Loving You...

I spent most of today reading. And no, not reading novels which is absolutely one of my favourite things to do. I was studying. Like, really studying. Although, I kind of mixed it up with reading a novel because as much as I’d like to pride myself as someone who can read for hours on end, I’m truly not that kind of person and if I study for about two hours, best believe I’ll unwind by reading a very non-academic book for thirty minutes or more. So far, it has worked out quite alright for me.

So today, after studying for hours on end, to say I was burnt out would be an understatement. How do I know I was burnt out? The words kept disappearing as I read. Like I’m reading a full sentence but the words promptly vanish the moment I read them and get to the next one. That was my first clue. I felt like I needed to study more so I shook my head rather vigorously and then, my head jammed.

Snapchat-1156895446~2.jpg

You know when you hear someone say, “The breaks are jammed,” it simply means they’re stuck or can’t function any longer. At least that’s how I interpret it. So, my brain very firmly communicated to me that if I thought it was going to absorb another word from my textbook, then I was a liar and delusional. I have a very fun mind so when I found out that I couldn’t even assimilate a single word, I knew without a doubt that that’s what it was saying to me.

That was my second clue. From experience, I know not to push myself any further because the next clue would be a migraine so excruciating, that I’d regret not paying attention to the last two clues. So, I stood up and did the first thing I do when I’m feeling burnt out and trying to cope with it. If you guessed shower, then you’re absolutely right. I stepped into the shower and let all that tension just wash away.

That’s my first way of coping. I identified that I was burnt out and started finding ways to liberate myself because pushing yourself to that limit is scarcely ever amusing. When I was done, I felt considerably lighter. And then on to my next coping mechanism which, if you guessed it right, is food. I got food together and immediately wolfed it down. Maybe wolfed down is too excited an emotion but yeah, I ate it and already started feeling myself coming back to top form.

And as my final coping mechanism for today, I went to my playlist and searched for good music. I wanted something that I hadn’t listened to in a while and as I scrolled frantically past the hundreds of songs, my eye caught one and I paused immediately. I smiled so hard cause not only was this song an old song, but it used to be one of my favourites.

I first heard Loving You Girl by the Norwegian singer, Peder Elias ft. Hkeem from an Insta live of one of my favourite Korean singers. He had songs playing in the background while he talked to his fans and when I heard this song, I felt this intense happiness. I’m not sure if it was the lyrics or because the rhythm is the kind I usually adore but I was transfixed. Shazamed it immediately and binged on it for weeks.

It doesn’t have a really strong message. It’s just a guy expressing his love for this girl and how much he adores her. Frankly, I didn’t even want to pay much attention to it. I just liked the way it made me feel and so I was like, why don’t I share it?

Lol. That’s a lie. I don’t like sharing songs that I like. I’ve said this before and it’s true. I prefer hoarding to myself and only sharing if I truly like a person and know the person wouldn’t judge and would genuinely appreciate the music. But coincidentally, it rhymed with today’s topic on #AprilInleo prompts which you should totally check out if you haven’t cause it’s almost guaranteed that you would find something that suits your fancy on any of the days.

Yeah, so I decided to shade it and I hope you all enjoy this special song that marks off my weekend. And while you do that, I’ll get back to studying.

Jhymi🖤

P.S: This is your song for next week from my playlist. You know yourself. Lol


Thumbnail is mine.
YouTube video is shared with credits to the owner.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 last month (edited) 

When I saw the title, I was thinking it'd be a fiction story or something else lol, till I read through. I really !LUV this song. The lyrics, and the tune. It's beautiful.

Interesting note at the bottom 😏.

!pimp

Lol. Thank you. And I'm glad you enjoyed the song as well.
And for the note, kindly leave it for the person who owns it.😄


You must be killin' it out here!
@b0s just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @jhymi.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

jhymi, b0s sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Nice way to cope with burnout; I agree with the food and music part as well. It works for me too.

I'm curious, is that your handwriting or a clip from elsewhere? Because wow, that's artistic writing....

I like the song too, and the fly on my wall is patiently waiting for "you know yourself" to show up in the comments... haha.

All the best with your studies, @jhymi! 🌺💫

is that your handwriting or a clip from elsewhere?

Lol. Yeah, it is my writing. They've told me a lot to stop writing like some Microsoft word font type. But I don't know which other one to change to.

And as for the "you know yourself," chances are the person won't say even anything so tell the fly on your wall to fly somewhere else for now.😂

So happy that you stopped by, Humbe. Thank you for the wishes.🥰

That's definitely one of the best Microsoft word font type. Brilliant!

Haha yeah the fly lost patience and flew away..😂

You're welcome #jhymi 🌺😊

Sad sad. I hope I have something juicy for the fly next time.😆

Thank you dear and have a wonderful weekend.💞

Haha😂😂

Thank you, you too Jhymi..🌺

It's the oppressive handwriting for me, Fangy. God wen? 😢😄 Me I don't have that kind of mind 🤣 Na New Times Roman be your own

You have interesting coping mechanisms. I wasn't surprised to find moving mountains to be part. Lol. Come for me with your full chest!

All I heard in the song was the guitar o... Just kidding. I love it and how rhythmic it is. I'd never expect less from Fangy.🖤

You know yourself

Ah ahn...God abeg. 👀 Make I no talk 😂

Lol. I'm glad that you like my handwriting. I find yours equally fascinating.🙃

Come for me with your full chest!

