Splinterlands Quidditch[A 12 Mana Game] - Learning to win

in BDCommunity4 years ago (edited)

Topic: How Do You Win On a 12 Mana Battle Using Any Splinter Of Your Choice?

I am not an expert splinterlands player yet but learning the strategies slowly. Although I am inexperienced, the few months I have been playing - battling against experienced players have given me ample tips on how to win a game without heavy losses and the members of the Neoxian guild have been very helpful in teaching me the tactics of this game.

When I came upon the 12 mana ruleset, I wondered if I would get a 12 mana game to play as it is very rare but luckily, I got it and I am now writing about how I got to win it.

My team members :

Screenshot_2020_0721_085144.png

The rule set was

rs.JPG

So, naturally, I had to choose the best monsters and I cannot afford to lose many points because I will slip back like I did earlier today.

Why I chose the albatross as the tank

The albatross is not a good fighter but it can absorb the first heavy attacks and also dodge maybe and then save the other stronger monsters behind.

As predicted, the albatross fell and it was the turn of the ruler of the seas who is a killer and even though I rented it, it is very useful for me at this advanced level.

Since this is a 12 mana battle and I cannot choose many monsters, I chose the halfling because it will help to reduce the attack of the enemy and thus prevent it from attacking full force. So, in this case, the halfling attack did undermine the monsters of the enemy and it lost.

Battle Id

How I won the game

I could win the game because

  • I set up as a tank, a card which could take damage
  • the second card is that of a monster which could reduce the magic damage, increase the speed of the team and do additional damage to the enemy as well
  • the last card i.e. the alchemist was able to half the attack of the enemy even though it was a leveled card and could do more damage.

Why do you think I won? - strategy

I could win the game easily because the enemy chose only magical monsters with less support. When there is a no melee ruleset, please do not just go in for magic monsters because you could face an enemy that has monsters that could undermine a magic attack easily just like the ruler of the seas does always.

If you are a new player, please choose to buy cards or packs from monstermarket.io so that you get good cashback as well.

A sample of the tips I get

advice.JPG

Stay happy

Stay heathy

rosey 013.jpg

Sort:  

First of all, please use this link sayee, as yours do not work. Just edit, and copy-paste the link below at the place of your battle link

https://steemmonsters.com/?p=battle&id=86b7265c9e5504980f0a5aa55d4c8f34e604ca80

Second, your first image is partly cut-off at the top :)

Third, you won. But even if you have a non-mele Chicken in the first position, you would have won. Point is your albatross didn't do anything :)

Thanks for the entry!

Thanks and I edited the link and photo. What you said is right. The chicken also would have sufficed but I thought I would use it anyway. Thanks for taking the time to explain.

 4 years ago (edited) 

For 1 mana of albatross, I'd have substituted it with creeping ooze, just to make sure Ruler of the Seas gets the first attack, in case the opposition was using monsters with faster speed, especially given that fire splinter was active too. Getting the first attack can be vital in low mana games.