Tried To Create Some Color-Gel Lighting Effect On A Portrait…….

in BDCommunity3 years ago

IMG_20210702_180610.jpg

Tried To Create Some Color-Gel Lighting Effect On A Portrait…….

2 July 2021

Hello everyone,

Assalamualaikum! Welcome back to another brand new exciting tutorial blog post. I hope everything is well and safe by the grace of Allah. Today I am gonna share with you how to control the color and the lighting of different lights in a picture to create a beautiful effect of color gel photography in photoshop. I used two colors to make the gel lighting effect on the photo. The final product was not enough satisfying but I tried my best. For the first time, it was good. Next, I will try to improve more. Now I should focus on the process. so without wasting any time let's get started.

Process:

step 1:

Screenshot (230).png

Screenshot (232).pngScreenshot (233).png

At first, I took an indoor photo and then I cropped it as much as I needed. After that, I made a selection of the subject and created a selection mask added a black background.

step 2:

Screenshot (237).png

Screenshot (235).pngScreenshot (236).png

After that, I created a gradient map. For the bright parts, I choose a bright orange color and for the dark parts, I choose black color. Then I used blend-If it keeps the color of the dark areas natural. After that, I made a clipping mask to separate the background.

step 3:

Screenshot (238).png
I named the previous layer Worm light. After that, I made another gradient map. For the bright parts, I choose light blue and for the dark arts, I chose the black color. After that, I again use Blind-If to keep the color of the dark areas natural. After that, I again made a clipping mask to separate the background. Then I named the layer cool light.

step 4:

Screenshot (241).png

Screenshot (239).pngScreenshot (240).png

Then I selected the bright areas to paint. I used a color range to do that. After selecting the right areas I took a soft round brush and painted the selected bright areas with 5-10% of the flow.

step 5:

Screenshot (241).pngScreenshot (242).png

After that, I created a curves adjustment layer and adjusted the highlights as much as I want and make it smoother, shiny, and oily skin. I adjusted the colors with a curves adjustment layer three times for the best results.

step 6:

Rafy x IMG_5049  new.jpg
In the end, an important part comes. We have to change the background. To change the background I made a gradient on the background. I made a blue background matching the picture colour. I made a radial background for the picture. I look gorgeous in the picture and decrease the opacity as much as I wanted to be. This is how the colour-gel lighting effect will be done. So the fundamental of the tutorial is gradient map gradient and masking. That's all for today. I hope everyone enjoyed my blog. See you guys soon in my next blog post. Till then stay safe.

Thank you for reading!
@troublemakerrr

Sort:  

I like that! Very cool.

Congratulations @troublemakerrr! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!