AlphabetHunt Letter O - The Unseen O's

in Feel Good4 years ago (edited)

20200225_100421.jpg

What can we not live without, but cannot be seen?
OXYGEN of course.

We however can measure this invisible substance and determine the levels of Oxygen in our blood by using a small instrument called an...

OXIMETER
Our oldest son is very concerned about Mom & Dad having to deal with guests at our BnB during the current pandemic, so has been sending all kinds of aids to build our immunity, air purifiers and the latest is an Oximeter.
This little gadget will soon tell you when it's time to see your doctor; heaven forbid that does not happen to us!

20200721_192526.jpg

What happens to iron and steel when they come into contact with Oxygen?
The answer of course is that it will start to rust in an electrochemical reaction called...

OXIDATION

20200225_100421.jpg
Tin Man

IMG_20190709_153720.jpg
The remains of an old Shipwreck

Our tin man is used here as an...

ORNAMENT
Ornaments are small or large decor items which beautify or add character to one's home, office or garden.

IMG_20180726_100845.jpg
These gorgeous colourful painted roosters are made out of tin and I bet you they will one day also become the victims of Oxidation.
IMG_20180726_100853.jpg

20191014_124636.jpg
Traditional beaded African artwork

IMG_20190322_140356.jpg
A concrete Owl

That old shipwreck I showed you earlier, once upon a time sailed in the deep blue waters of the...

OCEAN

The Indian Ocean on the East Coast of South Africa in this instance, where one can see the most stunning sunrise on the horizon.
FB_IMG_1514992845981.jpg

20150208_134127.jpg

ORCHID
What would life be without a pretty flower, and these are the queen of all flowers; really not difficult to grow and oh so rewarding.
Orchids thrive in a sub-tropical climate with a high humidity like we have. These are all in hanging baskets and they give us endless pleasure when they start flowering.

20200804_171043.jpg

IMG_20180307_130558.jpg

IMG_20171110_161033.jpg

IMG_20190724_083926.jpg

IMG_20180912_103946.jpg

IMG_20180912_104158.jpg

Of course, being an incorrigible foodie, I am always drawn to the kitchen and the one ingredient that I simply cannot do without is an...

ONION
May seem like a very boring O letter, but this is one vegetable that certainly knows how to add flavour to food.

20200414_204721.jpg

IMG_20181020_163951.jpg

20200111_183316.jpg
Lentil burger topped with Onion rings

IMG_20190421_165830.jpg
Gorgeous Red Onion
IMG_20190421_183925COLLAGE.jpg

And OH so soon, we come to the end of my hunt for the letter O, till the new hunting season opens up again for @barbara-orenya's Alphabet Hunt, I say...

AU REVOIR

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Oh my, you nailed it on the O words, but that was pretty obvious. We are real familiar with the oximeter in our house. The wife and kids each have to keep a close eye on their levels with having Ehlers-Danlos syndrome.
Great post and photos!
Sult

Thank you Sult, clever play on the O-words there:)
I'd forgotten about your wife and kids' condition, it must be really worrying!
Glad you enjoyed this & thanks for the visit.

I enjoyed the visit and we try not to focus on their condition. There are good days and not so good days but the important part is there are days. We have to play the cards we are dealt, luckily we have a few jokers in our hands and that makes it all good.
Have a great weekend,
Sult

Seen and unseen letter "O" good for some things, destructive to others. Well done and fabulous selection of photography to tell the story Lizelle.

I found it quite difficult but ended up being one of my favourite I spy with my little eye letters;) Thanks for the nice comments @joanstewart!

I always end up salivating with your posts my dear ! 😋 😄 Very nice selection ! we will go on with letter P on 27 august ^_^

I'm glad you enjoyed this one, the O's were a tad difficult to begin with, but once the brain started ticking over, it became real fun! Looking forward to the P's, enjoy the break!

Wonderful O words! Those orchids are positively breath taking!
And onions! Our stores are all out of onions as they have been recalled because of a salmonella outbreak. How in the world can people cook without onions? 😁 I hope this is resolved quickly!

No Onions, gosh that's quite disastrous @melinda010100! You will have to use onion flakes or onion salt, it obtainable at all! I simply cannot cook without an onion.
Thank you for visiting, really nice seeing you.

I think green onions may be available. I added some to next weeks grocery order and I added a jar of flakes, too! Thanks for the suggestion! They will be good to keep on hand in case this happens again!

I cant! Onions and Tomatoes are my indispensable forever faves!

So right, Tomatoes are also indispensable in my kitchen!

Congratulations @lizelle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day

Thank you so very much for these stats, much appreciated!

You're welcome @lizelle👍🙂 80 000 is an impressive number! It is great to see you are doing so good! Keep it up!

Congratulations on a very successful O-hunting.
Maybe the pickups were not of too unique and original (like I try to do it myself all of the time), but they touched and pleased my heart a lot. Beautiful, stunning Orchids (one of my fave flowers!), well-observed importance of an Onion (recently I've taught my 11 y-o girl how to make sandwiches of Red Onion and mayonnaise -- this is one of the 1st dishes she s in the know how-to, actually!). And the remains of an old Shipwreck, at the Oceat shore -- I still remember clearly this photo was in your very 1st post I visited (it was one of your Wednesdays Walks).
So... well done!
Will meet again at P-week, I guess.

ps. forgot to say that Oxygen was a total highlight of the post for me! one of my fave quotes by Radiohead band: "Oxygen should be considered as a drug".

Promoting Hive on Twitter

Those orchids are just gorgeous @lizelle!! I love the photos for oxidation also! Great entries for the letter O and I do love those ocean views! 💖

I also loved the Oxidation photos the most, love that old tin man, he's been there for a long time, as has been the shipwreck! Thank you for popping in @deerjay!

You're very welcome! 🙂

You're very welcome!

Love the ship wreck remains, very cool. Fun pic for oxygen. Thanks for sharing.

The shipwreck and old tinman are my two favourites, thank you for commenting @dreamingirwin!