There is a swan, behind the reed

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Thursday, 23:47

Damn. That passage is still giving me a lot of trouble. Ok, just have patience, it is just the first day of practising. It will improve if I study a few days more.

Friday, 10:34

I am feeling weak and really not very well, but a few minutes of the piano will make good for me. But I have to cut my nails, they bother me, and there is a clicking sound while I strike the piano keys. It's not nice.

Saturday, no exact time noted down

Hey, the passage is going better. But why now appeared other places that are difficult? Also, I need to shape better the phrases. The main melody can't stay static. But I can't rush either, I shouldn't even breathe. The wild swans can't perceive the presence of people, it's better to stay behind the reed.

Sunday

I still didn't find the right time to record this piece. When then? During the week it is almost impossible with the schedule that is waiting for me.

Monday

It will be today. No more delays. I still have errors.

Still Monday

Yeah, I recorded it, after some 6 attempts. Nice bloopers. Nice errors in the recorded video too. Sigh.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Maybe I should officially start my post, I mean the real writing thing? Or just leave the sketches of the process of practising and recording? It can be funny actually, to leave just the photo of the reed that was taken somewhere by the river we have in the nearby town. There are ducks and one swan, it even has a name. Everyone called it Paco, but in the end, it turned out it was a female swan, so now she is Paca 😂

IMG_20230206_110619.jpg

But, music!! So, I already practised in the past this composition but in a different version. I played and recorded it with my niece, more than a year ago, we played it in four hands version. About the composer, Camille Saint-Saëns, and how this composition, The Swan was born and published back in time you can read there, in that old post.

Now I play a piano solo version that gave me some headaches with the left-hand part, and those who are perfectionists will maybe hear a few mistakes additional and improvised notes. The passage that was difficult came out well in the final recording but I made some stupid unplanned slips in other places. So, this is a performance of The Swan, by Camille Saint-Saëns that is again not perfect. But that's me!

The bloopers... they will come one day too 😂

mipiano_-_MP.png


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Errors? Where?

Soooooo...what I did: Listen to the song, but not watch the video. Makes the music experience more intense anyways. Improve? I think a MUST for artists 😉 Nothing wrong with that. Yea, I know, the classical musicians go by: Playing exactly like the composer meant. My take: The composer created just some guidelines. No rules at all 😂

Bloopers! Wen Wen Wen 😂

Bloopers! Wen Wen Wen 😂

soon

Lol

😂

Ah, yes. The best genre of music covers, the self-conscious practice sketches. I think this could be a success. I might try it but without the profanity. Not like you said anything out of the ordinary here.

The piece is beautiful. And I remember that recording. Two beautiful and very talented women playing such a piece on four hands.

Hey, if we cannot have a laugh at ourselves, then who?

I think those mistakes and additional notes make part of your pen arrangement of the song. The identify of the cover being played by @mipiano.

Pd. Cool photo. And the Paca thing killed me! 😂😂

Hahah, the Paca thing 😂

Funny people, why do even have to give names to wild animals?

That's a great angle on how we have to approach imperfection. It IS my arrangement now, nobody else played it with these notes 🤣 I think I will take this explanation, and have more peace of mind 😇

Thank you for remembering my niece(s), and there were also those 6 hands compositions we recorded. La Campanella for example. A very short version of it hahaha, but that composition is written for aliens, not for humans like me.

It might have been written for some deities. Hindu deities have multiple arms. Maybe that's the reason behind those compositions.

And yeah, I remember your nieces play really well.

It is the approach needed to stop hitting our head with the imperfections of our performances. Stuff like that happens a lot. I bet recordings is just as hard regardless of expertise.

Ha, ha, ha, ha. About names, I don't know. Maybe is a thing of attachment. But it's also being open to suffer. Swans don't live that's long.

I don't have multiple arms 😂

On a serious note, it was written for the cello and chamber orchestra. I do feel how it gets "less melodic" played on the piano, but that is why it is difficult, not that much technically, but to try to overcome that lack of singing voice that the cello or violin can give. We, pianists, have to hear that in our minds and try to go with that lead.

How it is with cuatro? How do you "see" the bigger picture? How do you have to listen to your inner voice to try to get that sound on your instrument? I don't know if this has any sense hahahh, I guess it is a completely different technique.

I bet recordings is just as hard regardless of expertise.

