You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three Tune Thursday: "Nostalgic Mellow Memories"

Always great to have you aboard the #ttt train no matter what day of the week it is brother.

There you go brother. Listening this is something very pleasant for which one must always be extremely grateful. And therefore, I thank you very much for having counted with your license and concession to be able to share my tunes without strictly following the rules.

I really dislike how almost all modern songs are around 3 minutes and sometimes shorter - are our attention spans really that short

Well, regarding this, I suspect that the explanation could be simpler than we think. According to my long experience in music and what I have been observing over the years. I have the impression that today no one dares to create long songs for the simple fact that they are no longer made to be danced to but only to be listened to if you want to make a quick buck with them.

Either to make it easier to broadcast them through traditional commercial radio or thru modern streaming audio platforms online like Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, YouTube Music, Pandora and Deezer for which the authors and composers need that there are as many reproductions as possible to make a buck.

And in consequence, I'm afraid that after the demise of the gigantic and legendary live concerts like Woodstock and the like in the early 70s when music was being made a little bit more from the heart to spread the art and not so much about money. Nowadays no one cares if these songs are going to be danced or not. What interests them is that their songs obtain a maximum of reproductions and clicks in the shortest possible time to generate that buck. And I'm afraid that both, today's creative musicians and the representatives of the new and current business model of musical distribution and dissemination, both are coinciding with this baleful mentality.

Nice way to finish out your set with a nice upbeat classic, I have not heard that one in a while, great tune.

Hahaha yes, at the end I assumed that I should also include at least one of those long "romantic" songs of the time that could be somehow better known by you the youngsters. };)

Cheers!! :)