Midnight Gems -Your Free Mix-Tape Show - E 53 "King of Chills"

image.png

For those of you who are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

Last week I did this darkish not so fairy tale trip. It was awesome I can hardly remember as show that got so many cool comments. So just a reminder, please drop your suggestions and favorite tune from the session in the comment. I love to know which songs jump out on you because for me it´s hard.... it´s like Kill Your Darlings (btw a cool band as well).

music small.svg

Close your eyes, hit the play button, and tell me who is singing this😁
Damn, I get such a Summer Wine vibe....but even more ethereal. Lana Del Rey 2.0 please also check out her other songs she is da bomb of that week.

Victoria Bigelow - Under The Tree

This was the song that got me started.... well got the riddle rolling last Tuesday. But It was too obvious, so I took it out and moved it to Friday to give it the attention it deserves. Isn´t this just freaking lovely...the song ofc.

First Aid Kit - The Lion's Roar

I can´t remember when a song got so much positive feedback as these guys got from y´all last week. I struggled a bit to find a song that is as good as last week's Citizen, in my humble opinion this one came closest.

Wye Oak - Watching the Waiting

Now I clicked on the tune because the thumbnail looked like my ex-wife when we met...and just as when we met I was blown away. Then I checked the date, then I went like this must be newer or older.... as I never heard of Romeo Void but I do like Girls in Trouble and Sax.... this song barely made it into the top 40 in ´84 but I think it´s an 80s gem.

Romeo Void - A Girl in Trouble

Let´s stick with that saxy 80s feel in a bit more modern song, love the retro thing, and love the synths.

W O L F C L U B · Petia Pavlova - Sunset Drive

Sticking with the synths a bit longer but now mixing it with that Lana del Rey feeling tieing it back to the first song, love weaving playlists like these. BTW if these girls sound like candy, check out this Awesome Live Performance

Giolì & Assia - I MISSED YOU TOO

Time to move to the dark side of synths, with some coldwave and an Ice queen, how little has changed since the Sisters of Mercy featured Ofra Haza.

Silentways - Aeon

Many very new songs this week, but this is touching so many genres I enjoy it has a gothy synth style, but so much closer to poppy and that bombastic 80s ending.

Jonathan - Darling

Let´s keep building on upwards to a big bang, these guys had a new single but I had to go with this one, it takes me back to the Britt pop era...while these boys were not even in nappies back then. Happy Monday, EMF, and the weird sience from Oingo Boingo, this is unbelievable.

DEADLETTER - Fall of the Big Screen

Big BOOM Save The Best For Last, seven minutes of epic bombastic sluggishness, welcome to the asylum enjoy your stay, and worship your king, these guys have only two tunes on here so far but I think I am on to something here.

Fat Dog - King of the Slugs


Youtube Playlist.

All these gems were added to this week´s YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist:

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible:

music small.svg

Riddle Me This

Guess What, my riddle has been solved. You are too late to make a easy dollar, better luck next time!

What the fluff is Midnight Gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

Tag List

@beeber @mypathtofire

music small.svg

Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic

Sort:  

First Aid Kit is no joke. I also like the war on drugs.

War on drugs is awesome they always make me think of Dire Straits for some reason, this is my fav ...if you would make me choose

I like the first, second and last tune! They are not kidding with their beat. So ...phew! I just like them, hehe

I so agree with you on the first and last I think they were my favorite finds this week, that last song is just so all over the place and still so awesome