Splinterlands Quidditch[My Splinterlands Journey][5/11].

in BDCommunity4 years ago

5/11/2018

A day that made a big difference in my life. I totally forgot when did I join splinterlands. All I knew that it was one evening of the year 2018. I didn't remember the exact date of my joining. Suddenly something popped in my mind I remembered. I was a bit confused that day. When I decided to buy a starter pack for my self I didn't know how exactly it does work. All I had in my mind that I will be getting some kind of large pack of 30 cards and I will open them Like I opened few beta packs I won in different giveaways. But Naw there was no pack and I thought I've been scammed. I lost my money and I didn't get anything. Why this much uncertainty? Because I didn't know anything that what's happening. What do you expect from a girl who lives in her fantasy world and she never ever played any kind of card game and the suddenly digital card game? What exactly happened that she decided to jump in the ocean of the unending investment and adventure of course?

Behind the scene



image.png


Before getting into behind the scene story I want to mention something. I read posts of my friends where they mentioned how they got in splinterlands. For example Burlarj's post. I've always been confused about this how did they purchase a starter pack of the splinterlands. I've seen many people who have starter packs but didn't play. And they don't even know how to play. After reading burlarj's or ifeoluwa88's article I got to know they won starter packs from the city giveaway. Neo sir gave away plenty of starter packs. I wasn't in the city at that time so I didn't know the actual story.

Later when i joined Neoxian sir city I won plenty of card through a giveaway. And I didn't even know how to play :P XD I used to participate in all the splinterlands giveaways. At that time I was following stackin he used to giveaway beta pack. I won his one giveaway and got 5 beta packs I still remember that. I won a few more beta packs by participating in the gamer00 giveaway. This Journey reminded me of many great people now I don't even know if they are active anymore.

Splinterlands didn't launch yet but the hype of this game in the city of neoxian was on peak. The way Neo sir was throwing splinterlands cards giveaways it was commendable. But yet I didn't decide to get in this game. Then the day arrived when the first splinterlands season went live. Neo sir played that season and he used to share his battles in the city. I remember once he shared a big battle of titans neoxian vs clove71. We enjoyed that battle a lot then it tempted me to get in the game. I asked Jlordc (the former pope of the neoxian city, He is not active now). Should I buy a starter pack? He replied to my question...

If you have extra money to spend you can buy. That reply was enough to take a step back. After a few days when I saw so much talk about splinterlands and especially Neo sir was so much in this game. I made my mind and without asking anyone I went ahead and purchased a starter pack and then what happened? The half-story I already shared up there. I didn't find any starter pack in my collection and I straight went to splinterlands server and asked this silly question :P XD



Screenshot_173.png


Today when I searched this message guess what who helped me? hehe, my favourite @carrieallen :P She has always been amazingly amazing. I instantly got a reply from the splinterlands team and I was able to find out my starter pack in my collection.

Hence the journey begins

I was totally newbie to this game and didn't know how to play. Do you guys believe I didn't know what's a summoner and what's its purpose? Why we use it and what are the rest of the cards. What are the splinters and what Is quest? My beginning was not that quite easy that I see now. Now there so many people to help out the newbies and they get in the game easily. Without having a real problem. But splinterlands journey wasn't easy for me. I had one major issue. Since I was a girl and I never played any card game. I used to feel a bit reluctant about asking any sort of question. Then I decided to learn myself. I started to watch top battles of the players so I can identify the lineup of the battles. I learnt you must use a melee attack monster as your defender.

Major difficulties I faced

I didn't know what is mana, what is the speed of the card, what is life, what is this ranged, Melee and Magic attack. Instead of asking anybody, I decided to read How to play page. I remember how I read each and every bit on that splinterlands page. I read that page three time to remember abilities and the other important stuff.

Now the next problem I figured out. umm Let me show



Screenshot_176.png


Those red numbers became my biggest headache :P Now i wanted to find out what is the meaning of these numbers :P I asked this question in the city and I got to know it means how many numbers of cards I have. So when I solved this mystery then next question I asked myself. Now i have multiple cards of the same card. what I can do with them. I didn't know we can combine them and increase their level. That's how I was dumb back then. And now when i remember those things I really laugh out loud.

The next difficulty I had to conquer was a yellow symbol on my summoners.



