Toil & Trouble

in BDCommunity3 years ago

For me, money has been nothing but an object that helps me to acquire things I require; it never really gave me immense pleasure. It enables me to buy the materials that I need and pull off a budget to do things which I want to; that is all the satisfaction it gives me; money is important. I may not want it but I still need it.


Image

Money doesn’t bring you happiness is a true statement perhaps. Earning money can somewhat give you joy and sometimes causes you to stress over it. Money allows you momentarily contentment from the stuff that you’re able to gain. And seeing a healthy sum of money in your accounts and wallets helps you to worry less for the days to come.

I never wanted a big pile of cash, but I don’t think I’ll burn that pile as Joker did. I can be happy with just a limited amount that can cover my expenses; well that is a lot too as I am a big spender. Hey, a girl needs to spend on a lot of stuff okay? Not all of my money I lavishly disburse on myself, I spend whale size of it on my family, yes, I spend on my mother. But here’s a catch. The issue is money or expenditure? Both are issues and valid ones. I need money to pay for my expenses and my expenses are, well let’s say there aren’t any unreasonable expenditures. Unless you throw the money in the drain and call it an expense, everything else will seem like a reasonable charge to you, and yes they are.

Just a comfortable life and a steady income maybe that’s enough to sustain me. A little extra would come in handy when I’m planning big. But you see I’m talking about just me and me alone. In reality, the dynamics change when you have to think of more than just yourself. If you consider just a little bit, most of the time when you are trying to earn or get more money it’s not just for you, not at all. You alone don’t need much money and what you earn is more than enough for you to continue.

And why do you require more money, the answer to that lies around you; your family. The people who are dependent on you, for them you need more money for them, to pay for their expenses. The school fees, transport, house rent, accessories, image to the society, and miscellaneous costs along with it. And after all that is done, you think about your retirement plan; you’ll always be running after money. Not a 100-meter sprint but a neverending marathon more similar to this.

Maybe money is meant to be just a necessity and not a pleasurable object. I’m not an expert on this issue. Some say I’m quite childlike so maybe I got the facts around money slightly mixed up, I haven’t done much adulting as of yet. Or maybe, you’ll agree with me.

Everyday is a bank account, and time is our currency. No one is rich, no one is poor, we've got 24 hours each. - Christopher Rice


surrealfia.gif

Sort:  

Hi @surrealfia, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @linco!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you Linco bhai