You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BDCommunity Presents - The Weekly Turni

in BDCommunity4 years ago

But can we give up expectations entirely? Can we really?

No, we can't. I don't know how did we come by this unhealthy trait because, for darwin's sake, I'm pretty sure our ancestors weren't really having high expectations that predators won't prey on them or go easy. Perhaps, it's a civilization thing. And maybe we should look to an even modern one at that — as, without Hobbes leviathan, that is a central authority, I don't see how such a practice can be adopted widely. Perhaps sociologists can tell us more.

As for me, I get disheartened, tell myself not to expect much but end up doing that again and again. Such foolishness perhaps deserves some retribution anyway.


I haven't read many of Eliot's poems, neither do I understand poetry but @artistparthoroy's translation feels quite natural to me. It's not jarring or literal either. Good work. :)

I loved @sayee's poem because of the message it carries. Mother nature is biding her time and this relapse in this lockdown time won't really save us if we don't get our ducks in a line.

@rehan12, the bridge is beautiful! It would be pretty nice to hang out there. Alone of course, and possibly with a partner. And staying clear of any tiktokers. I know you've been kind and euphemistic about them but I think it's a shame and waste of time what they're doing.


This turni has been literature oriented it seems! This is change I can welcome very much! :)

Sort:  

thank you vai
but all credit goes to sakib vai for this poem

Posted using Dapplr