You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Siedem Meandrów Przełomu Dunajca w Pieninach. Droga Pienińska z Czerwonego Klasztoru do Szczawnicy.

in PL-TravelFeed2 years ago

I was wondering how neighboring country has such beautiful mountains and we don't in Lithuania :) then I looked to the map and saw it was on the other side of the country 😅what would you recommend to visit in Poland closer to Lithuanian border? @tipu curate 2

Sort:  

Hi. I live in the south and all my hikes are in the mountains or their foothills. I've never been anywhere close to our borders with BY, LT and RU so cannot recommend anything. But I know that @matthew1 , @sandraa1 @browery and @racibo are northerners and would probably suggest many interesting places. The latter is a professional tour guide so I recommend getting in touch with him.

If however you can endure the long trip to the south of PL (borders with CZ, SK and partially UA), I will be happy to be your guide. Good thing about mountains - unlike the sea - is that there's no season end. I hike every Saturday and in fact have already planned long weekends in October (best month imho) and November (a bit of a lottery, but last year was fantastic)

@homesteadlt Close to the borders with Lithuania are as many as 4 national parks - Wigierski, Biebrzański, Narwiański and Białowieski. The provinces closest to you are Warmian-Masurian and Podlasie, which are different from each other. Podlasie is characterized by a large number of national parks, all of the above are located here ( Wigierski is only about 35 kilometers from the Lithuanian border!). Podlasie has many palaces (for example, Branicki Palace) and Orthodox churches. Warmia and Masuria is called the land of a thousand lakes, although these lakes are more than 2 thousand!!! I recommend coming here in the summer. I live here :) There is the largest castle in the world, the Malbork Castle, and the largest lake in Poland - Sniardwy.

Interesting and difficult 'scientific' problem for geographers. We have a lot of beautiful landscapes in the north-eastern part, but in total I think they are a bit similar to the landscapes in Lithuania.

From the hills, I would recommend the vicinity of the Vistula Lagoon (towns of Frombork, Tolkmicko, Kadyny) with a view of the Vistula Spit - a bit like the Curonian Spit, but the land part is probably steeper than the vicinity of Palanga. Hilly (+ lakes) are also Kashubia and the closest to you - Suwalkai Region. It's just that I see similarities to Lithuanian landscapes...

Unfortunately, the mountains are far away, and the closest ones (Świętokrzyskie Mountains, around Kielce) are honestly not particularly mountainous.