A dream (maybe) triggered by a piano piece - Love and Death!

in Q Inspired-by-Musiclast year (edited)

IMG_20221109_151850.jpg

I had a strange dream a few days (nights) ago.

The even stranger thing is that I remember it, as there was a time I was not remembering my dreams. Seems that lately it changed for some reason and I can recall them in the morning.

So, in my dream, I was said that we will all finish the journey we have in this world. You know what it means... our lives will finish. The feeling was not upsetting though. I still felt calm and accepted the fact that the world as we know it now will disappear. An apocalyptic scenery, but a calm one. Maybe we would not be exactly dead, but the question is where we would go then if that apocalypse happens. We would be dead, but not dead as I was given some instructions on a piece of paper about what to do when this end of the world happens. Unfortunately, in my dream, I didn't read the content of that paper so it stayed a mystery. Don't know... the part we would not be alive anymore but having instructions on what to do in that state is not going together... I said it was a strange dream. ;D

Maybe it was somehow connected to the composition I heard for the first time last week, played by my friend. He had a concert last Thursday and the day before it he asked me to go to his home and to listen to him. To be his audience. Like a mini concert, but just for one person.

He played a Haydn piano sonata, two ballads by Chopin, and one contemporary composition by a Finnish composer that was not fitting very well the program so we concluded that it would be best to leave it out of the real concert. As the last composition, he played a piece by the Spanish composer Enrique Granados. The title of it was El amor y la muerte (Love and death) from the suite Goyescas.

video source of another pianist that I found as a good interpretation.

He said before he started to play that he gets very emotional when he practices this piece. I know he does and why it really affects his emotional state. Love and death hit his life.

It is not very commendable that I did not know this piano composition before. When I was a student, we went through the most famous and lesser-known piano composers and their works. I'm sure I learned about this collection myself but my memory has kind of faded about it. Also, I haven't played many compositions by this Spanish composer. I did play some pieces, but nothing from the suite Goyescas... and I see now that it was a mistake.

As a result, listening to this composition in my friend's home and his performance was a completely new and outstanding discovery. I was amazed. A beautiful composition, full of passion, pain, life and death. Also, a very difficult piano piece from the aspect of technique. I was simply glued to the chair before the onslaught of these sounds that came from the piano. I expressed my total delight with several exclamations, I know he was not bothered with it, just the opposite. While playing, he was also pointing out some places that he especially felt close to him and the person he lost.

The last note ended and silence reigned. As if we wanted this composition to never end (which btw lasts for around 12 minutes. It is not a short piece.) A whole world was musically described there. Of course, we broke the silence just a few seconds later, I ensured him that he plays it perfectly (he really does) and we commented a few things about the composition itself.

Maybe it was a trigger for my dream, I don't know. Maybe the dream had nothing to do with this piece and no connection there. But coincidences are weird, as I have to mention that this composer, Enrique Granados had a true connection with love and death. After his tour in the United States, returning to Europe, the ship he was travelling with was detected by a German submarine. It was attacked with a torpedo. He was travelling with his wife and seems that he jumped into the water from the rescue boat to save her. They both died.

Anyway, I hope that the apocalypse from my dream will not happen soon (and if yes, I would read the instruction on what to do in that case 😂 ) but this composition for sure deserves to come here to this little inspired corner. What was the first trigger and inspiration...? Maybe just Granados knew while writing it.

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

(and if yes, I would read the instruction on what to do in that case 😂 )

Or maybe you overslept the instructions because of the phase of deeper sleep? 😴😂

I don't know, maybe I overslept or I indeed didn't read it in the dream.
What I know is that it stayed a mystery 📜 :)))

I don't think everyone is ready to face the apocalypse ma'am, what else am I, what if the apocalypse comes while I am not married🤣

Hahaha, @roronoa46, from love and death just one would be true then 😂
But don't you worry! When I achieve to read the instructions from my dream I will share them here, maybe it will help all of us 😁

Thank you for the share on Twitter 😇

Oh yaa, I will wait here faithfully, I hope there is an angel too for me in your dreams😆

😂

Let's hope I will remember again my dreams. Then I can check if there were angels :)))

😅😅

Let's hope there's one left for me😁

He's incredible but I can see what you mean about the piece. I may have to listen to pop music all day! Thank you for posting it.

