Are you maximalist ? . I'm trying to avoid upvoting posts which are ol ...

in DBuzz3 years ago (edited)

Are you maximalist ?
.
I'm trying to avoid upvoting posts which are older than 24h. As much as I can.



Posted via D.Buzz

Sort:  

A few days ago I got involved in a little thread where someone attacked Bitcoin maximalists because he said those people act like a cult.

I always like to read responses from both sides, as I respect people who declare themselves as a bitcoin maxi but I don't agree with all the things they say.

It's true that Bitcoin is the 'real deal' when we talk about decentralization in the crypto verse and the best form of hard money IMHO. However, I think they make a huge mistake disrespecting ETH as they do.

I guess the sweet spot is around there:

maxi 2.jpeg

This is where you're far from the absolute shitcoins and memecoins and do your own research properly. Not disrespecting anyone, just giving it the place where it belongs.

Want to invest and sleep 10 years? Invest in Bitcoin and study the minimum to store it properly.

Want to invest and get engaged in defi + you're willing to keep researching? ETH is a vastly better opportunity (at least in economic terms).

And so on...

What's your take? :)

In this my quick post I had in mind - why to upvote old posts, when you can maximise your returns by curating only the 0-24h old posts. Nothing about bitcoin.
Speaking of crypto coins, I would love to be called myself a "maximalist", even my holdings are probably 20% alt-coins, ~30% ETH and ~50% BTC (roughly). I hope I'm not too far from your mentioned "sweet spot"


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Oh sorry, I misunderstood. I instantly thought about Bitcoin maxis with the title.

And my 'sweet spot' wasn't meant as an inclusive/exclusory tool if it seemed so. I was referring to the mental state where you keep your mind open enough to value properly new things, but without forgetting from where you come.

For example, I hear a lot of people saying that BTC is useless because my coin has x1000 tx/s or that ETH is broken because of fees.

I also hear (from toxic bitcoin maxis all the time) that no other crypto than BTC has sense. If you even try to reason in a friendly way that there's much more than BTC they almost feel offended.

Hope you get my point. Have a good Wednesday Alfa :)

wow...and nice response for a post with no content.

and also i have a question to ask, i think this is an opportunity to ask the question.

what are the criteria that makes people vote on comment and on post also.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I can't speak for others.
I upvote comment when I see smth is said exactly as I would say it myself.
Or I get some "sixth feeling" sense that author is worth of much support, more than just his few posts in 7 days. It varies. And varies much

hmmm nice to hear that from you, if you dont mind sir, i would love to know your interest, what are the things you have personal interest in.

I see a lot of value in upvoting content from the past 24 hours. But what if you miss out on upvoting some really worthy content? Will you still think about the curation rewards?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yeah, if I see smth "really worthy", I sure will upvote. But this does not happen very very often. Probably because I usually do not scroll backwards more than 1-2 days. It is just impossible to see and read all posts 100%. Not even 50%. The factor of randomness and lottery exists, and it will be only growing with time

Will you upvote posts that are more than 24 hours old? If so, will you upvote posts that are over 24 hours old on the trending page or will you upvote posts that are over 24 hours old on the new/hot page?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I almost never look in to trending page. Never. Maybe 1-2 times a week, for a minute or two.
99.9% of my time I look on the "new" page, and rarely I scroll back more than 1-2 days. Because I do curation every day.

wow that this very great, that will be much stressful, but your dedication has overshadowed the stress.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

yes, this will give more activity, if you are active yesterday, must still be active today and be ready for tomorrow.

that is a wise decision sir, always grateful.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I am a maximalist and this hinders me.

Real curation vs. mindless upvoting , it makes sense.

Posted via D.Buzz

@onealfa What if you see a post which is more than 24hrs but is very intriguing and the author writes what you love to read, would you still upvote?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

YES, I upvote in such situations

Oh okay then.
I appreciate the reply


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I never considered restricting my curation to within 24 hours. Is there a greater financial benefit to it? It would certainly make things easier.

Do you restrict your curation to certain tags or is the curation across the board over 24 hours?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This will help maximize the Curation reward.

Brilliant boss! This will be one the control on this community, always with you boss


Posted via proofofbrain.io

i'm trying to follow your advice and curate not just friends but new authros all the time...don't think i'm succeeding though

Posted via D.Buzz

hello , i wanted to ask something please tell me is there a difference when we vote less than 24 hours post and vice versa.

do curation rewards differ based on this factor that we have voted before 24 hour time ? if yes then can you also tell why ?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

YEs, the curation rewards for the voter (and maybe for the author too, not sure though) is higher, if the vote was placed in the first 24 hours. This is new reward distribution pattern, came with the last Hive Hard fork

No. I'm not a maximalist. I look around and vote for stuff I like. I have to admit I also support 'friends'. But I try to mix it up and support a variety of people.

There is a thin line between supporting 'friends' and corruption.
Because of that, I'm trying to avoid supporting 'friends' for that reason alone. A common field of interests, same "point of view" , same "values of life" - is my top priorities.
In fact - I do not yet have many friends on Hive. They have still not discovered Hive

You misconstrue my meaning, I think. My 'friends' are Hive friends. I have never physically seen these people. I've never physically 'talked' to these people. I 'met' them on the platform. I have come to 'know' them through their blogs. I don't have email addresses or home addresses for these people. They live in Venezuela, Nigeria, Croatia, Brazil, Portugal....all over the world. These are my 'friends'. It is a large, diverse group. I actually care about the people in the group. How is that corrupt? I at the same time look for people who are trying to get a foothold on the platform. I vote for them. I reblog them and tip them, so they don't get discouraged. I comment a great deal on blogs, because I know comments make a difference, make an author feel noticed.

Perhaps I am corrupted by warm affection I feel toward my Hive friends. I worry when they disappear and don't blog anymore. I worry that they might not be well, or might have suffered a turn in fortunes. That bias toward my 'friends' is perhaps corrupting, but isn't that what social networking is all about? Forming attachments, associations, connections? For me Hive is a social networking platform. That's the glue that holds me. Also, I am aware that the cryptocurrency some people earn here is very important in their lives.I think Hive is a miracle for them. It is one door that opens when all others seem closed. All they have to do is blog.

I am old, long retired. This is my hobby. It is not facile, like Facebook. Not spammy, like Twitter. Hive is unique. That's why I'm here.

This is correct, but sometimes, when I forget to visit my friends, I tell them that I remember them, giving votes at a later date, but the goal is not to get super profit, it's like a Christmas card).

There is another option when you have to wait. There are communities that are very fond of hanging flags if, suddenly, they see that the author of the post did not fall within the scope of their requirements. Sometimes, the line of what is permissible is very thin. As a rule, this happens within 2-3 days and it's a pity when your voices burn out, although I liked the post very much, but, from me, nothing depends on this situation. This is the main reason why you have to be careful not to vote on the first day, although I do not mind.

I am tormented by my conscience when I forget about my friends, especially since they are all talented photographers, and no less talented post writers, or, just warriors of the Hive).

!PIZZA
!BEER

Connect

Trade


@onealfa! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eii.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (7/10)


Hey @onealfa, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@onealfa What are your criteria in choosing the people you vote for and what do you consider in choosing a family.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

@onealfa..... What if while trying to go through the posts, you didn't notice some topics that might have interested you, then it was after 24hours that you noticed it would you upvote it not?......


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes, sure, I would upvote them

Thank you for the support you've shown with the @bitkenstan comic. I hope you enjoy it. :)
!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@onealfa, you've been given LUV from @bitkenstan.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)