from those who talk badly.

This goes to show that listening more than speaking pays more. There's a saying - the empty barrel makes the loudest noise. I have found this saying to be true. People who are loquacious hardly have anything of value to give or add.

However, brilliant minds are those silent ones, who think more than they talk. Ask them questions and you will gain a wealth of knowledge from just a few sentences that they would utter. But not every quiet person is a wealth of information and wisdom.

Remember, be slow to speak and quick to listen. How well do you listen?

Sort:  

Nice information! I know that God says be slow to speak, too. Out words have power so we need to be judicious with them.

Well said, @wandrnrose7! Our words are powerful which means we should be careful how we dish them out.

I appreciate your kind comment. 🙂

❤ I agree and you're very welcome.

I prefer to be a listener,it makes me to have more knowledge and understanding about various subjects in life...


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Just like me! I'd rather listen and learn as much as I can. Thank you! 🙂

Hello @kemmyb Good article on the reasons why one should be a good listener. If you are always talking, you don't give the other person or people a chance to express themselves. Sometimes these people just give up and don't say anything because they know it's useless. Have you ever heard of the expression "can't get a word in edgewise."? Well people are actually making fun of the person who talks incessantly.

Those are the ones who are not good listeners. They don't have time to listen and they don't care what the other person has to say.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Yes ma'am, I have heard expression "can't get a word in edgewise". It's a situation I don't particularly like because it means the other person may not be heard.

Listening more helps us understand people rather than talking on and on.

I appreciate you stopping by. 🙂

I do the both effectively. I listen and talk. Lol.
Sure! words are matter than what is being uttered. A good listener would always get into the heart of a matter. He/she has the ability to pick the finest detail in a discourse.

I can attest to the fact you're a good listener, owing to your ability to always capture the main point while commenting on posts.

This enlightening @kemmyb


Posted via proofofbrain.io

A good listener would always get into the heart of a matter. He/she has the ability to pick the finest detail in a discourse.

You are absolutely right! Hehe, thanks for the compliment and I appreciate your kind feedback. 🙂

Well, I don't have a problem with that. I am more of a listener too. I have the habit of keeping shut and just looking at people give their speeches and in close conversations lol.
I tend to calculate what I will say if I listen more than jump into the conversation lol.
By the way, if your profession demands you speak, my dear speaks o, lol.
Though listening is good sometimes.
A good listener is a smooth talker sha.

I think we share that trait - listening intently rather than talking. Do you know sometimes too much talking feels like hard work? 😄

Thanks for stopping by! 😃

Yes, I do lol.
But I don't know how they cope though lol

I believe in listening more. People tend to open up more when they know they are being listened to. Personally i am more of a listening person, I prefer to listen and give my opinion if it is required.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

People tend to open up more when they know they are being listened to.

You are right! Even I feel comfortable opening to a person I know would give me a listening ear.

Thank you for your kind comment. 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 62 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @kemmyb, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.