It looks like the idea of implementing Tor hidden services on Hive is almost not supported

in DBuzz4 years ago

It looks like proposing that Hive dapps support Tor hidden services for enhanced privacy, anonymity, and security, is not a popular idea compared to the other improvement ideas.   😢😢

tor.png

Sort:  

A lot of good things are not captured by the main consensus, but that just means we'll be the first ones to do it.

Don't worry @anonymouser, we are working on solving the stability of our site and it should be completed in 1 - 2 weeks max.

I won't forget about #TOR 😃

I would just remind you that it won't be an easy task for the D.Buzz devs.

Ah okay.. I didn't know that @anonymouser and I guess that is why other people haven't made their services #TOR friendly.

As a non-Dev it sounded simple, but I guess not!

P.S. I'm wondering if we'd need to make a separate lite version that would then be compatible with TOR.

There is no need to create a "lite" version just to be compatible with Tor - it will just complicate D.Buzz. Instead, let the developers fix the bugs first, then perhaps the problems accessing D.Buzz using the Tor browser will go away on their own.

Maybe I should have used the Tor Project's onion logo for my article instead of a lightbulb lighting itself up. However, it is already too late, as upvotes can no longer be made on that post of mine to make it trending.

Maybe, it might have helped.. but I have also seen good ideas get ignored in the past.

That's an opportunity for our #DBuzzTEAM though 😃

My improvement idea did not necessarily get ignored; it just remained unpopular.

Good point!

Better luck next time!

That's saddening.   :(

 4 years ago  

A good proposal indeed.

Nevertheless, Tor hidden services being implemented on Hive would not prevent me from quitting Hive or coming back after I quit. True anonymity has much more requirements than using the Tor browser all the time.

 4 years ago  

Atleast Hive devs or Hivers are creative enough to think that this would be possible on Hive.

Which developers or users are you referring to as "creative" to acknowledge the possibility of implementing Tor hidden services?