The piece or the pianist is incredible? :)
As the video I shared is not the friend I was mentioning (I put a note by side now to avoid further confusion)
The composition is massive though! I am glad you liked it 🎶

I can see how such a piece can inspire weird apocalyptic dreams. Something like that happened when I listened to The Isle of the Dead by Rachmaninoff. It gave me some weird yet peaceful dreams about death and its inhabitants.

This piece is amazing! I want to know more about the less known composer and their songs.

Seriously? Music also triggered a dream about death for you too?
This Rachmaninoff composition also has to come here, at least to the comment section :)

Sometimes we can find real gems while discovering less-known compositions. Goyescas, as a suite, is pretty famous, but it happened that I have never listened to this piece. It is the fifth piece in the suite.

Yes, it did. It was weird, but kin of beautiful. I'll listen to that other piece later. Coming form you it must be an amazing recommendation.

Sometimes we can find real gems while discovering less-known compositions. Goyescas, as a suite, is pretty famous, but it happened that I have never listened to this piece. It is the fifth piece in the suite.

I see. Well, the good thing about art is that there's always something cool to be discovered. So, it neeve ceases to amaze.

No, I actually shared your mentioned piece by Rachmaninoff, like an additional piece to that one composed by Granados. So don't waste your internet to open the link :D

You are right, art never ceases to amaze ;)

Oh, I see. Silly me. But internet is never wasted when you listen to cool music. 😄

heheh, seems that it is me who is confusing today the people around ;)
I should keep silent from now on or write better and more understandable :D

Sometimes the poems are not understood... but this gibberish of mine is not league material 😂

Ha, ha, ha, ha. Don't be so hard on yourself. I didn't get it at first, then it became clear.

Did you say poems? Are we reactivating The League? Or is it too soon for that?

Jeez man... Isle of the dead? You must've had crazy nightmares🤣

It wasn't a nightmare. It is a solemn dream about death. A very poetic experience.

Oh... I see. Thank goodness then.

Ha, ha, ha, ha. Yes, thankfully it wasn't anything weird on the dreadful side. 😂

Ha... Yeah😆

Haha... How funny. I just read an article yesterday about some "time traveller"on TikTok who claims he's from the future and that by some time in December (25th I think), a meteor will hit earth killing thousands of people and bringing in a new species of life - aliens essentially lol.

So... Who knows? Maybe your dream has a connection with that😆. Maybe... Just maybe.... You can see the future!

Quickly Mi! I need you to dream about the next lottery numbers asap!


Ouu... And what a wonderful piece! I don't know the composer either but his music is too good not to check out.

I'll go look him up!

Quickly Mi! I need you to dream about the next lottery numbers asap!

😂😂😂 Haha, if I only could read things in my dreams. You see, I didn't even read the given instructions I got for after the end of the world, and that would be essential 😂
Well, knowing the lottery numbers would be great too :D

Granados. You can check Danzas Españolas, Goyescas, Spanish Waltzes... Maybe he would write more pieces and became more popular, but that trip back to Spain... :/

Hehe... I see then. A shame tho XD

And but of course, I'll most certainly check him out. Thanks for the tips!

A shame tho XD

haha, indeed

Well can try giving some random numbers, who knows maybe in some country in the past or in future it would be the winning combination hahaha

I'm listening :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @ewkaw 😇 🎶🎶🎶

You're welcome :)🍪

Your dream was like living a mystery movie. What a sad story about the composer of the piece.
If you dream the second part again and can read the instructions, let us know!

PS: I couldn't listen to the melody, the YouTube link gives me an error.

