Their loss....winning vs the grocer.

It's no surprise that food is getting more expensive


It doesn't matter what country you live in, I am certain that food is getting more expensive. It has gotten bad enough in Canada that some people are boycotting a major grocer (Superstore) and finding good ways to feed the family is becoming increasingly challenging.

Luckily grocery stores can make mistakes and that can lead to opportunities for savvy shoppers. One thing I ALWAYS advocate is understanding the cost of foods and doing the math to figure out if something is a good deal. Keeping an eye out for grocer errors or loopholes in their pricing system can lead to some excellent deals.


image.png

This 20kg haul of rice is an excellent example.

If you were to read prior posts of mine you would find that the typical price on an 18kg bag of rice is about $37 CAD ($27HBD or about 37,000 Naira) and doing the math that is considerably more expensive than some other forms of carbohydrate (like flour for bread). Now Superstore is trying to soften their image by having a "deal of the month". This months deal is:

image.png

Which is actually quite a good deal

and also

image.png

Which is actually not a good deal at all on the Cheerios and since I can't eat aluminum foil I'll just leave that out of the discussion.



Last months deal.

Now the deal last month was the rice that I purchased today. It's regular price if $4.79 for 2kg. not a good deal

Last months price was $3.00 for 2kg. a very reasonable price

However, I don't think the grocer realized that many people are "rice snobs" and will only purchase their preferred brand of rice. As a result they were left with a lot of rice at the end of the month. What is their solution? They mark it down even further.

Today's price was only $2.00 for 2kg. My 20kg of rice was only $20 or just under $15HBD (20,000 Naira) which is actually about the cheapest food I can buy on a cost per calorie basis. A very good price on an item which has an expiry sometime over two years from now.

Time to stock up!

Now rice isn't my preferred food. However, I don't dislike it and at a price that cheap I'll stock up and make more rice dishes! However, will I be able to go through 10 bags of rice..considering I already have 3 x 18kg bags at home?

Honestly, I probably won't be able to. So, why do I bother buying it? Well, with a few changes in meals I might go through that much rice but even if I don't it makes an excellent item to give to others or the local food bank.

It is the perfect size to give away to others. It is a very acceptable and long lasting food. If my family eats it then great, If I can give it away to keep someone else from hunger, well, that's great too!

Indeed, I believe @monica-ene, @rare-gem and @jjmusa2004 will share how they bought, used, and gave away some rice with funds from this community. Looking forward to that!

But sometimes the best deals don't get the big banners. They just sit on the shelf without any adornment.


image.png

Or in this case they are put on a bottom shelf with a little sign that says sale but certainly no fanfare like the "Deal of the Month"




That's why I always do the math!


That's why I always break down foods into price per gram, cost per calorie, cost per nutrition and look at all the best solutions.

I never know where a deal will hit!

It may be a hidden gem in the grocery store. It may not have a big end cap, a big sale price, or glossy advertising. Instead it might be sitting on the bottom shelf with a little sticker...or sometimes even no price tag at all.

Being a savvy shopper means knowing a good deal when you see one, then taking advantage of a grocer's mistake in ordering too much, having a bunch left over with poor dating, or even just a stockboy putting on the wrong price.

Whatever the reason.... Their loss is my gain and in these days of high food prices I'll take whatever deals I can find!.

Thanks for reading.

And as always, if you want to add to the discussion please feel free to drop a comment..or even better, write an article about how you combat the high prices of food!

Until next time

PS : I hope to get to my article on Vitamin B1 sooner than later, but I've been busy with other articles :(

Sort:  

That seed oil is not a bargain if you factor in the health effects.
Better, imo, to get some lard.
Search rapeseed oil, and see what you get.

I'm well aware of Canola's history (CANadian OIL) ... the omega-3 to omega-6 ratio isn't the best but with a little judicious mixing with other oils it can be a much healthier blend. As for lard....its pure saturated fats with no omega 3, 6, or 9. Peanut oil can be loaded with pesticides. Lard--who knows what conditions the pigs were raised in. All the other oils bleached and processed. In the end have to make due with what's available at the grocer or grow my own at home. Looking forward to having my own homestead to do that but in the meantime I have to make do 😉

You could be right about that lard.
Lord knows what rich people will put in food they don't have to eat.

Well well I can only say that a different ball game plays out here.
First I haven’t seen packages rice in smaller packs like this. And since people here tend to consume more of that grain there is often no price fluctuations as such instead prices go up continually based on demand.

Yes. Food is a different game in Canada for sure. So, if I ever look like I'm asking odd questions its because I'm trying to figure out the game over there :)

Alright noted

@terganmarket, @dlmmqb Sent You 1 Share for the DrawMatic Lifetime Prize Draws!

Your new share balance will be effective in the upcoming prize pool draws from now on, forever and ever...
DrawMatic shares last a lifetime!
The more shares you own, the higher your chance of winning in each and every upcoming draw! 😎
Drawmatic_cmtBanner.jpgJoin DrawMatic on Discord To check shares and other information, or if you want to gift any amount of shares you own to others.

Hey @terganmarket @terganftp @tergan604! Since you use separate accounts for different purposes like your Splinterlands game account, I decided to ping all of them.

Thanks for having a thoughtful conversation with me on The Detriments of Begging/Charity. This is a small gift. I wish you luck in winning this lottery someday. You are a kind soul and make this world a better place.

Hahaha...

I thought you didn't make posts in communities :D

Thanks for making an exception !

BTW I'm dropping your name in a very large post I'm making about how to turn Actifit from a (ahem) less than ideal community in your opinion to what I would consider a major driver for fitness and Hive. It won't happen of course but if you know someone who would read the post and give me feedback that would be awesome. I'm happy to pay of course (provided it isn't horribly expensive)

I thought you didn't make posts in communities :D
Thanks for making an exception !

I didn't make an exception; the post is still in HL as usual. However, I am considering starting an on-chain Pakistani community soon (as you're already aware of the Discord part of the Pakistan community).

Regarding Actifit, I can assist you in connecting with Actifit moderators/founders. Actifit is often heavily exploited by exploiters, although they actively fight back to reduce exploitation. How about receiving feedback from an Actifit moderator? They are known for their excellent communication and professionalism. They can read your unfinished post using the PeakD draft share feature.

I have reservations about move2earn technology due to the exploits, but that's a separate debate.

I've already asked the Actifit lead for permission to make suggestions to make the community better on Discord and I know a few of the moderators already. I know you have a negative view and mcfarhat has a positive one. I wanted balanced feedback :)

mcfarhat is a good person :)

Hehehe....

I just wonder what his thoughts are going to be when I say I'd love to see the Actifit community grow to 100,000 - 1M people :)

(Yes, and give thoughts on how I would make that possible)