Did your parents starve you as a punishment?

in BDCommunity4 years ago

images 4.jpeg

Image Source

Parents are lovely people who would do anything to make sure their kids are fine. They can also be very strict that they will make you feel tired.

While they have many ways to discipline their children, some African parents typically use food as a weapon to punish kids.

I still don't know the rationale behind this punishment but they somehow feel if you are denied your food, you sober, beg or refrain from doing what you are being punished for.

Whether this has ever worked for them, I cannot say but they still do it anyways.

Growing up, my mom will just decide that my punishment is no morning or night food.

She will say it to my face 'there is no food for you in this house this morning'. Sometimes she will change her decision if i look at her with pity written all over my face 😃.

Sometimes, she will just ignore me totally and make sure i don't get to eat the food.

Till this moment, i still find it difficult to understand what lesson they want us to learn from it or if ever learnt any from it.

The fact that if we don't get food then we can go and beg outside or steal is enough for them not to adopt this method?

A child needs food no matter his offense. Food is vital and lack of it can make a child a tool to be used by devil for evil.

A stomach with food could be persuaded into doing immoral things that could spoil family name, how much more an empty stomach without food.

I know many developed countries don't beat their children but here, together with food starvation, we are often flogged for wrong doing.

What i don't know is if people from other parts of the world, especially children, are subjected to food starvation by their parents as a punishment or a way of teaching them lesson.

As African and a Nigerian, were you subjected to this torture called discipline while growing up?

Do you feel it was a normal thing to do to a child who can't fend for himself?

Your opinion would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Nah fuck that. My mum would never deprive me of food for any reason. Even if I committed the worse crime, she'll feed me after flogging me or something. I think she was just trying to make it clear to us that food is nothing special

Here the scenario is in reverse.In childhood, When my parents could punish me for anything i used to say i will leave the house and wont eat anything. Though i know i wont leave home but i used to do the hunger strike as i am punished so that was my ego. But at the time of meal she would come to beat again for not eating. I still remember i used to cry and eat out of fear of getting beaten again.

Lols! It is different here. I hope this new generation does not continue this method of punishment.

Hi @smyle, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @simplifylife!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

My childhood was a long time ago, but I don't remember being punished. Couldn't have been too bad, I guess. I do remember not wanting to disappoint my mother. That had a lot of power.
Food--she would never withhold food, unless it was for health reasons.
Interesting blog. Thank you.

Thanks for your comments and support. Good to know you never had such experience!