Memories that never die

It was as though it were yesterday, the memories of our childhood, and the colourful events that enveloped our lives. Life was just a rollercoaster of fun and freedom. But now, the responsibilities of adulthood has wiped away these memories, or rather, should I Say: it has obscured these memories in a certain corner of our thoughts, in a place that can only be accessed by the reveberating power of music - the greatest embodiment of emotions!

I came across a trending song on tik-tok which reminded me of a certain cartoon series I watched back then. It was a different rendition of the original song we heard in the cartoon. It was nothing other than "SpongeBob square pants" by Tatiana clark.

The song was somewhat spiced up with a lot of vibes and hypes which it earned from the social media platform "Tik-tok." I had flashes of the free boy I once was, the kid gorged with a lot of innocence. The kid who did nothing other than watching cartoons, of which sponge bob was included. Isn't it beautiful how scenarios and clips from the past are attached to a certain song? We remember every detail as though it was nothing. Well, this was the case with this song.

I remember how my mum would threaten me that I wouldn't watch SpongeBob if I didn't finish up my meal. I fully remember her warm subtle yet stern voice in the same manner and tone in which she spoke. I always found a way to finish my meal and even if I couldn't, i'd get rid of it in her absence, away from her prying eyes. I could jeopardize anything to set my inquisitive eyes on SpongeBob even if it meant sacrificing my meal.

Sometimes, my mom would ask: "Emeka did you finish your meal?"

"Yes, I did." I'd reply pointing at the empty plate which was served to me.

"Are you sure?" She'd ask Staring into my fragile eyes, as though she were waiting for a sign, any sign to indicate that I wasn't saying the truth.

"Hmm... I know you're lying but it's okay." My mum would always say.

Sometimes I do wonder if my face gave it away or perhaps mothers just have a perculiar way of detecting when their child is lying, who knows.

It was a time of my life when I bothered about nothing other than myself. A time when I was lost in the euphoria of the moment, not thinking about the future, not regretting the past.

When I heard this song by Tatiana, I thought about the boy of then and every blissful irreplaceable moment I had. I realized my childhood was filled with a whole lot of smiles. Life wasn't the way it is now: the endless struggle to survive, the responsibilities, and so many more.

Well, this is just one of the many wonders of music... Something we'll never fully explore; a mystery of therapeutic importance.

What if you could go back in time, what would you choose and who would you choose to be... Will you be that little kid who wasn't saddled with the responsibility of life? or would you be the adult who sees life for what it truly is?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Music can do so much good for us. It can make us feel emotions. It can make us remember. It can make us step out of reality. It can de-stress us. And so much more. SpongeBob and eating. I suppose, you're mom knew how to manage things, and I'm 100% sure moms in general 'know' when their kid is honest or lying 🎶

NJOY the weekend

Indeed, Music does a whole lot more than we think. Have a beautiful day ahead 💯✨

The times of SpongeBob were indeed easier times....

Happier times😔

I also loved watching spongebob too...I even watch it now.

Our childhood memories are really amazing. As a child I so much enjoyed power rangers. I saw every of the power ranger series I ever heard of. Somehow all of those power ranger series became childish to me at some point