Dredge - Day 1

in Worldbuilding3 years ago (edited)

image.png

20210612_193707.jpg

Game: Dredge by scyllallycs.

Location: Trothguard, on the Sea of Angels.

Player Character: Unknown vessel/unknown captain.


Dredge is an exploration-based journaling RPG and was something I immediately thought would be a neat aid to my own worldbuilding - as I could use the game as prompts to create a story for a character that could be part of my world.

Today's card:

image.png

image.png

Day 1

My ship seems to have a will of its own, or maybe it's caught in some kind of current that I can't detect; It moves of its own accord, and when we have reached the right place... the ship just stops, bobbing perfectly in place.

I think it's been doing this the entire time I've been on it, and the weird fog that keeps me confused has made it impossible to notice - or to remember noticing.

Things are definitely harder to remember when I'm not actively holding the journal. I wish I could remember where I found this... maybe it's something I caught in my net? Either way, I've taken to strapping the journal to me on my belt when I'm not using it.

When we - the ship and I - reached our destination today, I felt a sense of calm come over me for the first time I can remember. Multi-hued fish, scales glinting in the sun, were jumping out of the water and gliding gracefully through the air before plunging back under the waves.

It was mesmerizing and beautiful. I could have watched them for a lifetime, but we started moving again just before nightfall.

I wonder what tomorrow will bring.


image.png
Join the Worldbuilding Community!

Sort:  

Dope idea and great worldbuilding, will have to give it a look at some point too

It's a super fun little game. One of many I bought that I think will be great for helping jog some worldbuilding. Once I'm done with Dredge, I'm going to move to Lineage I think, which is a game where you're a historian chronicling the lives of kings and queens in a monarchy. It's similarly set up to be solo rpg/journaling focused, so I think it'll work well to provide some inspiration for some of the less well-developed kingdoms I have in my setting.