You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A call from a friend that led me to Glenn Gould ...

I agree with you, composers that didn't write too many details in the scores, left more freedom on how it should be performed. Of course, the text is what can't be changed (ok, should not be changed, if we do not talk about improvisation bass parts of some baroque compositions and contemporary classical music from the last century where the composer asks for the changes and free interpretation and improvisation), but the dynamics and tempi are left to the performer to choose. Although, there are some, let us say, established esthetic regulations, there are no two performances that are identical.

Yes, I remember the Canto Ostinato and the beautiful video that accompanied it. For me, the visuals were the same important as the music in that case, but I am aware that there are moments that just the music part should be listened to - with closed eyes ;)

This advice thing, it is possible, yes, because one can hear and feel what is good and nicely articulated, but maybe is not able to reproduce it because of different conditions (lack of time to practice, not enough developed technique for a certain piece or simply an injury to the playing apparatus).

Robert Schumman, although he was a good pianist once, at some point he couldn't anymore play technically demanding pieces as he provoked ( or just made worse) the injury of his hands experimenting with a device, a tool, to improve the strength in his fingers. Well, it didn't work out... so he tried other remedies and treatments too, all finished unsuccessfully. A great musician, composing a huge opus of piano music and not being able to play them. His wife, Clara was the one who played, but when the marriage showed its end, poor Robert finished mentally destroyed too. I think, the composer I feel most sorry about is exactly Robert Schumann.

Thanks for the encouragement, and it is that indeed, every time we helped out each other in this same way, it was good. Actually, it is not easy to play just to one person, to someone who is there to listen actively and say some honest opinion. So, even if I don't say anything, no a word, it is a perfect exercise of the nerves ;D

Sort:  

So you call my comment: Post-like length? Hahahahahaha
Visuals can help the experience of the music listened to, but my preference is to listen with full focus and eyes closed, ie without visuals. That's for me the only method to really understand if I like what I hear, or not. Also, it is for me the best way to get at least close to a meditation experience...though I never practised proper mediation, so what do I know :)
What a sad story about Robert Schumann.
NJOY the advise sessions :)

There are posts with less then this amount of words 😅 (this comment, not the previous one).

So, a kind of focused listening and giving sound the absolute priority... it helps to determine if those are quality sounds or just sounds :D

There are posts with less then this amount of words 😅 (this comment, not the previous one).

😂😂😂

There are comments using only emojis 🧐 and even this way, it is still longer than a post I saw yesterday :

0 min of read
0 words

plus + some photos..

🤣

😂 😂 😂