WanderLust: Going Up North, Excitement and Tears

in BDCommunity4 years ago

IMG_20190627_151751_6.jpg

Prior to moving to the northern parts of Nigeria, I had only been to southern states. So when it was time to choose where I'd like to serve in the compulsory national one year service, I really hoped any of my northern choices was selected. Generally, down south when you say north people think Boko Haram, killings, bomb, insurgency. But I didn't care, the north is very large and it's not like the whole insurgency issue is everywhere. No matter where you are, your life is always at risk anyway.

I wanted to explore the north, the animals, the museums, tourist sites, the people and culture. I found it all fascinating from reading books and watching TV and always longed for the north. I was eventually posted to Nasarawa state for my youth service and was quite excited. It was a loong journey of about 11 hours but I didn't mind, the beautiful view on the way was enough consolation for the pain on my butt. There were so many giant rocks and hills, I was overwhelmed with nature. I even got a glimpse of the famous Zuma Rock some months later on my visit to Niger state.

IMG_20190228_172748_1.jpg

The service year turned out to be opposite of what I expected...quite underwhelming. I was posted to a very rural community to serve in a hospital. There wasn't any monumental structures, no museums, no elaborate colorful festivals, just plain village stuff. Most nights I cried myself to sleep because it felt like I was wasting one year of my life in a strange land. All I did was go to work and then back to my little house by the hospital everyday.

I did enjoy the very rural landscape view of some areas though.

IMG_20190117_143204_4.jpg
view from my office

IMG_20190408_095853_0~2.jpg

IMG_20190408_095743_3.jpg

I got tired of crying myself to sleep because of my shitty job and absconded for a weekend at another state. I was going to Kaduna, one part of the north that has always seemed so far away. It was exciting getting on a train for the very first time going to somewhere new.

IMG_20190817_112410_9.jpg

IMG_20190613_102528_3.jpg

The trip turned out to be refreshing.

IMG_20190614_160058_7.jpg

IMG_20190614_163121_3.jpg

IMG_20190614_161016_7.jpg

IMG_20190614_165901_3.jpg

So the highlight of my northern experience was going to Kaduna, seeing the people, animals, finding love... I hope to go to other northern places like Kano, I hear it's a beautiful city. Hopefully, I enjoy my stay there as much as I did Kaduna. Plateau state is also another place I'd like to go, obviously a lot of plateaus and it's very cold.

All photos were taken on my infinix Hot 6 phone

This is my entry for the @bdcommunity weekly writing contest

Sort:  

Kaduna has always been an eventful city, it has its rocks, rivers, tradition, landscapes and even the cuisines which I never exhausted while I was still there.

I was born and bred there na tertiary school carry me comot. You see the histories embedded in the streets of that state, its overwhelming. Hopefully I'd take a trip there soon.

I would have loved to read about the snake in the thumbnail of this post, I feel there's more to it.

You're very right about Kaduna.

The snake is from a snake farm in Nasarawa. Actually the smallest one there.