STV - Songs & Memories - A life captured in 🖐(5) Songs

in Q Inspired-by-Music6 months ago

Every Day A Different Story (29).jpg

I was truly touched by a post this week.
Maybe I had no option I mean come on if you call yourself @soldierofdreams you have already won me over....well almost.


The post is about songs encountered in every time & place across a lifetime of memories.

I loved how some songs and like smells, link to happenings in our past. But it made me think about something else as well:

What would really be the first non-nursery rhyme song I recalled from when I was very little? Now I hardly recall anyone singing nursery rhymes back then...but that is probably me getting old.

My First Song

I closed my eyes and really thought back to those first years, what song do I hear?
And it popped up, all of a sudden I remembered that one song I really liked as a little kid. Growing up I never gave it a second thought but back then I thought the song was about roses and Jack.

I remember that I thought that it maybe was about Jack and the Beanstalk or something.

Not sure where I heard it, I think in the car and on the radio back home. I don´t think my parents had it on vinyl, and even if they did they played very few albums when I was around.

So it must have been the radio and somehow I keep seeing our old white Volkswagen Beatle when I think of this song.

Anywho it gut buried under a lifetime of memories but it never left my mind, I think it´s because of the kids singing it resonated with me when I was really young.

Keith West - Excerpt From A Teenage Opera (1967)

Years later when the www made finding lost songs a lot easier I found out that the song was not even called Roses Jack, or Grocer Jack. But from a Pop Opera.... which in hindsight means that I was ruined by eclectic epic music prior to listening to Meatloaf's Bat Out Of Hell.

I guess that tase has always been there and I just needed to find the artists that fitted my palette. Regarding my palette, I always wondered what was the connection in my eclectic taste... till yesterday @seckorama made a very sharp observation:

image.png

Now the Setlist was not as diverse as it could have been, but it was definitely not one genre, and that comment hit home. I think that the main thing I love in a song is it being melodic. No matter how loud or soft you go it needs that X Factor melody.

So let's see if that is also the case with the other four songs that make up my life. I really tried to find songs that were key to a big moment in my life or capturing a specific period. I think the first song you remember fits well, and let me know in the comments what the first real song you remember is as I would love to know, or write your life in 5 songs and tag me, please.

Song 2

It would have been great if song 2 had actually been Song 2 by Blur but it´s not. This song two was the last song of an Album called Hoezo by a band called Clouseau. It translates into "How Come" or maybe even whywhy. And Clouseau well we all should know that guy.

That album I played a million times, and out of those million times most times I was not alone....I would be sharing the bed with my first girlfriend. This song is talking about not wanting the other one to leave and it always played when we just had a wonderful time and she needed to go home.

Clouseau - Ik Wil Niet Dat Je Weggaat (ft. Geike Arnaert)

I still wonder if that album caused love-making (including the foreplay & cigarette afterward) for me to be something that should last for about 45 minutes.

I also wonder what she thinks when she hears a song from that album, if she thinks of anything at all.

Guess there are some questions that will never be answered, luckily for me I know the answer to the most important question.

What is the meaning of life, it is to increase happiness for yourself and others.

Song 3

Talking about happiness, one of the weirdest periods, possibly the happiest periods in my life were the years I studied. Even if they started out really sad. When I was reminiscing about those years and wondering what song would be the perfect label the song started playing in my head without me even hitting that play button.

Suede - The 2 Of Us live at the Royal Albert Hall, London, 2010

Now in all honesty it was this song but not this version as in 2010 I was in a whole other kind of trouble.

The 2 Of Us, was there when I was a first years student in a new city. All by my lonesome with very little cash, no friends, and as I found out later no clue why I was doing this study.

Eventually, I found my way around the city, met the best group of peeps, and landed the coolest jobs a student boy could wish for.

The little boy lost from that first year ended up being the core of the in-crowd. The upcoming DJ, charming bartender, cool party animal.

So much intimacy, so many faces, lying in my bed, I listened to this band, and still felt so lonely. While at the same time, I lived the life I always wanted, met the people I would die for. I just never felt like I was truly home.

Until the end of those years, until I gave up on getting back with her.... The one that got away. Until I met my Runaway bride, until I felt I finally met my match....but boy was I wrong.

