A look at Vitamin A

Let's start looking at Vitamins


Let's start with Vitamin A

While I've looked at the macronutrients like carbohydrates, protein and oils I haven't looked at vitamins yet. If you read my earlier posts you might say that you could survive with some biscuits on a regular basis made with oil and some beans for protein.

As much as I wish that were true as it would make food very simple and cheap, that just isn't how food works. Without getting variety and all the different vitamins there will be a number of different problems. Without vitamin A people can become blind. Indeed that is the reason behind genetically engineered "Golden Rice" which modifies regular rice to add Vitamin A. On the one hand it allows poor people who rely on rice as their sole foodsource to avoid blindness. On the other hand we are feeding people without a genetically engineered food and not something natural.

Putting that aside I wanted to take a quick look at how expensive it is to get vitamin A.




Rich Sources of Vitamin A


There are many sources of vitamin A. I wanted to avoid animal sources wherever possible for a few reasons. There is the ethics of killing animals for food. There is the environmental degradation caused by intensive animal farming. There is also the fact that animal sources tend to be more expensive than vegetable sources. So I won't be looking at liver in this post.

In addition some sources may be an excellent source of Vitamin A such as Palm oil. However as I can't get that in Canada I'll have to pass on adding it. Although if anyone from Nigeria wants to get me a price on Red Palm Oil I'd be happy to do some math (@monica-ene, feel like dropping me a price 😁)

With that in mind I considered three major sources :

  • Gourds such as pumpkin and squash
  • Spinach
  • Carrots

I don't really enjoy squash. I also don't enjoy spinach but at least it is easy to hide. Of course that leaves carrots which I actually do enjoy.

Guess which one I'll be looking at most closely.

Spinach and Carrots




A vitamin by another name


Now Vitamin A is chemically known as retinol. Carrots and Spinach actually have very little Vitamin A in them. Why am I adding them as good sources then? They get added because they have beta-carotene in them. While beta-carotene is NOT Vitamin A, a person's body can convert it to Vitamin A as it needs. By getting beta-carotene your not getting vitamin A but you are giving your body something it can use to get what it needs. Which in my eyes is close enough.

I wasn't actually expecting to learn anything new when I did the research for this article. As a Pharmacist I'm pretty well versed on vitamins. However, I did learn a few things and strengthened my knowledge on others. What little tidbits did I learn?

I already knew that people need roughly 900IU of Vitamin A daily. I also knew that multivitamins often have 10,000IU of beta carotene. I just figured they added a lot of extra beta carotene in multi vitamins for an unknown reason. I didn't realize that it was a 12:1 conversion ratio. 10,000 units of beta carotene can be converted into roughly 900 IU of vitamin A.

But there were a few other tidbits of information I learned. First: Beta Carotene got its name because it was originally derived from carrots. Second: There are other carotene's found in nature such as alpha carotene which can also be converted into Vitamin A but at a 24:1 ratio. Kind of interesting learning a few new facts while researching an article.




What are the numbers with Vitamin A


As mentioned : Vitamin A daily requirement 900IU
or about 10,800IU if sourced as Beta Carotene.

How much beta carotene is in Carrots and Spinach?

Carrots : 8285 in 100g
Spinach : 9377 in 100g

Spinach

at 9377 in 100G it only takes about 115g of spinach to make the entire daily requirement of spinach. However spinach was either sold by the bunch or by weight. Which is the better deal and how much will it cost for my daily needs?

image.png

My guess is that the regular spinach will be cheaper as I bet the packaging and processing adds to its cost.

image.png

  • 2.49 for a bunch of spinach
  • 5.99 for 312g of spinach.

It is certainly cheaper to buy a bunch of spinach for $2.49 but how much actual spinach is there?

image.png

That was something unexpected. The container of prewashed and stem cut off spinach had the same weight as the bunch. It was just over double the price. Now I'll lose some weight when I wash and cut off the ends of the spinach but I'm certainly not losing over half! Winner: Bunch Spinach

But how much does it cost for a days supply?

Spinach cost per gram? $2.49/313g = $0.008/g
Amount required daily : 115g

Cost : 0.008*115 = $.91

I can almost guarantee carrots are going to be cheaper than that but again, let's look at the actual numbers!

