Phone Photography Contest #9: The Pleasure of Reading [ENG/ESP]

in Feel Goodlast month

“Reading furnishes the mind only with materials of knowledge; it is thinking that makes what we read ours.”

John Locke



The Pleasure of Reading

As a child and adolescent, I liked to take refuge in reading for hours. In those days, adventure books like those of the French novelist Jules Verne, allowed me to transport myself to other times to live, along with the characters, unimaginable experiences at my young age.

With time and as I grew up, my literary tastes changed, as was to be expected, and American best sellers along with some classics of Latin American magical realism, would swell my list of favorite titles.

Later, when I entered university, engineering texts would occupy a very high percentage of my available time, although I always tried to find some free time to continue enjoying reading.

Many years have passed since then, and unfortunately I must confess that I have largely abandoned that habit that accompanied me for most of my life, dedicating myself to reading news headlines, and eventually, personal finance or self-help books.

On the contrary, my interest in photography was born as a way to immortalize family memories, from the early life of my two children to the vacation trips we would take as a family, as well as other events or meetings with the more distant members of the family. Nowadays, with the increasingly accelerated development of technology that has allowed us to have better cell phones, my photographic interests have diversified, which has allowed me to venture into different techniques and genres.

Cuando niño y adolescente, me gustaba refugiarme por horas en la lectura. En aquellos tiempos, los libros de aventura como los del novelista francés Julio Verne, me permitían transportarme a otras épocas para vivir, junto a los personajes, experiencias inimaginables a mi corta edad.

Con el tiempo y en la medida que crecía, mis gustos literarios cambiaban como era de suponerse, y los best sellers estadounidenses junto a algunos clásicos del realismo mágico latinoamericano, pasarían a engrosar mi lista de títulos favoritos.

Posteriormente cuando entro en la universidad, los textos de ingeniería ocuparían un altísimo porcentaje de mi tiempo disponible, aunque siempre procuré buscar algún momento libre para seguir disfrutando de la lectura.

Han pasado muchos años desde entonces, y lastimosamente debo confesar que aquel hábito que me acompañó durante gran parte de mi vida, lo he abandonado en gran parte, dedicándome a la lectura de titulares noticiosos, y eventualmente, libros de finanzas personales o autoayuda.

Por el contrario, mi interés por la fotografía nace como una manera de inmortalizar los recuerdos familiares, desde los primeros tiempos de vida de mis dos hijos hasta los viajes por vacaciones que realizáramos en familia, además de otros eventos o reuniones con los miembros más lejanos de la familia. Actualmente, con el desarrollo cada vez más acelerado de la tecnología que nos ha permitido contar con mejores teléfonos móviles, mis intereses fotográficos se han diversificado, lo que me permitido incursionar en diferentes técnicas y géneros.



Some months ago, while walking through part of the city center, I came to a small square located on a corner, where some used book sellers used to be located, however, on this occasion I was surprised that the improvised stalls of yesteryear, had been replaced by more appropriate stands, allowing traders to expose their merchandise, and then safely protect it from the presence of friends of strangers, without having to carry it on their backs every day.

Although I had not planned to buy anything, I was entertained looking at the books, mostly used school textbooks, but in good condition, plus some great titles of world literature of all origins, not forgetting of course, those corresponding to self-help, a genre that has gained a very high popularity, and I have no doubt, will continue to be a trend.

Algunos meses atrás, mientras recorría parte del centro de la ciudad, llegué hasta una pequeña plaza ubicada en una esquina, donde solían ubicarse algunos vendedores de libros usados, sin embargo, en esta ocasión me sorprendió que los improvisados puestos de venta de antaño, habían sido sustituidos por stands más apropiados, que permiten que los comerciantes puedan exponer su mercancía, y luego resguardarla con seguridad de la presencia de los amigos de lo ajeno, sin tener que cargarla a cuestas cada día.

Aunque no tenía previsto comprar nada, me entretuve viendo los libros, formado en su mayoría por textos escolares usados, pero en buen estado de conservación, además de algunos grandes títulos de la literatura universal de cualquier procedencia, sin olvidar por supuesto, aquellos correspondientes a la autoayuda, un género que ha ganado una altísima popularidad, y del que no tengo dudas, continuará siendo tendencia.



All the Photos are of my Authorship, as well as the Edition of the same ones.


This is my entry for the Phone Photography Contest. This is an initiative of @untilwelearn.


U5dsgAmgYZEzsqx5mminCYebNQKMXdv_1680x8400.png

Camera: Samsung Galaxy A12
Photo Editor: Picsart / Snapseed
Location: Barquisimeto, Lara, Venezuela
Date: 09-09-2023

Si les gustó este Post, los invito a apoyar mi trabajo siguiendo mi cuenta @manuelgil64 dejando sus comentarios y votando

¡Gracias!

Sort:  

La pasión por los libros no desaparece jamás. Ellos son un tesoro de papel. Saludos ☺️

¡Gracias! 😁