MY EGUSI SOUP COOK IT CONTEST CHALLENGE

in DClub4 years ago (edited)

This is my entry in cook it contest challenge with @oredebby.

IMG_20200616_145327_2~4.jpg

This is called egusi(melon) soup and eba( also known as garri, that is processed cassava).
It is and African meal, from Nigeria.

Soup Recipe:
*Egusi(melon)
*Red Oil
*Crawfish
*Fresh Pepper
*Maggi Cube
*Salt
*Water
*Onion
*Pumpkin Leave
*Beef
*Offor(Thickener)

Eba Recipe:
*Garri(Processed Cassava )
*Water

SOUP PROCEDURES
I made the soup first.
I steamed the meat first with onion, a cube of maggi and little water.

Then i put my pot on fire, allowed the water in the pot to dry up, then added red oil. I allowed the oil to heat. Meanwhile i love soaking my egusi in cold water say for 3 minutes before frying. It helps it not to get burnt fast and give it a quite good look. I added little quantity of salt and onion to the heated oil, after which i added my soaked egusi to the heated oil as well. I added a little quantity of offor, it is a soup thickener, but it is not really compulsory to use.
I stirred very well to avoid it from getting burnt and for the egusi to absorb all the oil, until the oil can't really be seen anymore.
I covered the pot for 2 minutes and stirred again and again, until the egusi looks divisible and the oil started coming out from the egusi with a different look.
I added my beef with the water in it and stirred.
I allowed it to boil for 2minutes and i added my grinded crawfish and fresh pepper, stirred a bit and added my maggi, salt and little water.
I allowed it to cook for like 5 minutes and thereafter added my pumpkin sliced leave; Which is the last.
I allowed it to cook for 2 more minutes and my soup was ready.

EBA PROCEDURE
I boiled my water till it got real hot.
Then i poured the water in a bowl and added the water gradually and kept turning the eba until it became tick enough to be moulded.

Then guess what my egusi soup and eba are ready and served.

IMG_20200616_145327_2~2.jpg

Thank you @oredebby for hosting this cook it contest challenge.
I felt so delighted participating.

Sort:  

Imo's favorite dish. Thank you for sharing

You are welcome @beckie.
You can join me if you don't mind.
It is still plenty.

Haaa. I'm coming right now 🏃🏃🏃🏃

I love this soup, how i wish I can get a taste of it. Well prepared and must be sumptuous

@onyeoga, come to my house. It is still plenty.

Give me your address and date to come

The food looks so rich in nutrients
I'm in love with it@talktofaith (52)

Yeah
You can say that again. @exploits, thanks for the complement.

Yummy yummy

Hmmmmm yummy.