Screenshot_177.png


To find out the answer of this yellow symbol I was hovering my mouse again and again on the yellow symbol and I was trying to understand the meaning of the message they were trying to give me. After a bit effort finally, I found that it means my summoners are high level and I am in a lower league. So I need to achieve a higher league in order to use the fullest form of my summoners. That's how I solved this issue. Next, I faced the same issue with my monsters instead of summoners. So after spending a quality time I figured it is because my monsters have the high BCX, now time to increase BCX of my summoners.

Moment of happiness

You guys have read my splinterlands struggle story. you guys read how i struggled to get answers of my own questions. Now when my friends say I am a very talented player it gives me another level of happiness. I was never a good player. I asked questions myself and then worked hard to solve my own questions. I used to play plenty of tournaments. Tournaments polished my skills more. Whenever I win any tournament I used to brag in the city. My bragging tempted others to join this game.
I remember I bought the whole collection of mango-juice. He got frustrated and left. Same happened with burl. and udezee sold his starter pack to me. I was purchasing every card blindly because I was a real addict of this game. Now I spend hours n hours just to play splinterlands. These days I am involved in developing new strategies. Sometimes those strategies work and sometimes I fail badly.

My best season, So far

Umm, my all seasons have been amazingly amazing but the last two are my favourite. I was able to achieve the top 50 with my not so perfect account :P. I am working on my account and one day I will fight for the leaderboard. That's my aim. I hope I haven't missed a piece of single information about my journey.

My favourite splinters

My favourite splinters are Earth and Dragon. I love both splinters. That why I maxed them before anything else.

My favourite cards

I have so many favourite cards. The list is quite big but the most I love are Dr scale, Ice Pixie, Khimer princess and Shadowy presence :P XD

I am hoping you've enjoyed reading my blah bla :P Thank you so much Bd community for reminding me my splinterlands Journey ;)



image.png


Sort:  

Beautiful journey, I love history and it's fascinating to remember how it all happened. For a long time I didn't play, I just participated in card draws, I didn't play for fear of being addicted, and I was right, today I'm addicted! And to learn to play I really disturbed some great players who taught me everything. Kisses from Mary.

Thank you maria😍

No way! I was the one that helped???
That's so funny! Plus, pretty awesome.💪

And we are the same!!!!
I was also not a gamer (still not 😂 though I try).
I loved board games, like all amazing people... but this online card thing? Totally new world.
I just happened to be in Aggy's Minnow Town Hall the night he annouced "Steem Monsters"... there were like 20 people there. None of us knew what would happen... but I was just as excited as Aggy... and when I told my hubs (chrisroberts) he was like, "BUY ALL THE THINGS!" 🤣

And the rest is history. 😎

As far as game play. It took me MONTHS to figure out it... slowly. 🤣 Mostly cause I felt the same about this 'game' as all other 'games': They are fun, but time wasters.

And then??? I learn I EARN... so the time wasting part becomes a thing of the past.

Love this 'how I got here' story.

Extra love to say 'thank you' for also stepping up and being an amazing curator for the Splinterlands community. I'm so glad you found Neoxian City and then the Splinterlands. 🥰

Yes, you don't believe let me show you

Screenshot_174.png

Screenshot_175.png
You see

Awe. I had no idea (and often don't 😂) what to do... but still wanted you to feel helped. 🥰

I still love this. Communication. Sometimes just a smile (or whatever that is equivalent to online) is enough to 'help'. And I'm sure I followed up... Or I hope I did. 🤣

Yay for memories! (even if I didn't remember 🤣)

hahah you are too good Carrie😂

@xAWI, you left me in AWE, when I read your complete journey.

In simple words, let me explain your journey.

In the beginning, Splinterlands appeared like GhostLand, but now it is a more of like a Wonderland to you!

Life is a tough game, they say. If that be the case, isn't a "Game" a tough nut to crack?

So, let's #GOFOR$HIVE and #MOVETOGREATERHEIGHTS!

Long Live $HIVE.......Long Live $HIVE!

😂

There is a tutorial system being developed which I think will help with a lot of these early headaches!

Copy_of_Upvoted_grapthar1.png

Wonderfully written, as always. You already know my story but I will tell live tomorrow; if you have time between your busy tournament schedule that is. Don’t worry I will tell in English ;)

Hehe Thank you so much Azir