An Epiphany of Silence

in BDCommunity4 years ago (edited)

After the relentless rain of the last week, today was an exceptionally hot day. Friday is usually a lazy day for me, especially on such a hot day I was almost craving for a power nap! My dad was going out of town to a cattle bazar (market), or so we thought and my mom kinda made me go! I'm glad she did.

I was already questioning my decision to give up on a nice, lazy nap when we figured out our car's Air conditioner was not working. All workshops were shut on Fridays and we set off in the scorching heat, on what seemed to be an endless trip to the village cattle-hut, windows down.

But by the time we were out of the city, onto the countryside roads, a sense of calmness settled in. Green tends to have that effect, maybe it's just me. It was a much needed breath of fresh air. No, literally! Fresh Air. With slightly over 3 months of lock-down, the city air is fresher than what it used to be, pollution much under control. But this was different. If clean had a smell, this was it!

The polished roads were tunneled by rows and rows of towering trees, with leaves cleaned up by the recent rain. Despite the heat of the warm sunny afternoon, the breeze was actually pretty cool. How about that! The broken air conditioner didn't seem to be a bad thing anymore. The blue was spotless, with white fluffy clouds spread unevenly.


IMG_20200724_161907.jpg


My dad pointed out to the patchy ponds spread here and there, surrounded by the trees, almost arching over as if to protect something. He said in the calmest voice, with a heavy sigh of disappointment, You know, this is what I expected you guys would grow around. I built our home with nature all around us, the city. It's all gone now. Time is a strange thing son. I sensed sadness there, a lot of it. Your camera can not capture what your eyes can see.

The more time I spent trying to capture these images on my camera, the lesser time I had to actually see. Time is indeed a strange thing. 15 years from now when I return here, I'll probably have to say the same to someone. It's all gone now. I gave up trying to molest nature further through my camera, and just allowed it all to settle in. Just the way it is, no filters, no edits. Just the way it is. It's called nature for a reason.


IMG_20200724_164600.jpg


The cattle-hut was not what we expected. It was a personally owned farm with fruit orchards, cattle grazing ground and poultry. The business part of the visit was pretty cliched, the usual. I did get up close to a flock of duck, which my dad identified as Raj Hash just by listening to them quack from distance. I, however, had to have a much closer look.


IMG_20200725_021743.jpg


The owner of the farm invited us to have tea and late afternoon snacks. As I shamelessly finished up a plate of fresh mangoes and reached for more, I realized I didn't feel like a stranger despite being less than half the age of every other person present at the table. Strange, I feel like a stranger around a lot of my peers. I'm getting older at heart? LOL! No, that's not what it was. That thought did occur to me, but isn't it obvious that the individual wisdom of every single one of them was sufficient enough to outweigh the collective wisdom of a bunch of a lot of the youth of this society. Making someone feel like an outcast is easy, it takes a lot of wisdom to make someone feel they're a part of it. i silently listened to them talk, chipping in from time to time, as I slid another plate of the fresh mangoes down to my gullet!

It was almost dusk. We set off to return under the lilac of the setting sun, devouring the different shades of mystery, in the silence of the winds. I let my eyes see what my camera couldn't capture, as I prepare for that inevitable someday, when I'll have to say, It's all gone now.



Source


End of Post Signature.png

Sort:  

That is what happens when we humans leave nature alone. You know, sometimes I feel like we are all that is wrong with the world. We are the diseases. that maybe because most of us have the potential to reach greatness and grandeur, still we take everything for granted.

Poshchate chor diye first prize hatiye nilen :V vaag chai :V

I've felt that too, arrogance of humans as a race disgusts me. The sense of responsibility hasn’t evolved over the ages, while we were fixated on power.

chor dite shikho bacha, kaj e debe :v

Your camera can not capture what your eyes can see.

Its really a true one. The feeling of seeing with own eyes is too much pleasant then seeing in a photo.
Thats why we say feel the nature.

Indeed! :)

Wow this is very well written. Thanks for sharing 🙏

Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

After reading this post I realized you have a very good writing style! What a nice tale!

Posted via neoxian.city | The City of Neoxian

I'm glad you enjoyed it mate! Trying out different styles these days.

What style would you call this or is there not a name for it? hahaha

I wouldn’t know, casual style maybe..? :) Or at least that's what I'm going for :)

Congratulations @simplifylife! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Good morning brother .
Firstly congratulate you for winning #spilterlands contest arranged by @bdcommunity.
I found so much calmness in your heart by reading the post.
Thank you for sharing such a content

Good Morning! Thank you very much :)

That's almost what I felt getting away from the chaos of the city, calmness. Great place to take time off!

nice to hear...