Carrots

Now with loose carrots I can say with absolute certainty that the cost was much cheaper to buy a "bulk bag" of carrots versus loose individual carrots.

image.png

At $6.99 for a 5lb bag at regular price I'd almost certainly wait for a sale as carrots regularly go on sale and they do keep quite well. However, then I wouldn't be able to make a post today.

Now at 8285IU / 100g they aren't quite as loaded with beta carotene as spinach. I was quite surprised at that. Doing a little math 10800iu per day / 8285iu per 100g --> 130g daily requirement.

And on the cost $6.99/5lb = $6.99/2270g = $0.31/100g

At $0.31/100g it is much cheaper than spinach. To get the 130g daily requirement it would cost : $0.31*1.3 = $0.40




The Winner


With spinach being $0.91/day and carrots being less than half that at $0.40/day it is clear that carrots are the clear winner. When I look at other vitamins I'm sure the race will be a little closer as spinach has many vitamins which are also valuable that carrots just don't.

However, for today I'm going to pen the value of vitamin A at $0.40 to get a day's supply.

Now I only have to look at Vitamin B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B7, B9, B12, C, D, E, K and all the minerals before I'm finished and can look further into recipe's.

Okay...so I still have a long way to go. At least I'm one step closer on my research into the most cost effective diet.

Thanks for dropping by.

Until my next post to learn some more.

And as always, I'd love to hear any comments you might have. Who knows, I might have to even revisit this sometime when carrots go on sale or take a look at gourds and see if they are that much cheaper than carrot. Who knows, perhaps my "cheap gene" will make me eat pumpkin or squash (or perhaps sweet potato) to save a few cents! (hehe...probably not).

Final thought

There are a number of other sources of Vitamin A. Red peppers for example :

image.png

However, I'm almost certain they are more expensive and I didn't want to make this an exhaustive post on every alternative.

Carrots are the "namesake" for the vitamin and Spinach was a good contender for best alternative. If you are curious about other sources or would like me to do some math based on your local prices of food by all means send me a message and I'll do a bit of research.

Again, thanks for reading!

Sort:  

75ml of palm oil is sold for $0.6 which actually varies according to season and can be as expensive as $1

Ouch. That's almost criminal. I can pick up Canola oil here for about $0.17 HBD for 75ml paying $0.60 for 75ml is crazy expensive 😢 Are there any cheaper alternatives? I thought palm oil was the inexpensive oil choice there.

Congratulations @terganmarket! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I can see that alot of packaging is done for products over there, that might actually add to the prices of goods. And this is a whole lot research you have embarked on, picking the vitamins one after the other to determine that amount of money needed to get an adequate amount of vitamins the body need.

In the end when you are trying to prepare a cheap meal with all these essential nutrients, these little amount of money from different vitamins and other source of food may add up to make the food more expensive rather than been cheap.

Any food is more than just one nutrient, well, with the exception of highly processed stuff like white sugar. My end goal is to put a value on every part of the food. Every carb, protein, fat, vitamin and mineral has value. With a value for each part of the food its possible to look at food and see if it is truly worth the price or not. However, looking at the overall value of each food is something for much further along, I still have a lot of vitamins to go through first.

But as a quick example: I just looked at spinach and for Vitamin A alone it is much more expensive than carrots (unless its on sale like I got yesterday). However, spinach also has Vitamin K, Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B9, and Vitamin E. Once I factor in the value of those vitamins as well perhaps Spinach comes out as a much more economical food.

Right now I just don't know. My guess is most people don't know. People just eat what the know and eat when they are hungry without thinking of where they get the most nutrition for the lowest price.

When food was cheaper or when money is plentiful that's a fine way to look at things. However, when I hear about people going hungry due to rising food costs (in both Nigeria and Canada) it makes me think that perhaps there should be a more focused way of looking at how to feed people without having them go broke.

I doubt my posts here will ever get a following. I doubt that anyone will even care to make changes to how they eat. However, I personally want to know more about how to get the most from my money and my food. Someday I may be funding an orphanage, or food kitchen, or dinners for seniors.....or even just be broke enough I need to find ways to feed myself. I'd rather research now while I can rather than wish I could do the research when I can't.

Just so you know why I'm doing what I am :)

Thanks for the feedback

Always appreciated....and it really does mean a lot that even one other person is watching :D