CHOOSING HAPPINESS OVER WORK’S POLICY

in Feel Good2 years ago

For once, breaking rules doesn’t seem to be bad at all, sometimes it could lead us to our happiness though we just have to be ready with the consequences if there are any ☺️

Who among you here who's been working from home since the pandemic started?
If you've read my previous blog, I was one of the lucky workers who no longer need to wake up 2 hours ahead of shift just to travel heading to the office during the Covid19 Pandemic.

I've been living in Cebu City for more than 5 years to work in the BPO or call center industry. And for sure, to some of you here who are working with the same line of industry, we all know how strict the clients are when it comes to protecting their customer’s security and privacy.

There are a lot of events that happened in 2020, I may be lucky to work from home when the pandemic entered our country early that year but a few months after, luck turned into misfortune. Due to the pandemic, I once belonged to millions of our fellow Filipinos who lost their jobs. Around October 2020, my former company (I won't disclose it) called a meeting to all of their employees announcing that they will be closing some of their sites including in Cebu City in February last year 2021. We were all shocked because they are a big company and they are very good, salary and benefits wise (forever grateful). That shocking announcement adds up to my stress during pandemic, because I will be then unemployed.

I felt more horrible that time because aside from being alone in Cebu and getting unemployed, it was also almost Christmas and New year so I thought it would be better if I continue working from home in my hometown in Cagayan de Oro City and take the opportunity to spend time with family and friends.

Working from home opened a lot of doors for us, the flexibility of our time, bond among our families, being able to do other things while working, and many more. However, some companies, they are not allowing their employees to transfer the company's equipment or properties due to security reasons, and that includes my former company. I understood it,because that was the policy. However, I tried my best of luck to ask and convince our management if I could go home given that I'm living alone, it's pandemic, the company is closing, and I wanted to spend time with my loved ones during the holiday season. Unfortunately, the management didn't consider it.

I've thought about it for weeks and even asked my boyfriend's opinion about it. As per him, since the company is closing, it wouldn’t make any sense if they terminate me just because I went home and brought the equipments with me to be with my family. In which I believe he has a point and I’m not after for our customers information at all. So, I spent days of thinking and made a final decision to secretly escape from Cebu City with my former company’s equipments and none from my colleagues knew it not even the closest one until now.

And here’s what happened to my journey and stay in my hometown Cagayan de Oro City ⬇️

This was when I arrived in one of Cagayan de Oro’s quarantine facilities. The nurse in the photo was trying to instruct us the rules and regulations during quarantine before sending us to our own respective rooms

But first, let me take a selfie HAHAHA Finally, I arrived in CDO and here's my room for 6-7 days in the quarantine facility.

I set up my PC right away when I arrived and continuously worked during my quarantine acting like I didn't commit a crime though I'm honestly guilty 😂

I may have not followed my work’s policy, but I didn't regret my decision at all because this is what I gained ⬇️

Annual gathering/Christmas party with my girls


Enjoyed the beauty of Dahilayan Adventure Park with my friends


Celebrated Grandma's 90th Birthday with our relatives


My boyfriend treated my whole squad a day out in Ultrawinds then, we celebrated my brother’s birthday


Celebrated Christmas and New Year with my family

Then, saying goodbye to my friends a night before I head back to Cebu again

I know it was bad of me to still pursue the plan of escaping. Please know though, that it's not natural for me to do wrong at my work. I'm someone who is religiously following rules and policies at work (hahaha defensive me) however, this one is an exemption given the situation, and I never regretted my decision. I was very happy to see my family and friends amidst the chaos that I feel when I was alone in Cebu City during the pandemic.

Thank you so much guys for reading and supporting my blog it's overwhelming. See you in the next one 💖

Cheers,
Mary 🌷


FacebookInstagram

Sort:  

Congratulations @blesseddamsel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 17
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Isa din ako sa nabiyayan ng WFH ops when the pandemic started and currently the company's doing well.

Kinda sad to those that didn't survive the changes but looking on how the numbers are more work are being delivered and the attrition rate went down when WFH started. If I will be in the same situation that you are in right now I think it is okay to do it plus the computer that you weren't able to surrender will just be deducted on your final pay ( yun ay kung mag clearance ka sa kanila )

I enjoy mo nalang yan quiet nalang tayo sa Hive whatever the plans is hahhah.

Thank you for giving your empathy and thoughts about this @tpkidkai. May balak po ba mag onsite si Hive?

Uiii di ako empleyado ni Hive 😄 same lang tayo na content creator dito. Pero kung may pa andar na work si Hive why not apply nalang tayo na CSR.

I feel you @blesseddamsel. If given the opportunity to work from home I will pack my bags and head home to our province, because why not? 😂
I deprive myself of not seeing them during the holidays season because of works policy. 🥺

I remember we talked about wfh before ate @explorewithsasha sorry to hear that you were not able to be with your family during the holiday season, hopefully things will continuously get better so it will be more easier to go to one place and another just like normal traveling and usual visiting of family and friends.

Bumabawi naman hehe so far all good 😊🥰

:) kumusta

I'm doing well @chinito how about you po?

all good.

I really liked ur cherries shirt!

Hahaha thank you @chinito, I like this too

If I were given a chance to work from home, I will do exactly the same. 😍

Will you do it secretly too @queenmeiko22 ?

Probably will too, 😆
Still work from home anyway. 😁 hahaha