Found myself experimenting with different cake batters.

in Feel Good3 years ago

What's your favorite comfort food?

I wouldn't say that cake is my number one comfort food. However, in my family... cake, especially birthday cake, is a serious matter.

I'm not saying, that baking is a common occurrence in my house. Though it would be a rare and somewhat sad day. If a cake was neglected and allowed to get stale. Just saying .. :)

IMG_20201222_054539.jpg

This particular cake was the result of a spontaneous decision. Though there might have been a slightly cannabistic origin to its inspiration.

Throughout the year I've made it a point to buy a box of cake mix and frosting, and place it in the cupboards. Just in case anyone in the house wanted to make one. Though the year went by, and that never really happened.

So today after getting home from work, and taking a small nap. I pulled myself out of bed and was able to finish several errands. It was then that I decided to bake a cake.

Before starting I searched the kitchen to make sure I had everything I needed. Yet the only cake pan I found was this one for some reason. Though it's buttered up in this picture.

IMG_20201222_030240.jpg

It's a lot bigger then what I'd normally make. Yet there's enough people in my house that it wouldn't go to waste.

My next concern was wether or not I had enough cake mix. I glanced over my options, and slowly the plan came together.

First I chose my cake boxes.

IMG_20201222_041106.jpg

I didn't have enough of one type to bake a solid cake, but I decided to layer it. The peanut butter cookie brownie mix went first. Followed by the devil's chocolate and dark chocolate batter on top.

It was here that I hit a slight snag. I had underestimated how many eggs I'd needed.

IMG_20201222_035911.jpg

So off to Cumby's I went.

IMG_20201222_034116__01.jpg

Not before taking a moment to lick the remaining chocolate batter. As a matter of principle, of course.

IMG_20201222_032710.jpg

Seeing how I was at Cumby's. I grabbed a coffee. Filled up the tank, and grabbed a king size hershey's bar for the cake.

IMG_20201222_034037.jpg

IMG_20201222_035836.jpg

After preparing the remaining batter. My experiment was now ready to bake.

IMG_20201222_040911.jpg

The cake took about an hour bake, and I quickly cut myself a square. I felt I earned myself a slice. Later on today I'll finish frosting the rest.

IMG_20201222_054129.jpg

It was now time to enjoy the fruits of my labor. A little whipped cream cheese frosting.

IMG_20201222_054539.jpg

A nice portion of ice cream, and the results were worth the effort.

IMG_20201222_054920.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to share with me.

God bless.

Sort:  

Hi dreamingirwin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @dreamingirwin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁵ feedback and contest results
It's today! Do not miss the opening of HiveFest⁵