SOMETIMES ALL YOU CAN DO IS WAIT

in BDCommunity3 years ago

image.png

I have a friend who recently joined the hive blockchain. She has been putting in the work, creating content, engaging, etc all the things i would usually advise newbies to do. Fortunately, she doesn’t get that much support and lately she has been feeling frustrated.

“But Nonso, some of these posts aren’t so great and they get huge votes.”

I joined steem hive in 2018 and it took me several months to even get a decent upvote. Then i never imagined becoming a minnow in my lifetime because it was extremely difficult. Now i am approaching dolphin level (should have crossed that a long time ago, to be honest).

What changed for me?

I can’t really say. One day after months of putting in the work i started getting upvoted by accounts i had no affiliation with. It was surreal when i got my first $30 upvote (these days it feels commonplace). I did not change anything. I just kept doing what i have always done--create content.

Now i know people who earn twice would i do who don’t put that much effort. If i stay fixated on such things i will never move forward. I would be bitter and mostly stop contributing to the growth of the platform in my own little way.

Surprisingly, most of my biggest wins within this crypto sphere haven’t been a direct result of the time and effort i put in here. It seems like luck but when i do consider the fact that if i wasn’t here i probably would never have stumbled on those opportunities.

So what i am saying in essence is that we should follow through the process. We all love to make money but we’ve got to love the process as well. I love writing. Earning from it is a privilege.

I have been fortunate to come across this platform and it has changed my life in so many ways, and the goal is to someday give back in some way other than creating content. I want some of else to have the life-changing experience i have had here, and that’s why i keep onboarding people.

Asides from hive, most times in life we need to be patient with the process of change. We all have our time and season. Measure your success on your previous achievements and not those of other people.

Good things would come your way if you’re patient enough. I derive solace in the fact that i do my bit every day. If the outcome does match my effort then thats not on me. I try again and the day after that until i achieve my goal.

When i write i try to talk about things i think can help someone in some way. There are many people struggling here to find their feet and all i can say to such people is: KEEP PUSHING.

Keep posting, keep engaging. If you have a little change invest. If you don’t that’s fine, i started out the same way and i turned things around. It is never too late. You arrived here at the best time possible. You have a unique chance to make something out of this experience. Take it!

Sort:  

If I wasn't so lazy and reluctant to learn I would've been way better off by now. I appreciate my time here. But it could have been better.

I'll advise your friend to just keep going. It sucks sometimes. And it's easy to start comparing

Time is EVERYTHING. I get that now.

i dont think resentment or feeling sorry for one's self helps in any way. taking actionable steps is the only way.

we keep pushing to even the odds in our favour. it is not a sprint but a marathon. we press forward. thanks for stopping by. and by the way you are doing amazing. rooting for you

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks. Always appreciate the support

Beautifully written Nonso. Nothing in life comes easy, so as earning on Hive.

Thanks for stopping by mate and sharing my link on twitter. I appreciate this a lot. Cheers!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're welcome Buddy 😎

You are as clear as the day @nosowrites. Actually everyone these days just LOOK at the success season time of others and do not try to understand how the fact that the VERY SAME SUCCESSFUL person has spent time and efforts to attain this current success.

We all have to write about what we love or there really isn't a point to this. I love what you said about loving the process and not just the money.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I love what you said about loving the process and not just the money.

Yeah we easily get fixated on the money and forget to enjoy the process. I have learnt so much from writing and consuming other people's content. This isn't something I can easily quantify but its impact on my journey so far has been significant.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm in agreement with you, it is a great feeling to feel yourself getting more knowledgeable every day!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

yeah that is one of the perks of being part of the community and engaging. it is better and more fun this way

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So much better, I agree

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Beautifully written. Like you said "love the process and not just the money" Rome wasn't built in a day, also a baby can not learn to walk in a day.
These things take time, we just have to trust the process.

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!