Kafka on the shore by Haruki Murakami

in BDCommunity3 years ago

When you read a book, commonly there are two kinds of scenarios where you have troubles articulating your thoughts about it, one, the book is extremely bad and you don't want anything to do with it, two, the book is really good, so good that your will to analyze it further takes a break. However, there's another kind that lurks in the shadow — books that make you so profoundly bewildered that you lose words to weave coherent ideas around them. Good or bad, these concepts cease to function. Kafka on the shore is of that last kind. It has dreamlike quality, where conventional reasoning itself is absurd!


26390.jpg
source

What is is about, I wonder. Is it a story where some aliens alter the things, open up portals and change people and their shells up? Is this a tale of an adolescent boy and his life's journey of growing up and finding his place, his calling, as well as exploring childhood traumas caused by desertion and unwanted fantasies born out of it? Or, rather, is this an elaborate attempt at finding the joy in things that are elegant, beautiful and things that are simple and common? Perhaps, it is a blend of said everything, including some more. Kafka on the shore is generally described as magical realism and I think that description fits well. Unlike, 1Q84, which was the first book by Murakami that I read and which felt like a straightforward portal fantasy tale, Kafka on the shore packs a serious punch. I don't like teenage protagonists who act beyond their age, but I cut this one some slack as it is laced with preternatural characteristics.

It is hard enough to give a synopsis of the story, as it stays aloof most of the time, maintaining separate narrative routes. One boy runs from home, takes the name Kafka (like the great writer of Prague); reports are passed around about a mysterious mass passing out of students for no apparent reasons, which happened many years ago and an old autistic guy named Nakata who lost half his shadow, who talks to cats and goes on a mysterious journey of his own. Makes perfect sense, eh?
I'm avoiding story elements in this article, because I believe a reader should experience them firsthand.

Nakata's storyline reminded me of writings of a bengali writer Sukumar Ray, who was the father of filmmaker Satyajit Ray. The similarities are not in the plot, rather in the atmosphere Murakami creates around Nakata. His tale and Kafka's tale are at the opposite end of the spectrum. The contrast is too great, one serves as an intellectual stimulation through ideas, the other channels innate human feelings and longing for a life that is truly free and worth living. At some point, the character Nakata regrets that he would like to live a normal life, like his corporate lackey brothers — but I think his life and his half shadows and the little things only he could do exuberate fragrance of a far richer, meaningful life.
He's also my favorite character out of the book. Every time his chapter came up, I felt a bit excited. His presence and unpredictability brought me joy.

Of course, there's this vast net of metaphors throughout the book and the book is filled with suggestive ideas regarding them and they ultimately play significant roles in the story. The boy named crow is his alter ego, a metaphor personified. Colonel Sanders, a concept personified. There's an iteration of oedious' prophecy, which I also took as a metaphor, naturally — while I understand some may see it in literal lights. Unless the author comes out and declares the nature of his writing, I'll be sticking to my metaphor theory. Additionally, I have my reasoning to support it, as one of Kafka's prophecy takes place in a dream and later it turns out, it actually did not happen in reality, or in any sort of magical reality.

I like that Murakami is au fait with all sorts of popular art culture, and his books are actually giving me reminders that I have not tried out a lot of things I've been meaning to. So, that's a huge 'yay' in my book.

divider 1.png

hive format 2.jpg

Hive footer notacinephile.gif

Sort:  

I can absolutely sense everything you said to me the other day about how difficult it was for you to write about this book.. Another thing is, murakami never clears up most of the questions he makes a reader think of and thus never properly shooting away that chekovs gun.. What it does, im sure youll agree, is that creates an opportunity for a reader to dive deep into the realm he weaved and never truly manage to come out of it when the book ends. Like how the souls get all mangled up when the stones are turned and never truly gets back where it belongs..

You are not the only one to share that sentiment of avoiding sopilers about this book.. Even tho to a curious reader, it wouldnt mean much, but this a journey that should be experienced rather then being told to experience.

I do agree and I do not care for chekhov's gun much. I like the worldbuilding for the sake of it. Diving into the imaginary detailed world feels is so much more fun to me than to try to find everything is connected somehow.

I'm sure chekhovs gun can work and does, but not my preference.

To be completely honest, my taste in books, movies and songs are a bit disorienting. I read everything that feels like it, listen to everything that sounds good, watch everything thats visually pleasing:3 tedious tendencies but nothing much can be done:vv Thats why chekovs gun and simlar concepts to me never seems that important

No its not disorienting. It's important to enjoy stuff first. Would you praise something that seems blunt to you just because critics praised it? I wouldn't.

I waited before writing the response. I often do that.KOTS is a book that I read 2 times already and I almost want to read one more time already.

The exploration of a teen age mind and the gender neutrality, sexuality and the journey of the characters through real and imaginary Japan fascinates me immensely.

Did you know when we were students, my wife had a Mazda Miata. Not green, it was cyan :) Oh we had so much fun with that car!

I can talk about this book all day but I won’t. Your write up makes me want to read the book again.

Thanks Amor!

Last night, I wrote it and went to sleep. My mind was still occupied remembering bits and pieces and how I wanted to get around not writing them.

The exploration of a teen age mind and the gender neutrality, sexuality and the journey of the characters through real and imaginary Japan fascinates me immensely.

Murakami is quite liberal about it, ain't he? I have to admit, Oshima fascinated me. He's the kind of person you can chat all day, delicate, erudite yet not so arrogant.

Thank you too for the recommendation, loved the book. Hoping to read more from Murakami.

you already finished reading it?! That was fast

I'm avoiding story elements in this article, because I believe a reader should experience them firsthand.

I agree... it's almost as close to giving out spoilers

Finished it days ago :P Couldn't come up with a piece of writing though. It's a difficult book to write about.

Have you finished Norwegian Wood?

Almost... today I'll finish it 😂 it took a long time

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @deepu7 on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thanks Deepu bro!

You are welcome.

Hi @notacinephile, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @linco!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thanks Linco bro!