Yes, if my dream would come back and I would have the opportunity to read what was on the paper, I would share it :)
I am sorry the youtube link gave you an error. Maybe this link would work :) 🎶

Hi mipiano, i know in my religion, according to your dream, we will have a life, it calls afterlife, i heard the piano thats he plays, haha sorry to say, it look likes the sounds when we had a bad dreams, you know, when this musics plays, i think i am scared too hahha,
But by the way, this sounds like magnificent, and i love the piano

A soundtrack for a nightmare maybe :)
Well, this composition is a masterpiece, it has beautiful parts and those that can scare us :D I am glad you like the piano too 🎹
🎶

That's a horrible dream...I hope it won't happen.. there is no end of the world, but only death can end our life in this world... I also had a lot of weird dreams, and some are still in my mind even up to now hehe

Believe me, it was not that horrible. I mean, the end of the world would be horrible but in the dream, it was like a normal thing, I was not even scared or upset hahaha

I also have dreams that are repeating, but for years already. Not the whole dream but parts of them, and the same feeling.

Same...and people keep appearing in my dream, but I don't know them lol.
And dreams that seem to be continuations of ones before.. I would only remember it (in my dream) once I dream about it.. Weird

Continuations - yes, yes, the same. One dream triggers the other.

In my case of repeated dreams, it's not people. What I keep dreaming about are several paths (different dreams, different paths in different places) but when I dream them again I recognize them and "know" what will happen next.

t’s a little strange that you can recall your dreams now. Do you lucid dream? If you do, I want to invite you on a little experiment with me.

Let me start preparing myself for your apocalypse prophecy dream though just in case, Prophet mip.😂😂😂

I hope I am not a prophet and this will stay just in the dream :D

It was a period when I was not remembering my dreams. I don't know why. I had the theory that it was because my sleeping was always interrupted by the alarm clock, but I am not sure if it was because of that. Lately, I have days that I don't have to set the alarm clock so I wake up naturally. Maybe my dreams stay more present because of that. Don't know...

Also, I had another phase: while dreaming bad things I knew I was dreaming but couldn't wake up myself, so I learned to call (although through sleeping) by name my husband so he to wake me up. Weird thing hahaha, but it worked many times.

I don’t think you not remembering your dreams was about your alarm clock interrupting the dreams though. I think it’s a normal thing. I did hear someone say something a while ago about your mind being able to remember stuff you learned in dreams though, and I was baffled by it. How does the same mind that doesn’t remember a dream remember a dance move you learnt in a dream and can perform it well in real life?

The phase you’re talking about, I think is called sleep paralysis, or something love that??? I am surprised though that your husband could hear you call him. It never works for me. It’s like I always call out, but my voice just doesn’t work and no one hears me, so I have no other way to wake up until I force reeeaaaally hard.

Unfortunately sleep paralysis makes you a bad candidate for my little experiment (which you most likely won’t be interested in anyways) People that experience sleep paralysis will face complications in my experiment. It’s a dream experiment.

Dream experiment, it sounds at the same time interesting and scary haha

Have you watched the movie Inception? I really liked it 😎

Yeah I’ve seen inception. I started watching out for Leonardo DiCaprio’s movies after I saw him in Titanic 2 years ago, he is a talented actor. If you haven’t seen most of his movies, I’d recommend wolf of wall street to you.

The dream experiment really is a bit scary and maybe uncomfortable too if you experience sleep paralysis, which I think you described in your post.

I watched that one too, Wolf of Wall Street
Also excellent movie :)

Ok, let's skip the experiment, for safety reasons :D

But there’s no ssssscorpion in it😂😂

You know I like it dark, so the title already spoke to me, the piece itself even more and as its nice and weird and then this ;

Enrique Granados had a true connection with love and death. After his tour in the United States, returning to Europe, the ship he was travelling with was detected by a German submarine. It was attacked with a torpedo. He was travelling with his wife and seems that he jumped into the water from the rescue boat to save her. They both died.

lets see what I will dream this weekend

Looking forward to hearing from you about your dreams this weekend :D


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @roronoa46 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.