Midnight Gems -Your Free Mix-Tape Show - E 54 "To Go Way Beyond Comfort"

image.png

For those of you who are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

Last week was a really nice session, all up my alley. That means I gotta get out of my comfort zone this week, I will start slowly but it will get too close for comfort.

music small.svg
Sometimes traveling through the vast and horrific world of musical YouTubes I feel like giving up, but those moments are almost always followed by a what the freckle moment.

I have absolutely no clue who Gabriel Hudelson is, But a 10-year-old song and only 9 subscribers make this guy obscure...while this song sounds like a Disney song for a goth-themed movie.

Is this meatloaf little brother or what? Now I quickly listened to the album but it seems like a soundtrackish thingy. But there is another album there the Whomb of Dawn and if you enjoy epic, classical-inspired musical songs this is a little jewel right there.

Gabriel Hudelson - Chains

Way less obscure is this next one but it continues that bombastic epic trend nicely.

Sigma - Find Me (Acoustic Lyric Video) ft. Birdy

I am getting so fed up with all the Billy Elliot clones and fake freak girls ripping off the music scene, even though some of the songs sound crazy cool with a sick twist I often feel they are meant to dish this up on behalf of the record sales....or streams nowadays.

Hence when you are called Bambi and you sound like this, you are going against traffic up my alley. But, she sold it. It might be the text below the vid, it might be that I feel she´s real or just a very good fake. Whatever it is, she triggered that derealization and that is quite an achievement.

Bambi Baker - Derealization

Maybe you remember how a couple of weeks ago I found a very cool Spanish not so Pop song and started whining that I did not find enough alternative Spanish songs.

Guess the universe has been listening because without even looking for them they started to appear during my trips. Or maybe, just maybe the YT algorithm is reading my articles....you never know with AI nowadays.

Houses of Heaven - "Deserve (feat. MS.BOAN Mariana Saldaña)

Trust me, don´t trust anyone anymore deepfake AI-generated semi-human robots might have replaced everyone you thought you knew.

Why am I saying that, because I did not find one, but two of these songs in under three weeks.... without searching ofc.

LAS ERAS - VIRGINIA

And as this is my shitshow, I can play god and I will. Damn, these guys and as that intro sounds like a Spanish Guitar I think it´s just enough of a bridge to make it count. But in all honesty, I just had to play this godly track.

Even though I am normally pretty big on lyrics I can skip them when listening to this polyphiatric track.

Polyphia - Playing God

If Lyricless is already beyond my comfort zone, Little Simz is like out of my galaxy cool. It´s just that when I am tripping through YT space I do not land on many planets with this African vibe, while this is definitely catering to my taste.

Little Simz - Point And Kill feat. Obongjayar

This next one pops all my tastebuds, Ren is my hero and The Seven Sins are one of my own inspirations. Hence I probably will not get anything better than this tonight, but that does not mean the show is over.

Ren - Seven Sins


Definitely not over, as I wanted to end it with this twisted sweet, laidback tune, perfect for tonight's after party and you Dear Reader are the lucky one. Week after week you get the chance to trip with me through a world of new and inspiring songs. All are carefully picked so you get the raspberries without the thorns.

Villagers - You Lucky One


Youtube Playlist.

All these gems were added to this week´s YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist:

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible:

music small.svg

Riddle Me This

Guess What, my riddle was not solved.

So I will have to make it a little easier, I will give you a new hint: Enjoy M&M

What the fluff is Midnight Gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

Tag List

@beeber @mypathtofire

music small.svg

Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic

Sort:  

I have never been opportune to listen to your midnight gems. Here is my first time and I am not disappointed. I listened to it in the afternoon though but I’d try to listen in the midnight so it will go with the midnight theme

Well that´s awesome and I normally post closer to midnight, as I just like to listen music at night with a headset when nobody is around.... does not have to be exactly midnight ofc. But I will be away later hence the early post.

Added, I will check these all out later! I've got a busy morning ahead of me!