#AlphabetHunt letter S - Searching Superlicious Food Specialities

in Feel Good4 years ago (edited)

SSSO I totally missed Postman Pat last week and did not make the deadline... but am making SURE that I don't miss the boat this week with the S hunt, so I'll jump right in and start off with a favourite:

IMG_20180628_122037_1.jpg

STRAWBERRIES.png

Luscious Mini Strawberry Pavlovas are said to be named after the Russian ballerina Anna Pavlova.
This dessert has a meringue base with a crisp crust but it's light inside, topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit or berries; Strawberries on this occasion, absolutely delectable!

IMG_20190714_145305.jpg
Another favourite dessert - Chocolate Mousse topped with Strawberries and Blueberries.


SO, my Sweet tooth had to start with dessert, but let's get back to reality and start with the first meal of the day, breakfast, and a favourite to serve for that meal is:
SAUSAGES.png

20191020_093115.jpg

These Sausages are actually called Boerewors (literal translation is Farmer's Sausage), a traditional South African Sausage with heady notes of ground Coriander, Cloves and Nutmeg, usually cooked on the Braai or BBQ.


IMG_20180519_185125.jpg
This Sausage is often served on a bread roll with a tomato & onion gravy, a Boerewors Roll also affectionately called a Boerie.
20200224_064646.jpg
Pork Sausages of course is the breakfast favourite all over the world.


Smoothies of course is a much healthier start to the day, even more so when you make a very green one by adding...
SPINACH.png

20191119_101916.jpg
Spinach is a power-packed veggie and really versatile; here I've used it to make a Spinach Quiche...
20200121_172922.jpg


As well as a...
soup.png

IMG_20190407_150220.jpg
Soup is comfort food at its best, especially in winter time.
This is a bowl of nourishing Spinach Soup.

20191111_113107.jpg
A Satisfying Barley & Vegetable Soup, sure to warm the cockles!


Our next offering is that good old standby...
sadnwich.png
IMG_20190603_135928.jpg
Chicken Mayonnaise Sandwich
There is one thing that has come to the rescue of many Moms; hailing from the late 1700's when the Earl of Sandwich first invented it, and that is the faithful old standby, the Sandwich!


IMG_20190105_173128.jpg
A delicious Vegan Sandwich


And last but not least, one of my absolute favourite places to go to that's sure to build up an appetite is the...
Seaside.png

20150208_134127.jpg
Nothing like taking a drive to the Sea for a day's outing, or better still, spend a couple of days down there, enjoying long walks on the golden Sands with just the Sound of the Seagulls and waves crashing on the Shoreline, a Surefire way of Soothing the Soul!


I hope you've enjoyed the food here by the Seaside as much as I've enjoyed Searching for the S's this week for the Colourful Feel-Good Artist @barbara-orenya's #AlphabetHunt letter S!

Here are the simple guide lines of the game :
Make a post with 6 of your own photos representing an object or concept that begins with the letter of the week.

  • if you post in the Feel Good community (hive-190931 as first tag for those who post from eSteem) you will participate in a random draw rewarding 5 people with 1 Hive each 😊
  • use the hashtag #alphabetHunt and call me @barbara-orenya with a mention + leave your link in comment below this post so that others can see it too and have an easy access to it 😉
    You have until next Wednesday 10pm UTC to post

And most importantly : Have fun, enjoy this hunt and make sure your readers also have an enjoyable moment discovering your trophy images!

Feel Good Community.png

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  

Hi. They prepare that strawberry dessert here in little glasses and they call it strawberry with creams, they usually sell it in colder climates. In my area it is rare but it is achieved. Greetings friend, time without passing me, I'm back.👋

Hey @karlin, it's so nice to see you again, glad you're back, haven't seen you for ages!

Many drawbacks, the main one was the connection. But little by little I will update myself I am a little out of place hahaha.

i knew when opening the link to your post that I would have my mouth watering...😋..but what a blast of scrumptious satisfying-for the-stomach dishes !😁
i almost died in front of your spinach quiche...LoL
thankyou.png for this enticing moment 😉

Awe I say thank you, what a gorgeous wonkie, you are SO SUPER SWEET @barbara-orenya!
Thank you for the fun contest, I really feel like a child every week & this S was super generous.

I'm not even going to try to compete with that last paragraph. I'm staying away from excessive s usage even if the idea is scintillating!

There is a desert here in the States that is most usually served with strawberies and it's called shortcake.

Thanks Lizelle. Lovely photography and stunningly significant stuff.

Oh but you couldn't resist with that last sentence now could you @bigtom13, very clever usage of the S's:)
Strawberry Shortcake was a real cute animated TV show as well with lots of spin-offs in decor etc.
I still have to try that desert though!
Thank you for your nice feedback @bigtom13:)

We were both thinking about food for the "S" letter alphabet. Please send the spinach pie via Overnight Mail. I'll send a postage paid envelope. Your photos are all lovely.

Thanks for sharing.

Haha I'll do that but really cannot guarantee the condition it will be in by the time it arrives:)
There's loads of S foods, will check to see what you shared.

Ahhhh..what a appetizing post now my my is watering up i need to go get some food to eat..lol 😁

Haha sure you found some delicious food even if it didn't start with an S;)
Thanks for the visit @bigsambucca!

I certainly had a feast all the way down that post...lol 😁

I have just had a late lunch after work, otherwise I would have died while seeing your post, @Lizelle 😀

I eat sausages for breakfast if there are some left from a barbecue or dinner, but usually we don't have such "English breakfasts" in Austria 😉
But as said, I don't mind 😋

What a great and delicious (of course 😉) #AlphabetHunt post, Lizelle 😀


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

LOL I would not have wanted to have that on my conscience @johannpiber;)
I'm not a big breakfast person but sometimes have to serve it to our guests, most who thankfully self-cater as I'm not really a morning person!
Thank you for the nice comments and all the nice goodies like Beer and a Tip, much appreciated!

Thank you @Lizelle, I think from now on I'll open your posts only after I have eaten 😉

Usually I eat what I find in the morning, but I need at least something in my stomach. I am a very early morning person - the earlier I can get up the more I like it, but not if I have to go to work - during the working week I would love to sleep longer 🤣

You're most welcome, @Lizelle, I wish you a wonderful day ☀️


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote


Hey @lizelle, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

What a stunning S selection you have!!! The food were all appetizing to look even in pictures! 😍😍😍 How much more in the mouth! Hahaha! 😂

LOL those were all very good but the sweet ones are my favourites. Thank you for stopping by and drooling over the food;);)

Hahaha! 🤣 I am always drooling with what you present. Tsk! Too bad I'm too far. 😢

🎁 Hi @lizelle! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Snake Or Snail? | #Alphabethunt For The Letter S Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @lizelle, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I love quiche the most .. reminds me just how long has it been since I last had a quiche lorraine.
Maybe I head to the bakery this weekend and get myself some :)

That sounds like a great idea @ireenchew, enjoy it when you do manage to buy one!

You never fail to make me feel like your amazing dishes Lizelle - Pavlova is one of my favourite desserts next to cheesecake. At least Jack makes sure I get my dose of boerewors on the braai. Luckily there is a large S African community in Cyprus so we can always get a few favourites - like the mayonnaise and Mrs Ball's chutney (who can live without that)