Almost A Year, Memories. (I love Dad).

IMG_20240226_190435.jpg
Image Source

They say that, ”the memories of your loved one who passed away tends to resurface once everytime unconsciously to remind you of them”.

My Dad said this to me some few years ago. I didn't understand it then because I had not experienced any of my loved ones pass away but I came to understand it when my first love passed away then and until now when memories of him resurfaces. It makes me sad, but then I remember all the good memories I had with him and I comfort myself that he is in a good place with the Lord.

IMG_20240226_190912.png

Over the weekend, I was at the gym listening to music while I enjoyed my workout. However, my playlist was on random shuffle and a song by ’Lucky Dube, titled Remember’ played next after the previous one. This song reminded me of my dad who passed away ten months ago. I grew up listening to this song repeatedly because it was one of his favorite songs.

Losing my dad came as a shock to me, because before he passed away, we spoke and all of sudden after a few hours, I was told that he had passed away. He was a healthy man, that he went on his normal run he does every morning and by the end of the day, he was gone. It hurts and I don't think I am over his passing yet. They say ”times heals all wounds” and ”life is too short to hold on to grudges”.

My relationship with dad was a relationship that best friends have. We shared so many happy moments together and also tough love moments. He taught how to be a strong woman, he taught how to be a woman, also, religiously he anchored me all through.

I remember when I was little, I would always fight not to stay at home but to follow my Dad out when ever he takes his car to the mechanics. Our drives to the mechanics are one of the fond memories I remember always. It was always fun, we would sing together as we listening to his favorite artists. When 'Is This Love by Bob Marley' plays I literally sing along because I know all the lyrics by heart. His favourite artists are Don Williams, Dolly Porton, Elton John, Sunny Ade, Ebenezer Obey, Lucky Dube, Bob Marley, and Lagbaja. After that he would talk me out to a nice restaurant and we would eat together.

While I was in the gym I decided listened to songs from his favourite artists since the first took me down the memory lane. As each music played, I kept on reflecting on all the memories I had with him. He was the best father anyone could ask for. He was patient, strong, resilient, he never back down from a challenge and he would even risk his own life to save the lives of his family. He literally did that during the gruesome and bloody 2001 Plateau State Crisis. He is my role model and it was because of him I turned out the way I am today.

I miss him alot, I miss his daily check up calls and messages, I miss our talks, and I miss the times we'd spent together. The times we went to different bookshops and buy books (he loves reading just like me), the times we spent to together going to his work place. It has not be the same since he passed away but I try to keep living and not be a disappointment to him.

Sometimes, I go back to re-read our chats and messages and all it brings back to me are joyful memories back and how we teased each other. He lived a very good life and he aged like a fine wine. His passing away wasn't painful, nor was it in sickness but it was in God's timing, a peaceful departure. That, I make sure to remember so I don't cry everytime his memories resurfaces.

This post is to a tribute to his memory and a reflection on his favourite songs. He was a wonderful husband, an amazing dad, an awesome grandfather, a retired heavyweight champion, a role model, an employer anyone would wish to have, a religious man and a generous man to the core. I love you Dad. Your memories will continue to live on.

3yZiouw5jgtrj8RZntzpYvPkttnUNCNB3bKsugcDmKrZysEhsVCu7HmxWG7sYd9c3PJiWe24wRnpAB7HXq2WMvHX9AyxjgRuTY38KWSsv8...GFDdhx4UzPxqzjjpVMXNYgRDyspwo7pFw2RpyHZvde1tK7QLmYqnXBk9hDVg1dAooe2nLquVnXKjzS2uR5yQNqx1V5qutNgmqpFfKYLpS93ajRQosgFNPk3e1s.gif
Second Image created by AI.

Thank you for visiting and supporting my blog. 😊

Sort:  

I am sorry for your loss. Our loved ones never truly leave us, they always remain in our memories and in us. I believe that your father is in good hands now and keeping an eye on you from above. Stay strong and carry on with your journey.

Thank you so much for your kind words and condolences. It means a lot to me. I take solace in the belief that my father is at peace and yes it is true, our loved one never leave us. I appreciate your encouragement and support. Thank you for visiting my post.

Sorry about that... We've both got similar stories. I just wrote a piece similar to this. I guess everything in life is ephemeral and we just need to find a way around it. Greetings!

Exactly, we need to keep pushing and never give up. Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate your comment.

May his Soul Continue to Rest in Peace Amen 🙏
So Sorry Dear
#dreemerforlife#

Amen... And thank you!

Very sorry for your lost
I believe his soul is resting with the Lord

My Essie...

I loved this tribute to your father. It reminds me of the relationship that my daughter has with my husband. The boys never wanted to learn how to fix things - but Sydney (Remy) was there to learn how to change brakes first. hehehe how to fix the toilet... and so on! hehehe

She is very close with me too - but the relationship with her dad is separate and beautiful.

I know that your father was a great man, because you are a great woman.

We don't talk much anymore... life is like that - i know. hehe But i think of you so often.

I'm so glad that your father had such a peaceful journey straight into the Lord's arms. I pray for that myself someday! hehehe

i love you dearly

I am glad my tribute reminded you of the special bond between Sydney and her dad. It is a special relationship that is irreplaceable and she would also love her daughter to have it someday(but, not also leaving her grandma out of it, hehe). I appreciate your kind words about my dad. I miss him most. Someday when it God's time. You will go into the Lord's arms in peaceful way too by God's grace. Thank you so much, your presence here warms my heart. Much love ♥️