You also know that. Well, maybe you record everything from the first attempt? Huh, I ditched 6 recordings hahaha, until I got this, again imperfect one 😂
I could stay with the first one, I made mistakes in other bars, not bigger and not smaller ones. Just slips from the keys. But before I set the recording stuff, I played better :)
Oh, I feel now like my students when they try to make me believe that they play better at home 🤣 So, maybe it is true :D

Well, recording is always hard. 6 tries? That sounds way better than me making a hundred sometimes. But there's a lot of anxiety in front of the camera. I believe in your students.

I see. So it's basically taking the whole idea to a different media. That's tough. The singing voice in your head tends to be both guide and distraction.

About the cuatro, the thing is that it was used for so long as accompaniment. Playing soloist is thinking like a pianist in some sense. You have different things to do in both hands. They are equally important. Then, there's the master of tuning and how no everything can be played in the original key. So, that's also a challenge. Not a fancy instrument with all the notes available in front of you. 😝

So, my covers have my little imperfections as part of my arrangements. 😅

Yeah, 6 is better than hundreds of attempts, but anyway, why it can't be good from the first one? Anyway, some useless question of mine haha

Yes, I need to create in my mind the phrases, and how to shape them as you know, when you press the piano key, you can't affect the sound later. It is what you imagine where that sounds go and connect it with the next note. Don't know if I can explain this

Speaking about recordings a hive open mic entry... Do you remember a few weeks ago, we have chosen you to be the spotlight artist and you can now choose the theme for week 152? Hm, we would need to know the theme, if you have it, as the image that would accompany the week should be drawn... So, if you have something in your mind, let me know here or in the post that I published some two weeks ago with the hive open mic official account. If you write it there, tag one of us. We are a bit overwhelmed as sad things happened... Thank you

P.S. If you want to check what themes were used already until now in 150 weeks, you can check on the hive open mic discord server, in the "records" channel :))

Those are still few attempts to get it right. But I get it. That's part of the OCD musicians have. 😂

I think you explained it really well. That's how things are done on most instruments except the way to produce sound varies.

About the theme, I haven't taught of anything. and truth be told, I had forgotten it entirely. But let's see, I always make my traditional music covers. I haven't seen a lot of those. Outside Venezuelan music, few artists do something about it. So let's make it

Week 152: Traditional Music

@hiveopenmic

I guess that's what you meant about tagging.

I hope everything is going better after the bad things happened. 😅

I don't know if the perfectionists will notice any isolated notes; the truth is that I loved waking up and listening to you at the piano with that melody. Excellent work, and above all because it comes from the heart ❤️

Thank you @anixaeva, you are very kind. I am glad this piece brought some nice music to your home this morning 🎶
And yes, those little slips can be heard, but I do accept (some of) my flaws :))

I was listening while reading and found it calming!
Haha, Paca! That made me smile!

Thank you for listening and reading, I am glad you find it calming. I tried not to scare away the swan while playing :)

The difficulties that comes with practising music sometimes is frustrating, I wonder how we still get to enjoy the music after all..
I couldn't highlight any error because am neither a perfectionist nor a good pianist entirely but I can point at one if see them :)
Your flexibility was cool @mipiano
running from the lower to the higher octave wasn't bad, you had a tough time practising, maybe that's why the results are refreshing and mind-blowing.. our mother of the piano 😌😌

Hey there @ovey10, thanks so much for your detailed description. You also play the keyboard, well, apart from other instruments, so you know and can hear things here :D

Yeah, I have my practice time... sometimes students ask me how many years I play the piano... well, not to reveal to them my age I give the answer: for my whole life. And it is true actually, just not the first five years of my life hahaha.

Flexibility, yeah, I know, and thanks for noticing it 😇

It can be a bit frustrating when we study, but I was not frustrated here. I enjoyed this composition and recording it. These are just my normal thoughts haha, and I will always try to polish the composition better, and there will be always slips and imperfections. It is just a fact I have to accept. I consider practising as a process that we should enjoy almost the same as the final result. Or even more. Being on the stage is already just the tip of the iceberg, all the rest is learning that we should enjoy :))

well, not to reveal to them my age I give the answer: for my whole life. And it is true actually, just not the first five years of my life hahaha.

Hahaha.. I remember I once read one of your articles here on Hive and you talked about how you started playing the keyboard just that it's been a while I read it and can not recall the details. I am not sure you wrote how many years you have been playing the piano and I don't want to be silly trying to figure out my teachers years hahaha

I consider practising as a process that we should enjoy almost the same as the final result

yes our mother of the piano @mipiano, I really agree to that just that there are some moments during our rehearsals that gives us so much difficulty and we dare to even stop practicing. Is there possibility of not becoming angry at those moments? I asked because the trumpet sucks me most times and even wants to make me feel frautrated...

