This little guys a fighter

in Feel Goodlast month

One of the things I've come to grips with as I've gotten older, is that life takes weird turns. I come down to Puerto Rico to take a break with my dad, and some how there's a baby in kitten in my life. In need of TLC. I didn't choose it, yet here I am.

When we found him two days ago. He had an eye infection. He was malnourished, and over all struggling to live. You can read more about it in my recent post.
https://ecency.com/hive-187635/@dreamingirwin/this-little-fella-needed-some

Yet he's a fighter. It hasn't been easy for him. I've had to feed him home made chicken broth with a syringe. His eye requires consistent cleaning with a warm damp cloth. I've given a warm bath. Yet he's adapting. It's a new experience for us all.

There's been a few break through as I see it. After a warm bath. I offered him his syringe of broth and found him willing to lick it on his own. After which I brought him outside on the porch with me. I noticed he became agitated, and was meowing more aggressively. At first I was concerned, but I realized that he isn't accustomed to the experience of having to poop. The poor little guy was at a lost for what was happening.

Though it was a little humorous, I sympathized with his struggles. Did my best to ease his moment. Then brought him inside and cleaned him up. Yet I think the warm bath, and other little things I've done for him are starting to bare fruit.

I didn't realize it at first, but he was kneeding my neck and beard aggressively. I realize that the little fighter had decided he was hungry. So made an attempt at letting him eat on his own, and he was all about it. He had made up his mind. He was hungry!

As he grows stronger there are other challenges that have emerged. At first he was content with climbing the mountains of my blanket.

He would tackle the blanket, and eventually create a cubby within to fall asleep

This only lasted the first night though. As he got stronger and braver he started to explore the outer edges of the bed. So I could no longer leave him on the bed unattended. So I found myself having to get creative. I carried him in my cargo pocket for a little while.

Similar to young children, I found this little fella gets agitated when he's trying to fall asleep. My dad saw my struggle. He suggested that there was a large bird cage in the back of our house. I was a little hesitant to the idea, but once I saw the cage. I know I can make it work.

I stuffed his favorite comforter in there, and he's been sleeping peacefully for the last few hours. It's a win-win. He's comfortable, and I don't have to worry about him. I'm pretty certain he will get stronger, by the time I have to go back home. We're still exploring possibilities as to a new home for him. Yet he's a tough little guy, and also very lovable. I have no doubt we'll find him a good home.

All the images used in this blog were taken using my one plus 7 pro. I hope you guys enjoyed it.
Special thanks to @nikv for sharing this tough little kitten's story with the @curangel community. I appreciate the support received from them. A special shout-out to @sunscape for her encouragement to keep posting on this little fellas progress. She has some insightful post she shares on gardening tips. My favorite so far was her recent post making dandelion syrup. I enjoy a nice dandelion tea, and never considered making a syrup with them. I think she's worth following.
https://ecency.com/hive-120586/@sunscape/making-dandelion-and-raspberry-syrup-by-sunscape

Sort:  

Good progress! I suggest that you get him to the vet for some eye ointment, eye infections can do lasting damage at that age. This little guy's eyes were also glued shut when I found him and he was put on oral antibiotics because of his general state of emaciation and possible chest infection so his eye got treated that way but ointment will do your guy

yoda eye.jpg

Oh wow. Okay I appreciate the advice.

Aww. He's cute. Yeah I'm slowly learning with my little buddy. Feeding him has been my biggest area of experimenting. I'm only here in PR for a little less than a week more. His presence is an unplanned, yet I'll figure out what's next soon.