It's see finished that caused this talk. Thank you so much. I will make sure to keep moving mountains, hills and oceans.😂

And please don't talk o. Just be going. Lol
I'm glad you love the song, Minion. Means you have good music taste.😉

I will make sure to keep moving mountains, hills and oceans.

Fire on jare! You know you have backing.

Means you have good music taste.

Uhhhhhh...duhhh? Lol.

Reading...
Seems I'm the only one not studying for exams by the end of the month😂😂😔

Your handwriting is so pretty and legible...
Your seatmates would be joyous 😂😂😂😭

Seems I'm the only one not studying for exams by the end of the month

In VDM's voice, "You will learnnnnnnn."😂

And as for my hand writing, I'm making it extra tiny this year. You people cannot use me to shine.😂😭

You people cannot use me to shine.😂😭

Baby why😭😭😭😭

Such an unnecessary act of hatred😔😂😂😂

Hey Jhymi! First off, your handwriting is really nice. I'm jealous!

Oh, great! I'm glad I'm not alone in this. You see, I can read novels for hours, but when it comes to academic books, I struggle. Although I can go all night, I wouldn't enjoy it as much as reading novels.

When I'm feeling burnt out, the first thing I do is play chess. I even suggested it to Prav when he was having a rough day, but he disagreed, saying it would make things worse. When I'm sad, burnt out, happy, or numb, I play chess.

Jhymi, you deceived us with this title o.

First off, your handwriting is really nice. I'm jealous!

Lol, thank you. And get in line, with the jealousy part. Although, I do want to see your handwriting now.

Although I can go all night...

Please teach me the way. I only remember studying the whole night a handful of times. Not a pleasant experience at all.

And I'm surprised cause Chess is a game that needs all your wits at work. How do you manage that when you're already burnt out. You see, starboy doings.

And as for my title, it's you that opened it to see what isn't there. I knew I'd be able to bait the likes of you. Lol

Jhymi, my handwriting is… let’s just leave it there.

last semester was a wild ride! We had this super boring, wide, and wild course that we totally ignored until the day before the exam. It was our last paper, so my friends and I decided to start studying at 8 am and pulled an all-nighter. 8 am- 8an the next day (we had breaks though). It was crazy, but we managed to get through it. After the exam, we all crashed big time!

Hehe. I fell for the bait big time.

Using music to cool off 🤔
Well it all depends on what kind of mental stress I'm trying to relief myself of and the cause. So if it is as a result of reading too much, I'm definitely sleeping it off straight up. I guess we all have different kind of coping mechanisms that works for us.

But then Going through the details of that note book, it looks Ike some kind of history note, so I wouldn't blame you for feeling burnout.

Damn!! I pray I never have a reason to snap my note in the same way you did because my handwriting is horrifying 😂. Your handwriting looks really amazing, it feels like it was written by a typewriter.😅

Pop in from #dreemport
#Dreemerforlife

Lol. I listened to music after taking a shower. If I did it before, I would have lost my mind. But yeah, sleeping is the next best thing for me.

And for the note, why did you strain your eyes to see?😏
Anyway you're right, very tasking course.

As for your handwriting, no judgement. I've only seen a handful of guys in my life that have decent hand writings. Thank you for the compliment but please leave typewriter alone.😆

You have only seen a handful of guys with good hand writing, ouch!!!! 🤕

Thank God guys like @olujay exist 😔😔

I don't understand o. What happened to Olujay?😂

I can vouch for him with my full chest that he has a better handwriting than yours 😂

You just reminded me of my school days. I use to in search of food at the middle of the night after I must have read for a long period of time. Studying was never my thing too, but I just had no option. I absolutely agree with you @jhymi, music is a perfect means of calming our nerves.

The best there is!
And it's wonderful that a lot of us can relate to it.
Hope you're having a wonderful weekend, dear.🌺

Why you con deceive me with that title na, hehe
Well, I love your sentence coordination and mode of communication of the ideas, bravo
Me when I am tired, I sha just go and bathe and sleep for at least 3 hours, hehe, I am lazy ba? No worry, I know already

Lol, thank you and you're not lazy at all. After reading and eating sleeping is my next favourite thing to do.😊

watsup u no answer me for the request I made last time

I'm sorry. I hadn't seen it in time. Give me your Discord ID and I'll try to put you through.

jesusson9820

Food + music + novel = expelling burn out😁.

At least you know your body really well and can understand it's clues too, that's cool👍

Thank you for reading, dear.😊

You are welcome

Studying for a long time can be draining, and since you know yourself, it was a good thing you stopped at the second clue given.

The song shared is very interesting and also the reason behind it. Lol. Gracias.

Well, I'm glad you enjoyed the song. Thank you for the well wishes dear and I hope you're having a great weekend.🌺

You are welcome. I sure am. I hope you are, too.

It's good you shared the song so we can listen too.
Burnout, stress isn't what anyone should experience at all.

#dreemerforlife

Lol. Thanks for stopping by.🌺

I mean I was like ehhh? She studied without reading a novel? Wow but how then I just went forward a bit and saw but you mixed it up and I was ahaahhh that’s the real Jhymi😂😂

#dreemerforlife

Come out of Hive Ghana account and show yourself. What's this see finish?😂

https://inleo.io/threads/jhymi/re-jhymi-zqdbbbb2
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( jhymi ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @jhymi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 9500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 10000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!