Nostalgia

in DClub3 years ago

resizer.jpg

Fuente

In the last days of my vacation, back home, I was watching very old cowboy movies, just like me.

My daughter who observed what she was seeing asked me how it was possible that I like those films so old-fashioned, repeated scenes, recurring themes, filmed with many errors and poor performances to put it in a diplomatic way.

What she does not understand and I think that only when she is my age and she sees things that make her remember her childhood and youth will she understand the reason for my passion for that cinema.

Of course, comparing these films with those of today there are great differences, acting as well as special effects and scenery, now more money is invested and technological advances allow us to bring to the public scenes unthinkable by those years. However, they cannot reproduce what I felt at that time.

Actors of great renown of those times pass through the screen of those channels that recall and entertain old feature films, actors by the name of Gregory Peck, Stuart Whitman, Glenn Ford, John Wayne and so many others who managed to entertain me in those times.

Then came the war movies, of course, the cinema could not be alien to the great world war and I saw those same actors transform from tough cowboys to brave soldiers who gave their lives in distant lands.

resizer 1.jpg

Fuente

They were issues that marked an era and were also part of the lives of many people, if it was for better or for worse is not something I want to discuss here. I think that like any other human activity and more especially related to culture, they cannot be far from the reality of the moment, on the contrary, they should show it from the angle that they see fit, then each one will have to decide what they like and no, it's better or worse.

I tried to explain my feelings and experiences to my daughter and in part she understood me, in fact, she stayed to see one of those films with me and as a good friend, she tried to remind me of my times when for a few pesos I went to the neighborhood cinema on Sundays and I watched three movies in a row and then went to eat some slices of pizza in a strategically located shop a few meters from the exit of the cinema.

Good times.

separador.png


En los últimos días de mis vacaciones, ya de vuelta en casa, estuve mirando películas de vaqueros, muy antiguas, como yo.

Mi hija que observó lo que estaba viendo me preguntó cómo era posible que me gustaran esos films tan pasados de moda, escenas repetidas, temas recurrentes, filmados con muchos errores y actuaciones pobres por decirlo de una manera diplomática.

Lo que ella no entiende y creo que solo cuando tenga mi edad y vea cosas que le hagan recordar su infancia y juventud entenderá el porqué de mi pasión por ese cine.

Por supuesto que comparando esas películas con las de hoy en día hay grandes diferencias, actorales y también de efectos especiales y escenografía, ahora se invierte más dinero y los avances tecnológicos permiten traer al público escenas impensadas por aquellos años. Sin embargo no pueden reproducir lo que yo sentía en esos tiempos.

Actores de gran renombre de aquellos tiempos pasan por la pantalla de esos canales que rememoran y agasajan los largometrajes antiguos, actores del nombre de Gregory Peck, Stuart Whitman, Glenn Ford, John Wayne y tantos otros que lograron entretenerme en aquellos tiempos.

Luego vinieron las películas de guerra, por supuesto el cine no podía ser ajeno a la gran guerra mundial y vi transformar esos mismos actores de rudos vaqueros a valientes soldados que daban sus vidas en tierras lejanas.

Fueron temas que marcaron una época y también formaron parte de la vida de muchas personas, si fue para bien o para mal no es algo que aquí quiera discutir. Creo que como cualquier otra actividad humana y más especialmente referidas a la cultura, no pueden estar alejadas de la realidad del momento, por el contrario, la deben mostrar desde el ángulo que mejor les parezca, luego cada uno tendrá que decidir que le gusta y que no, que es mejor o peor.

Traté de explicarle a mi hija mis sentimientos y vivencias y en parte me entendió, de hecho se quedó a ver uno de esos filmes conmigo y como buena compinche trató de hacerme recordar mis tiempos en que por pocos pesos iba los domingos al cine del barrio y veía tres películas seguidas para luego ir a comer unas porciones de pizza en un comercio estratégicamente ubicado a pocos metros de la salida del cine.

Buenas épocas.


Las fotografías son de mi propiedad excepto las que menciono la fuente.
The photographs are my property except those mentioned by the source.

Héctor Gugliermo
@hosgug

Sort:  

I recently saw movie with John Wayne called McLintock. If you haven't seen it, you should watch it. There were a lot of principles taught in those kinds of movies, like respect, chivalry, and also romance.

Ohh. Yes, I saw it a few days ago by fox classic. Excellent!