SHORT STORY ANTHOLOGIES | THE LITTLE POPPY

<


photo_20210302_090946.jpg


«Hatred is nothing more than a lack of imagination».


— Graham Greene

photo_20200731_202247.jpg

THE LITTLE POPPY

Little Poppy has always been watching me. It's no coincidence that I always saw him in different poses sitting on top of my closet. His crooked eyes were always directed at me, sometimes crimson sometimes lilac. They change according to his personality.

It was a gift from my grandmother before she left this world. The doll was well cared for, fresh smelling and its soft plush fur was pleasant to the touch. I made him my best friend during my lonely nights of sleep. He seemed serene, still and comfortable to cuddle.

For the first few days I felt its coldness, and the chilling caress of a hand touching my face. I woke up startled thinking it was the wind, but only little Poppy was with me, reaching out to give me a hug.

I didn't think much of it at first but later, things became more frightening. One night I heard whispers dampening my ear. I woke up with my chest heaving, looking at little Poppy. He looked at me with his lilac eyes and in an instant of horror, moved his head to the left.

I grabbed him by the arm and threw him away from me. I let out a terrified yelp calling for my mother. When she arrived I told her about the doll and what I had done, but she didn't believe me. She thought it was all because of the horror movies so she banned them. She took little Poppy and placed him on top of my closet.

He has been there ever since, watching me with his eyes fixed on me, until that night when he escaped from his position to descend to the floor. No longer just waving his arms or just shaking his head, he could now walk as if a person was.

He made his way to my bed climbing up my sheets. He stood upright at my feet extending his arms. His eyes were red and flashing like those of a demon. He told me to calm down as he didn't want to hurt me just take me out of here, but I let out a yelp calling for my mom again.

She again came into my room, I told her what was going on but she couldn't hear me. She checked my bed and the rest of my room as if I wasn't there, when clearly I was right in front of her, "Mom, I'm here! Can't you see me?", I yelled at her but she still wouldn't hear me, it was like I was invisible.

I never saw little Poppy again since that night. Now I wander around my house like a ghost looking for someone to help me. Someone to take me out of this unknown dimension.

THE END


Written by @universoperdido. March 02, 2021


The cover photo is my own, taken with a moto e4 cell phone and edited with PhotoScape and Snapseed.

photo_20200731_202247.jpg


Previous stories


¿Eres escritor? ¿No encuentras un lugar adecuado para colocar tus trabajos literarios? Unete a Literatos, una comunidad en Hive donde puedes publicar tus cuentos, poemas, ensayos literarios y novelas inéditos de tu propia autoría.



GIFs elaborated by @equipodelta

Sort:  

Saludos.Tuve un momento de confusión por los géneros de la muñeca(Eso creí), luego las cosas se aclararon; ¿O se hicieron mas confusas? Buena y breve historia.