Character Profile, Appearance: Bronwen, Age 13

in Worldbuilding2 years ago

The novel marches on! Up to about 20,000 words now, but much of it is out of order. The early linear portions are about 12-13,000 words. Here's the first part of the character profile of our main character, Bronwen's, at age 13, her age for the main story beats in the first act. I've got a couple more sections to go as I flesh her out, so expect more over the coming weeks.


How do you style your hair?

     ‘I tend to wear it in a ponytail. It keeps it tidied away for working with alchemical supplies, and at this point I can’t imagine wearing it in another way.’

What kind of clothing do you wear?

     ‘Robes, mostly. When out walking I put on my boots, and indoors I will wear more sensible slip-ons. My arms have these wraps… because I like the style. My robes have a hood, and underneath I wear a button-up white blouse with a tie-up bow at the neck, and a knee-length skirt. In colder weather I wear long black socks, but otherwise I tend to have my legs out on display. They are rather pale. Delphine says they need to be sunned.’

Do you wear make-up?

     ‘I’m not quite old enough yet! Lady Delphine has tried to do the same black lips and black eyeshadow she tends to wear on me, but I never really got on with it. I can’t shake the feeling it’s there. It makes me feel self-conscious, I would say.’

Do you consider yourself fat or skinny?

     ‘Skinny. I barely eat enough as it is. Delphine always needs to make sure I eat my supper before I do my readings, otherwise I won’t eat until morning.’

What’s your nationality?

     ‘Caleahan. I was born just outside the city and was raised in the forest of claws. But, since spending time in the city I’ve definitely grown to identify more and more with my Caleahan brethren.’

Do you have any birthmarks?

     ‘Just the one. This here,’ she pointed to a space below her shoulder blade, ‘looks a bit like a burn, but I’ve had it since birth.’

What is your skin tone?

     ‘I’ve pale skin. Much like other Caleahan’s and people born in the Central band of the western continents. I feel rather plain when out and about in the city proper. There are all manner of other folk with many different skin tones. Black, brown, pale blue, and even fur or feather covered skin. I really enjoy living in such a diverse place.’

What is your face shape?

     ‘Well, I’ve got round cheeks. They tend to go red quite easily. My jaw is quite strong, and Delphine says I have a lovely button nose. My eyebrows sit high, sometimes giving me a bit of a surprised face when I don’t intend it! My ears are small, and my forehead is nothing too out of the ordinary. Arthur always admired my smile, and Delphine loves to call attention to my dimples. She thinks they’re cute.’


Image Source

Sort:  

Hi @zedcell,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am