Song 3.5

As she does not deserve a full song ..... I cheat ...as it´s my challenge... I am allowed to do so.

The Killers - Runaways

We kicked started our relationship from the first night we met. We were that boy and girl from the song, going 100 MPH thinking I knew where we were headed.

We could not wait till tomorrow, we got engaged as in her womb was the unborn child. Still I slipped when the nights got wild, but I removed the wild lifestyle in search of being a good dad and husband.

We used to laugh....but soon we only fight.....the picture of us on our wedding date. That wasn´t us no more, the stars and sparkles faded and only the verbal and less verbal abuse lasted.

I searched my soul for answers and why I was to blame for it all, and thanked god when in the end she was the one that ran away.

Those years of misery, I was so glad to leave them behind. Leave them behind and encounter someone that did not have two faces and a hidden agenda.

Song 4

Someone that said to me, I have no clue how to help you but I am here for you just give me your fear and I will give you mine. And so started the best and most honest part of my life... and of course I did it myself, but I wonder who I would have been without her.

Guus Meeuwis - Geef Mij Je Angst

Sorry for all the Dutch songs this week, but your mother tongue cuts just a bit deeper than any other lyric. And yes I prefer the original, but that was not the song we cried over....crying over the same song being 2500 kilometers apart.

Till I met her I had never been so close to who I was. I always was the wiseguy, the big mouth, the upcoming, the one that did not care too much.

With her, I dare to show more of myself than I ever did, I needed to leg go of that fear. But she gave me trust and hope in return.

Song 🖐(5)

When he was born, he changed everything. But his mom did change as well. Until today I do not know where she went, but she faded away and all that was left were dark eyes in a face I would grow old with.

He on the other hand did not change and aged like a good wine, and that meant I wanted to be the best possible dad....even after she left with him.

Of course, I messed up a bit and possibly could have done better, and I expect her stories to have discredited me. But still after all these years he calls me, maybe just twice a year but he calls me and calls me daddy.

I told him many of my secrets, I even wrote them down for him. So if he is ever curious, he can find me. He is overseas in a different continent I have not seen him for over a year... but sometimes he calls and calls me daddy.

Yusuf / Cat Stevens - Father & Son

But I am grateful, maybe it´s the midlife crisis but I came a long way. The little big-mouthed-screw-up grew up.

Settled down and found a girl who gave him peace and allowed him to be who he truly is. So now it's his turn, it´s your turn son....your journey has just started and I know that you are happy and had to go away.

Bottom Line

It is hard, it´s a hard-knock life, no matter where you grow up. And it´s hard to pick 🖐(5) Songs that will tell that life's story. But I dare you to try it, it´s cleansing, refreshing, and inspiring....so go ahead and tag me because I would love to read about it.

What is Spread The Vibes

G F it has been over a month that I did a Spread The Vibe post #STV??? I did so many other cool posts on a Lazy Sunday but I missed spreading the vibes.

If you want to know more about the Spread The Vibe Challenge not A challenge please clikerdeeclick me

Thank goodness you made it till the end Pees, Love and I am out of here!


[Source Pic](All pictures are by Meme, MyI & AI unless source is listed)

Sort:  

Great selection and those are some life moments similar that I would select. I do think of that music accompanies through all the different feelings and emotions.

Thanks and exactly, some songs really are labels for certain periods, sometimes because of the songs...sometimes because that was just what you listened to going through those changes.

But it was a nice experience trying to capture those 5 songs that cover those key moments or periods in life. But trying to remember what was the first song I remember was hard😅.

Yeah, hats off to that, I can't remember my first song for love nor money.

These songs are all base on true life invent their stories are really inspiring indeed

Thank you it was quite a challenge to put a whole life in a couple of songs, but it was even harder to remember the first song you loved as a kid.

Hmmmm yahh but at least you did remember. Oh! And thank you for thanking me ☺️

Thanks for the mention, and thanks for the Pink Panther theme, which is top-notch.
!DHEDGE

Well deserved mention, as your commnet gave me an insight I did not have before!

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @seckorama! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob

@seckorama has 13 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @whywhy.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @whywhy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023

Good morning Sir, Can we have a chat over discord if you don't mind.

Thank you.