Rainbow rocks, rainbow gneiss? Rocks of Love? I was excited to find this rock it a ...

in DBuzz11 months ago

... lmost looked painted!! Apparently there is huge boulders of rocks like this in MN somewhere. Will look for them and post when I find it! Minnesota rocks



Posted via D.Buzz

Sort:  

It looks pretty. 💎 ...I guess it naturally looks like that? I wonder why?

Anyway what does MN stand for?

Posted via D.Buzz

Well I had thought I’d was rainbow gneiss but not I think it has to be banded iron formation rock. As this rock is not granite based at all.
The colors are from iron rich minerals layering. More here-
https://news.wisc.edu/banded-rocks-reveal-early-earth-conditions-changes/

https://www.geocaching.com/geocache/GC4DDNK_rainbow-gneiss

Congratulations @alienpoop! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!

It hardly seems this way however I believe this is a banded iron formation (BIF). Layers of Iron solidifying at different temps different times under different elements... creates this rainbow effect.

I think. Not a rock doctor.