A Marginal Rant

in BDCommunity3 years ago (edited)

In may, It would be three years of me being on the blockchain. Though I have not been fully active for the whole duration of three years! I have been regular only for the last eight or nine months, which too was with significant pauses in between! Yet I keep coming back here, to hive, again and again. Because of the good people who slaves away at keeping their communities in Hive tidy and neat, the jolly impressive writers like Taraz and Galen, whom I look up too, aspire to be like, my editorial board in Turni, citizens of BDC, Daktar, Dada and lots of others, and lastly, Turni, our precious offspring! But there is a storm on the horizon.

In all honesty, me being here at one point, too, was only for those sweet, sweet post rewards. Back then, I was going through a financial predicament. At that time, I used to tutor kids. But what I earned was not enough, and most of it went away in commute expenses. And my futile endeavours in photography did not pay much because of my poor skill set. Actually, I earned a substantial amount of money in a sense, which I still do, compared to what kids my age made back then! But, at the end of the payday every month, I would only have chump change left in my pocket because I have shitty cost management skills.

And so, I too had made a google search like most, How to earn money on the internet. Damn, the irony:P! I tried freelancing, amateur translation works, writing articles for shitty websites and all that. But all of that combined wasn't much! Three big macs from MacDonalds would cost more than what I earned. And then one day, a guy whose name I dare not mention told me about Hive steem! My posts back then had zero reach. To earn my first steem Hive, I had to make 100s of comments, in which I used to get votes a few cent votes. And such was the struggle, about which every single one of Hiveans and specially BDC citizens who have been here for that long has stories to tell.

One might wonder why I am writing all this blabber about the olden days! Because to build BDC up to this point and make the Bangla community spam scam-free, we had to go through a lot! Make compromises that most BDC citizens do not even know about! Only so that authors who speak Bangla could create contents freely on the blockchain and not fear getting called spammers/scammers! But the actions of a few who do not seem to grasp the meaning of brotherhood and morale are seemingly running all of our efforts!

I am not going to call out someone, as quality, in retrospect, varies based on perspective! Instead, I will address a few issues that have been raging on, like pandemics in Bangla communities for the past two months!

  1. I understand that most of us here are for money! What a coincidence,me too! There is no hiding it. Because one literally gets paid here for whatever they write! And whatever someone posts are up to them. But, that does not necessarily mean you have to post about যাহাই লাউ তাহাই স্ট্রবেরি, spam and milk the reward pool for what it's worth! For the sake of human ingenuity and decency, please stop! Money is not worth more than making yourself look like a fool!

  2. To us, Bangla as a language is sacred. And so, if you are using Bangla in your posts, you already know what we had to lose for our freedom of speech! So, showing some modicum of respect towards it does not hurt! I can understand the lack of one's dominion over vocabulary. In that case, what you can at least do is when you write a post in Bangla or use it as subtext in a vlog content, please be careful about your grammatical mistakes and pronunciations! Thoughts like the people curating my posts do not understand Bangla, so why would it matter would make you look like a monkey with a low IQ who prefers bananas over evolving! They might or might not read your posts or watch your vlogs; we do!

  3. We have heard about the use of 'threats' resonating from one particular Bangladeshi community! About how they 'threaten' to take away the 'supports' in the form of upvotes provided in menial, marginal contents if they don't 'engage' in the contents of other authors or, more accurately 'VLOGGERS'! Well, it's not up to me or us to talk about how you lead your community! But the thing is, being a leader is a double-edged sword! It can cut both ways!

Well, that's enough of my rant for one day! But If by any chance this manages to reach those to whom it may concern, please, I beg you, stop ruining our hard-earned respect! There are millions of other ways to earn money! Defaming us Bengalis is not such an appropriate way! At the end of the day, we are all part of one singular community, Hive! And if you don't take care of it, no one will! Be a little considerate and put more efforts into your content! That is all I, We and everyone else ask for!

Sort:  

This is no rant, this is fact. I spend countless hours standing on that wall to protect the reward pool. I don't ask for money, I don't even ask for respect. All I ask for is honesty. I have no reason to protect the reward pool. With my stake I can join in and get what I want. But I don't need it. I have it all already. I want you guys to make an honest days of living. And most of you do, but some of you don't. I would do most of you a disservice, if I don't take care of 'some of you'.

Here it is, Sakib. You can tell those people. The big brother is watching! You tell them now.

image.png

source

I am terrible time the destroyer of all beings in all worlds, engaged to destroy all beings in this world; of those heroic soldiers presently situated in the opposing army, even without you none will be spared.

 3 years ago (edited) 

The technicalities of how exponential growth works seems are lost on most people! Telling wrong from right is not so hard! Yet they are choosing that path, the fallback to which comeback exponentially. In the fashion too similar too fatman exploding in a mountain tunnel! I have advoacted for my 'friends! For a long time dada. No more! You reap what you sow! Thats just natural!

I fear that the concept of big brother might just go far over their head!

Congratulations @zayedsakib! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages