Suggestions for a future HF: Increase to 32 the character limit for a new accoun ...

in DBuzz4 years ago

Suggestions for a future HF: Increase to 32 the character limit for a new account's name and make old account's name available to be reclaimed after 1 or 2 years without activity(including passive activity, like receiving funds or being mentioned somewhere).

Sort:  

In my opinion, I think that 32 characters for a username is way too long. I think that if there will be a change in character limit, 20 characters is more than enough.

I suggested 32 because is the next bit after 16. But I suggested such limit due to the natural growth of our network. But as alternative to prevent a lot of big names from coming is to instead of just increasing the limit, create it as "extension fee" where the first 16 characters are the default extension, with an extra fee having to be paid to register longer names depending on the amount of extra characters.

I think paying for every extra character more than 16 characters is a good compromise than not being allowed those extensions at all.

Impossible, the post this account have made are still on the blockchain

Then ignore the second part of my suggestion and use just the first one.

That might be an okay idea.. but 32 character usernames might not look good on front-ends like @dbuzz 🤔

You can just replace the excess characters with "...", showing it fully only when the user places the mouse cursor over it.

@thisisathirtytwocharcterusername will be shown as @thisisathirtytwo... if that is the case.

I agree with you.

@thisisathirtytwocharcterusername sure looks very long in appearance, and would be both difficult to read and difficult to type.

I don't think it is impossible. The front-ends should just specify that the posts made by the account's previous owner on the blockchain as obsolete. This is just my opinion.

Well it's the blockchain problem then

Posted using Dapplr