Beautiful > perfect and for me your performance was beautiful and I really enjoyed... Only feel a little sad for 🦩 that is alone 🥺 pour paca! 😂😂😂

Beautiful composition, I can't agree more and I also enjoyed playing and recording it. There is beauty in sadness, and somehow other classical compositions touching on the topic of swans are also bringing sad notes. 🎶

I was lost in the Euphoria created by the melodious sound which you produced in this lovely video. I couldn't even detect the mistakes additional and improvised notes or the stupid unplanned slips. Ooo, maybe it's because i'm not a professional... I agree 🥲

It was wonderful, and definitely your practice really paid.... big time!!!

Oh, no, I make people get lost? 😱

haha, just a joke. Hey, you are professional, with your instrument. Imagine me with an electric guitar. I don't know how to produce a single sound on it, seriously. But you also know to play the piano :))

And I know you don't want to point out the mistakes as you are polite :) I bet you heard them :P But, I am glad as the big picture turned out nice (I hope it did?) I mean, this is written for the cello and the piano is so "short" in bringing the melody compared to the violin or cello...

Thank you for listening @ksam and for your comment. I appreciate it a lot. Hope you are doing well :))

En el lago inerte
una lágrima de cisne crea olas de ilusión...
El cisne sigue atrapado
por la melodía y el movimiento de las manos

(Estoy disfrutando los comentarios de esta publicación)

Cualquier cosa que diga, voy a estropear este comentario exquisito... Gracias mi @nanixxx por traer más valor artístico a esta publicación 💙

Es hermosa tu interpretación 📸

Not sure if I picked up on 1 of the

additional and improvised notes

Or if it was an

unplanned slips

But it was nice to get today started with, thanks

Let's see it from this angle: music for this morning, by Camille Saint-Saëns, in the special version of mipiano with an added personal touch.
Slips can be included or not, but not of vital importance 😂

Saint-Saëns brought back memories of my first year high school music teacher he is from Carnival des Animal or something like that right?

Slips are good it gives personality to the arrangement

Yes, this is a piece from The Carnival of the Animals.
A curious thing, the composer didn't want this whole thing to be performed for a large audience. He wanted it to stay just for his friends, in intimate circles. Well, happened differently after his death.

Thank you, another lesson learned, and I was already proud that I knew just a little of the background, but gotta let the teacher do what she does best !LOL

but gotta let the teacher do what she does best !LOL

😂😂😂

I call it professional deformation... though don't know if that is called that way in English 😅

Anyway, you got the idea 😂

Where did the ice cream man get his driver's licence?
Sundae school.

Credit: reddit
@whywhy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mipiano

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/1)

wow que talento tienes linda melodia has interpretado ademas suena muy relajante amiga @mipiano

Gracias, es una obra musical muy hermosa, y me alegro que te haya gustado 😇

Al escuchar la melodía me hiciste recordar el vuelo de un ave volando y girando al acorde de las teclas blanca y negra que desprenden esa mágica melodía y recuerdo mi ami hijo que tocaba el piano y yo lo acompañaba con la flauta lagrimas al ver esos deditos desprender esa bella y hermosa melodía la razón de vivir amando al teclado con todo el corazón.@ramaco54 Listening to the melody you made me remember the flight of a bird flying and turning to the chord of the black and white keys that give off that magical melody and I remember my dear son who played the piano and I accompanied him with the flute tears when I saw those little fingers drop that beautiful and beautiful melody the reason to live loving the keyboard with all my heart.@ramaco54

Me alegro leer que tenemos un otro amante de la música aquí y que tu hijo también tocaba el piano. Muchas gracias por la observación hermosa, tan artística como tus pinturas. Un gran saludo!

Lovely, gorgeous, artistic, amazing.

Gracias :)) Perdona por responderte tan tarde... 😅

¡¿Qué?! Jajaja, no te preocupes. Me gusta leerte. No pasa nada, somos humanos y siempre hay cosas de por medio. Te mando un saludo caluroso. Nos leemos, un abrazo, @mipiano

Y creo que hay algún otro comentario tuyo en el mar de los mismos jajajaj, sin responder, solemente tengo que nadar un poco más y llegaré un día a todo :D
Un abrazo ;)

Jajaka, en serio, no te preocupes, @mipiano, no pasa nada. Créeme, que entiendo. Sigue haciendo una de las mejores cosas que sabes hacer, escribir y armar estos posts geniales. Me verás, de eso no tengas la menor duda.